We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel in San Fran”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #54 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in San Fran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was booked at the Hotel Rex by a client for the huge Oracle Open World conference. When I got the booking email, I was like "what the?". So I popped open trip advisor and saw that it was highly rated, and felt much better. The Hotel Rex is a really nice place. I've been staying here for the past 10 days. The rooms are small, but everything else about the hotel is just excellent. The hotel has an old world library feel. The look and feel of the hotel, and the decor are fresh and high quality. It appears as if this hotel were recently renovated, as the paint and wood surfaces are fresh looking. The hotel has a somewhat classy and upscale feel, but in a boutique way. I found it very refreshing, as I travel frequently, and usually stay in mostly higher end corporate chain hotels.

The room was very comfortable to sleep and work. There is a desk with a built in fridge, with some mini-bar items, but a large amount of space to put your own items. There is a big armoire and a decent sized dresser. The bed was nice and firm, and very comfortable.. The bathroom is not cramped and well appointed. There is a decent sized LED TV on the wall over the desk. The room is super clean and has a vintage feel. I loved it.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant and a bar in the hotel. But I had no interest in using those, as the neighborhood has a ton of other thin gs to do. There are a large number of restaurants very near by. There is a 7-11 and a Walgreens right across the street And a short walk down the hill will take you to the Market Street area for lots of shopping and dining opportunities. Also, there is Cable Car stop about a block away as well, so jump on and head to Fisherman's Wharf for a night on the town.

The Hotel Rex was a great place to spend 10 days while working. The staff, the location, and the hotel itself were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    583
    154
    47
    16
See reviews for
177
679
117
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

What a great team managing this little hotel! Everyone who served us was friendly and helpful.
It's a welcoming building, near to most of the main attractions and certainly within walking distance, if you like walking up and down the many steep hills.
The room was compact, very well appointed and extremely pleasant to return to after a hard day of sight seeing....especially as you are offered a lovely cold glass of wine between 5-6pm too!
If you are looking for vaue for money in this exciting city, this fits the bill really well and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly0502011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 4 nights in a King Bedroom at Hotel Rex. The hotel is conveniently located with a lot of great shopping and dining opportunities in walking distance. The hotel offers a complimentary daily wine hour as well as coffee and tea in the morning. We spent part of our honeymoon there and the Vera attentive Hotel staff even arranged a surprise cake as well as champagne and cheese platter for us on our room. That was really great! Most of San Francisco sights are easily reached in walking distance. We rarely had to use a cab and only once needed a bus. We would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mannheim681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is my first trip to San Francisco and therefore my first - but not last- say at the Rex, I'm back here is 4 days.This hotel was recommended to me by friends and they were spot on. I arrived here mid morning after a long flight from Australia and the wonderful desk staff let me into my room early, a quiet one at the back and very comfortable, room 404. They also helped me arrange some activities.
I love wine hour at the bar, a free glass of wine, a chat to the barman and a read and relax. It's been a great way to unwind each afternoon.
Good bed, great pillows, clean and with character. I'm looking forward to being back on Thursday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. Please let me know when you return to the Rex and we will make sure you are well taken care of!
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We randomly chose Hotel Rex through reviews on this site and other travel recommendations. So glad! Close to great shopping, cable cars, restaurants, ... Front desk employees were super friendly and helpful. Loved the artwork, even inside the tiny, vintage-spaced elevator. Stayed on the fourth floor at back of hallway and was never bothered with noise, though you could hear the normal street sounds occasionally. Nice bar/lounge with complimentary wine in evening. Small restaurant with limited offerings on site. We only had breakfast there, but it was tasty. Definitely will recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank caridy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review. As a small boutique hotel, these reviews really help get the word out.
-Ina'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hotel Rex

First time to San Fran and the stay for my family was made extra special as the Hotel Rex was an excellent choice. My wife and I wanted to experience something different with our son and his friend than the usual stay at the larger hotels.
The Hotel Rex was a very intimate setting as it definitely was a step into being in a European hotel, by yet was modern and up to date in today’s technology world. Our room had free WI-FI, was very clean (something that is very important on my list), small refrigerator for a couple of beverages, a clean bathroom, and no coffee pot, but coffee and tea were available every morning in the lobby along with the morning newspapers (a local paper, USA Today and the NY Times).
The elevator is quite small, but that is one of the appealing things about it, it is so different from the mega elevators in larger hotels.

The hotel has a kitchen and you can order food in the library and enjoy a relaxing meal and order something from their bar. The food was delicious as I had the “fish and chips” and my wife had the fish of the day. There is a conference room if companies would like to hold meetings there and it is in a central location in Union square, just a few doors down from “Lori's Diner” and there is also a Starbucks one block down across the street. China town is very near along with North Beach (Little Italy) and that is about a 20 minute walk.
The staff in the Hotel Rex were just as good and helpful as can be. We were originally booked for a room with a King bed and sleeper sofa and when we realized both the boys would not fit on it to sleep, we told the staff about the problem and they without hesitation were able to rectify the problem and we were moved to a room with two double beds.

I don't know what else I can say about the whole experience because it really was as good as can be with a charming and intimate hotel, wonderful staff, good food and really comfortable beds!

If anyone is able, please give this place a try as you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room towards the back of the hotel, but this will also depend on the category...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedandbreakfastfan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRexGM, General Manager at Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for the GREAT review but honestly, it was OUR pleasure to have you and your family as our guests. It is the energy from great guests like you that make the difference.
-Ina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Okay, so we haven't completed our entire stay just yet, but I am confident in saying this hotel has some of the nicest people I have ever met! We got to San Francisco Saturday afternoon, took the Bart, and hauled our luggage 4 blocks up Powell to Sutter and ended up here. They only had one room left and it had no A/C! Before even checking us in, they offered a room at their sister hotel - Galleria Park Hotel - (a few blocks away on the same street) for the night that would have A/C and a king size bed! All at no additional charge since I had already prepaid for our room for the week.

Our stay at Galleria Park Hotel was also pleasant.

We came back to stay here for the remainder of our stay in San Fran since I purchased our stay through Hotwire for a steal. We now are in a pretty spacious hotel room per SF standards, with A/C, and it is super cute! Love the old school library feel. I would totally recommend this hotel and stay again.

Great central location, amazing staff, wine hour from 5-6pm daily and there's a pug! He doesn't come in to work if it's too hot though.... Hahaha!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,060 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#23 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 562 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rex was inspired by the San Francisco art and literary salons of the 1920's and 30's. Vibrant and alive, the clubby lobby surrounds guests with distinctive period furnishings, walls of antiquarian books, and an exceptional collection of exotic objects and original portraits and murals.The Hotel Rex was designed by noted San Francisco interior designers Candra Scott & Anderson.The Library Bar is where travelers meet the local arts and social scene with themed evenings such as Movie Night, Records at Rex - our bartender plays real vinyl records, Live Jazz on Friday and other days featuring Poetry readings, live coffee house type acoustic guitar performances and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Rex San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing