We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Ranked #23 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel had a great central location perfect for shopping in the Westfield center and Union sq. clean modern rooms with quite funky art, small but that's to be expected for central city location. Nice shampoos and soaps . Great bar but v grumpy barmaid. Great play room / pool area. Liked the other guests. Good brunch place opposite. Concierges should be mired knowledgeable about local restaurants, most they recommended were 15-20 mins taxi ride away and yet they knew nothing locally / within waking distance. Would stay again. Ask for room with natural light otherwise some rooms literally just look at a brick walk!
Fun hip place to stay w great location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    234
    82
    20
    13
See reviews for
144
251
21
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Sadly think some of the great reviews set expectations a little high for our experience at this hotel.
We stayed for a long weekend in SF during June. I upgraded to a Premier Studio as it was our first trip as newly weds.
The room was a little disappointing - there was no view, and in fact faced other bedroom windows across a narrow ally, so we had to keep our curtains closed the entire time.
The room functions fine - it's kind of funky - but just not remarkable. The only thing I thought as a design feature very cool, was the book shelf wallpaper in the bathroom, and the hole in the shower wall so you could turn on/heat up the shower without getting the floor wet. Other than that we came, we slept, it was comfortable, but it was also $350 night normal rate.
The tip to offer travelers staying here, is that on making your booking, the hotel does offer a discount if you pay up front. This was great. More hotels should do this - it was about $50/night saving on a $350 rate - so really a good deal if you know you are committed to your stay.
The rest of the hotel was fine - the lobby pretty busy w/ people on laptops hanging out.
Decor was quite cool. But I didn't feel any personal connection with any member of staff and certainly wasn't greeted by name as described by other reviews.
Did the job. Should have been told in advance about the no-view and certainly didn't qualify as a 'premium' room in my book. I preferred my premium room at the Westin on Market 2 days earlier by far. But, the Zetta is a 'cooler' hotel than the Westin... still on the hunt for a great SF hotel...
HOT TIP: Dottie's for breakfast (2 blocks away) and go early (before 9am) else you will be waiting an hour! Brenda's was also amazing.

Room Tip: Ask to make sure you are not facing the alley - was rather claustrophobic not being able to open cur...
See more room tips
Green Features: Strongly support this. Outside of bedsheets, not aware of others.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Amysack,
It is disappointing that we did not leave you with much fonder memories of our hotel as we are passionate about our guests. Thank you for the great tip to other traveler about booking in advance, our website, hotelzetta.com always offer advance purchase offer that include complimentary wifi access along with a best rate guarantee.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first stay downtown in San Francisco in years, and this was a great recommendation from our travel consultant. Really well equipped rooms, and very spacious given the location. Being on vacation the location right by the end of the cable car line was wonderful - early morning trips before the crowds (make sure you buy a day or multi-day ticket) were a great bonus - not to mention being able to fall into both Nordstrom and Nordstrom Rack right next door.

Buzzy bar and reception area with fun games area (but don't try to have a quiet pre-dinner drink, it always seems to be heaving with people enjoying themselves!). Excellent, considerate and attentive staff. Good restaurant (see separate review).

I am still trying to work out how I would exceed the 10 devices allowed by the free wifi package.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Malcom R,
I am glad that you enjoyed our location and hope that you did some good shopping, we have al a lot of opportunities at our door step! Yes we do offer complimentary wifi for up to 10 devised per room, and believe me when we have a family of four sharing one of our spacious 2 queen rooms, it is not unheard that they use up to 10 devices.
Thank you and the entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Definitely designed for the younger modern customer but anyone would be comfortable here. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Parking is spendy though. Location was handy to Market street.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itraveltheworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear itraveltheworld2013,
We do have indeed a unique, fun, young and playful design but we do welcome everybody. Our Playroom has been a hit with guests of all ages and we are fortunate to offer this hidden gem to our hotel guests. Thank you for the comment on the cleanliness of the rooms and friendliness of the team.
Please keep travelling and come back soon.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Oh Hotel Zetta how I love theeeeeeeeee - let me count they ways!
-amazing/attentive staff
-heavenly bed
-UBER chic decor (and clever too, mug shots from Alcatraz?)
-awesome room service
-plugs on the side of the nightstands for the electronics that RULE our lives now
-this one is NEW since my last stay - a BLUETOOTH speaker that you can play your music on wirelessly, radical.
Honestly SF has been needing a hotel like this for yearssssssssssssssss - don't bother staying anywhere else!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear cb,
Please keep coming back, we are always looking at coming up with something new. i am glad you enjoyed one of our latest addition, our own branded Jambox in every single rooms. I hope you had a chance to see and walk down our stairwell with graffiti art, this is a truly a unique and fun experience that you will find only at Hotel Zetta.
Come back soon for more surprises.
Safe travels,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great SF location, helpful staff, quiet large room with comfortable bed, great shower and large pump-style bottles of shampoo, etc. We needed more towels, but otherwise - great hotel, good value for a weekend visit

Room Tip: 7th floor room was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear VJ S
We are indeed a great weekend hotel, as we are in the middle of all the action and right next the best and biggest shopping center in the city. We are also ideal for week day stay if you are in the city for convention or business.
Thank you for the mention of our pump size eco-friendly bathroom amenities they are part of our second nature effort and the hotel has been awarded the 4 green key certification as well as the Trip Advisor GreenLeaders platinum level.
Please come back soon!
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeCanuck
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our 2 night stay was excellent. Great rooms, furniture & comfortable beds. Bathrooms have great showers & FULL SIZED artisan soap/shampoo bottles!!! No need to keep emptying tiny ones and calling for replacements. BAR is great too- excellent selection, solid cocktails & A1 bartenders who know their stuff and are generous. The PLAYROOM is unique- a fun place to lounge around and even sip drinks. Lastly, the lobby STAFF are the best! Always happy, polite, interacting, and helping with whatever you need for however long you need them. Kudos to the hotel manager!

Room Tip: Rooms not facing 5th St. are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin D, General Manager at Hotel Zetta San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear JoeCanuck,
Wow, what a great review! This is what the entire team is striving for and they are excited to read comments like yours. Thank you for sharing with the world. We cannot wait to welcome you back in our fun, playful and unique hotel.
Cheers,
Benjamin Duverge - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#31 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#19 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zetta San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zetta San Francisco

Property: Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Address: 55 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-1801 (Formerly Hotel Milano)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zetta San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city of exquisitely edgy contrasts, Hotel Zetta offers a high level of sophistication and service without taking itself too seriously. The vibrant décor and sustainable architecture lend an innovative, creative vibe, while the high-tech conveniences, oversized guestrooms and plush pillow top beds keep things modernand always relaxed. Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously techy-savvy SoMa district and walking distance to Union Square, Hotel Zetta invites style-seeking travelers and local professionals to work, connect, play and get inspired.Located in the heart of San Francisco’s famously hip SoMa Distict, Hotel Zetta offers 116 fashionable rooms and suites to style-seeking business travelers, culture-seeking out-of-towners and local professionals. Work-hard-play-hard business travelers can customize in-room work spaces with over-sized butcher block desks and a bevy of high-tech conveniences, from Internet-ready Samsung 46” smart TVs with access to apps like Facebook, Twitter and Netflix, to G-LINK™ docking stations that let you wirelessly stream videos from your mobile devices to your TV. Want to escape the bustle of the city without actually leaving the city? Our amenity-rich urban enclaves elevate downtime with down comforters and imported linens atop sumptuous pillow top beds, complimentary Neil George bath and body amenities, and Illy coffee espresso machines. Each room's unique quality is accented with a one-of-a-kind tapestry; a stunning collage of antique Oriental rugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Zetta San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Milano San Francisco
Milano San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing