We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price, Great Location, Great Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #53 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Price, Great Location, Great Find!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Rex from July 12 - 15 for a weekend getaway. The hotel is in a great location right near Union Square on the same block as the Larkspur Hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and gave the hotel a small town B&B vibe. There is a little pug named Max that hangs out in the lobby which was a fun touch. The lobby has the feel of an old study - very cozy, lots of books and best of all, a bar with great drinks and delicious food.

We got a very good deal considering it was the middle of summer in the heart of San Francisco. This was my first experience at a Joie de Vivre hotel and I hope to visit more very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctraveler0009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    596
    162
    47
    18
See reviews for
186
697
119
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olmsted Falls, OH
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Five stars because I would stay here again, and I slept like a champion.

I got an average deal on this place thru Expedia (within one month of my trip, during peak tourist season)

Only complaint would be adjacent-bathroom-to-bathroom noise. Could definitely tell when your neighbor flushed! At the same time, I could tell walking down the hall that my other neighbor had a TV on, but could not hear it at all from inside the room.

Rooms are smallish, but clean and well-appointed.

Coffee in lobby is tasty, The Library is a cool touch for dining/drinking, but consider passing on their continental breakfast (14.95) and find a place on Union Square.

Friendly staff, and one problem with my fridge got handled pronto.

Not a real commercial hotel, but a solid boutique. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tjibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We really liked the location of this hotel. Close to every form of public transportation to get you around town. Right near the trolley, China town and Union square. The staff here was very friendly and helpful. I think there are a couple bikes there for use too. I did not inquire about them because I am not insane enough to try and bike the hills of San Fran. We opted for a room that was quiet instead of a room with a view. It was nice to have a choice. It was nice and quiet. The bed was really comfortable. I would say that the room we were in was quite small but it was very clean and had adequate space. We were never around to enjoy the complimentary wine/beverage hour between 5-6 but that is a really nice touch. I would stay here again for sure. We get down to San Fran quite often and may just stay her every time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have been staying at the Hotel Rex for several years now whenever visiting San Francisco. It is in an ideal location and we are able to access public transportation and walk to many different restaurants and events. We really appreciate the Hotel Staff especially a gentlemen named Jeff and his pug Maximo lol! He was very helpful and knowledgeable about local great restaurants to eat at and also local tours . The lobby area is very inviting and charming. A home away from home! Rooms are always cozy and clean. I definitely left my heart in San Francisco and the Hotel Rex!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Spent three nights here and had a wonderful stay. Brilliant location close to Union Square, China town etc. Really could not fault the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff too. Rooms were stylish (lovely 1920s feel) and spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds. Loved the complimentary drinks between 5 and 6 and the coffee in the morning too. Didn't have breakfast here but instead went to Lori's Diner on the corner of the road. Would definitely recommend to friends-such a unique place. If you want a hotel that is not corporate and gives a true feel of San Francisco, this is the one.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was a very charming hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was comfortable, housekeeping was excellent, and we especially enjoyed Max, an adorable four-legged friend keeping post in the lobby. The location was convenient to the trolley, restaurants, and within walking distance of BART. We usually trend towards newer hotels, but this is one time I am glad we tried something different. Our stay was quite comfortable. I highly recommend the Rex for anyone planning to stay in the Union Square area of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Suggest a suite if available -- plenty of space and multiple bathrooms if you are traveling with mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Rex for a short night before the Avon Walk to end breast cancer. I needed a place that was quiet and in Union Square. Hotel Rex provided that and more.

We had our seasoned traveling dog with us and they made our stay with the pooch so fabulous. Super gracious and dog friendly staff. The downstairs bar was super fun and active as they have live music on Friday nights. Great value! I love this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastocole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
558 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#12 of 228 in San Francisco
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#25 of 228 in San Francisco
1,652 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#82 of 228 in San Francisco
1,144 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#79 of 228 in San Francisco
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing