We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
300
203
77
46
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
203
77
46
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free breakfast bunk beds union square common areas airport shuttle private bathroom your luggage around the corner central location dorm curtains privacy sf city alley backpackers lock
Filter
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We booked a private double room and at check in they told us to go to the Fitzgerald hotel just around the block. This is not a hostel but a budget hotel, the room was facing Post street, a bit noisy but it was big enough, clean, it had fridge/microwave/tv things I was not expecting in a hostel. The price for a private room was very good compared to other hotels in San Francisco. If you're looking for a cheap accommodation downtown this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vale7vale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Adelaide Hostel what a beautiful place. from the moment you walk in the staff is ready to help you, from checking in, to storing your bags, to helping you find your way around the city, great Staff in good moods :) I stayed for 11 day and it was the best time iv had, i love the activities they have set up for each night of the week from chili night, wine and cheese night, to pub crawls and more. This place ROCKS. This little gem feels like a home away from home. Also gotta give a huge shout out to the Dakota, another great place to stay. When ever Im in San Fran i will always stay at the Adelaide. See you Next Year :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moetaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thanks so much! We'll be glad to have you again next year, and anytime! We're always making improvements to make everything even more cozy and more fun! And "home away from home" is indeed the vibe that we're going for, so we're happy you got to experience that. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean and tidy w it's own bathroom, fridge and microwave. For $52 pp/pn it was great value, especially considering our room was made up each day & fresh towels ! The hostel staff were friendly & there were free planned activites each night !

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your response, Julie! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we do pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff! Come back and see us again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Despite being a little way down a dead end alley this hostel was very friendly. It has a very cosy feeling about the place and the staff were very helpful. The private rooms were very nice and had an en suite and they even made our beds every morning!!! (hence the 5*!). Breakfast was very good with bowls of fresh fruit prepared for us, porrides, bagels, muffins et al. Union Square was about a minutes walk away. Did have one night which was very noisy with a drunk outside but you could get that anywhere. All in all a good place to stay and wouldn't hesitate going back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleyr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I always prefer to stay in hostels instead of hotels because of the people you meet and the overall experience. And the Adelaide Hostel was one of the best places I've ever had the pleasure of staying in! They were very accommodating to the business traveler, with plenty of common areas that clearly had a lot of care put into the decoration and atmosphere. I was able to get work done as well as meet the other travelers who were passing through, and also enjoyed socializing at some of the free evening events that were offered, such as wine and cheese. I made good friends during my short time there and was happy to get a chance to explore the city with them- San Francisco is beautiful and I highly recommend not only the downtown Union Square shopping area, but the Mission if you get a chance, and Golden Gate Park as well as the historic Haight Ashbury, which has lots of great vintage shopping.

I forgot to mention the best part of the Adelaide Hostel which is the huge free breakfast! That, and the staff are all very helpful and knowledgeable about the city. I recommend 100%!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews