We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bagpackers Paradise”
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Hostel
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bagpackers Paradise”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were in a group of 13 and the hostel made us feel so welcome storing our bags before we checked in so we could explore the city and then ensuring we were all put in the same dorms even though we thought we were all going to be split up. We even got a free dinner which catered for the veggies too so thumbs up for that. Overall lovely staff and a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a large group and booking separately give yourself a group name and they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatle93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much! We’re glad you had a great time and enjoyed the vegetarian dinner! We always strive to make everyone feel welcome- hope to see you again the next time you’re in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    184
    74
    42
    48
See reviews for
24
73
247
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We reserved a room at the Adelaide hostel and were welcomed quiet nice, by a lovely helpful girl. The manager and the staff were awesome - thank you guys for hosting us. We would love to come back one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 605 of the Dakota house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_of_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

You have to stay here if you're visiting San Francisco. It's in the perfect location first of all. The place was super clean and I felt very comfortable. It has all the amenities of home. The staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming and at the end of my stay I felt like they were my friends. They seemed to know all about the city and were able to answer any question I had and point me in the right direction to having an awesome experience. They also have free breakfast!! Fruit, oatmeal, assorted bagels with cream cheese, toast and jam, orange juice, and coffee of course. Being on a tight budget, this meal allowed me to spend my money on having even more fun in the city. I just had so much fun there, I can't even say.
I can't wait to revisit San Francisco just so I can stay here again. Thank you to the Adelaide, and the owner who was very hands on and seems like he takes it personally that all of his guests have a wonderful experience at his hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you, Heather! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try to offer a full free breakfast so that our guests can have some extra funds for exploring this great city! :) And you are right that the owner does try to make sure everyone has a wonderful experience- he never stops working! We're always making sure to make refurbishments and updates, so definitely do come see us again next time you're in San Francisco to see what's new! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked 2 beds in the hostel. When we arrived we were told we had been moved to the crummy hotel round the corner. When we got to the hotel we were on the 8th floor (the lift always breaks). Also, we were told we had been put in a queen bed... we are 2 guys. The bed was so small we couldn't even lay shoulder to shoulder. After an hour of complaining (we had paid for 2 beds!) they agreed we could have one of the singles also in the room (there was about 30cm between the beds). To make it worse they made us feel guilty about requesting the number of beds we had paid for (one of the staff was going to sell their bed for the night).

When we returned from the late running hostel organized bar crawl, there was a couple in the single bed. (As it happened they were also charged for 2 beds - disgraceful).

I climbed over the drunk people hanging out with the hotel staff in the lobby and complained again. Eventually I was given a bed in the staff area. The staff area was filthy.

We were woken at 5AM by loud speakers in the street outside (not really their fault).

The next morning I asked to cancel our second nights stay. The original answer was no! I had to threaten to cancel the entire credit card payment (for both nights) before they agreed to let us check out early.

Avoid like the plague. They are clearly driven by greed.

p.s. We also stayed in USA Hostels (round the corner) which was fantastic.

Room Tip: Insist you are in the main hostel. A better idea is to go to USA Hostels round the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1234580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a really great hostel, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was amazing. The dorm I stayed in was a little small but overall it was a very nice quality hostel. You could tell the owners obviously care about their guests having a great experience not just filling the place up and making money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elyse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

nice location - just on a small side street so it's quiet (street noise can be a problem with some other san fran places). very cozy common area, nice rooms but what actually makes it for me it's adelaide's staff - good people are working there. making you feel at home. recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yksfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review! Yes, we do try to make sure it's calm and quiet and that we have the best and friendliest staff in the city! Come back and see us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We booked a private double room and at check in they told us to go to the Fitzgerald hotel just around the block. This is not a hostel but a budget hotel, the room was facing Post street, a bit noisy but it was big enough, clean, it had fridge/microwave/tv things I was not expecting in a hostel. The price for a private room was very good compared to other hotels in San Francisco. If you're looking for a cheap accommodation downtown this would be the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vale7vale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
USA Hostels San Francisco
#3 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 50 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Property: Adelaide Hostel
Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Ln, San Francisco, CA 94102-1220 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing