We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people. Great hostel”
Review of Adelaide Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelaide Hostel
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“Great people. Great hostel”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Adelaide is very centrally located. The staff are friendly and keep the building clean. I enjoyed the breakfast as well as the evening activities. There is a nice vibe. You can work in silence or chat with people. Lots of bathrooms. I liked the bunk bed setup. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you so much Mike! We recently upgraded our bunks and we’re glad you enjoyed them! Come and see us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    184
    74
    42
    48
See reviews for
24
73
247
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I really enjoyed the Adelaide - very clean room and bathrooms, helpful staff, excellent breakfast. All the amenities a backpacker could need and great location near the centre of the city. I stayed in a 6-bed female only dorm and there were curtains for privacy, spacious lockers under the beds and power outlets for every bed as well as a sink and two mirrors in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was really pleasantly surprised by this hostel - tucked away in a little side street, it has tons of character and was comfortable, clean and good value. Good location too, walking distance from Union Square (5 mins) and Powell Street BART station (10 mins). They organize free tours or social events most nights which is good for meeting people if you're travelling solo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberloo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We’re so glad you got to take advantage of the location and our many free events! Come back and see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed there for three nights in December 2013 in a mixed 6 bedroom dorm. Everything was very clean, including the bathrooms/showers on all the floors - the curtains for the bunk beds were also great for providing some extra privacy, especially if you hate having to always go to the bathroom to change! Breakfast was great value - lots of different kinds of breads (bagels, wholemeal/white slices, raisin toast, english muffins) and spreads as well + pretty tasty oatmeal and small bowls of fresh fruit. Their weekly nights are great for meeting people - I was travelling solo and everyone was very friendly both in the dorms and for their special events.

Some hostel staff were warmer than others but would give you useful advice when asked. One of the showers on the top floor is pretty tragic but everything else was fine. Would advise to not walk down Taylor St on your own as you walk straight into Tenderloin (dodgier part of town) but you can easily get around it to get where you need to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you, Tracey! Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do pride ourselves on the unique bunk beds with privacy, a variety of free weekly activities, and of course, the best free breakfast in San Francisco! Come back and see us the next time you are in the Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
437 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is my secondary location if i cannot book in the hi san francisco hostel near union square. Its just a little more inconvenient to walk to from the powell bart station. The hostel is located near the theatre district of san francisco. I guess the issue I have with this place is that as a single traveler i've had to switch rooms a few times to accommodate larger parties. I will say that the location is much quieter then the hi san francisco if you value your sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pescosolido, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I visit this place last month and I really loved it!!! It is a beautiful place, very clean, nice rooms and lovely staff! Many thanks to Patrick, the owner. A really intelligent and warm person. He's doing everything for all the guests and made me feel at home from the beginning. I spend time with lots of different people, lots of different cultures, what I highly enjoyed. Thanks to everybody, specially Patrick. Maria Annuziata Porlisi, Stefania's mother.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you, Maria! We’re glad you had a positive experience- Patrick (along with the rest of the staff) certainly does work hard around the clock to make sure that the Adelaide is a “home away from home” for guests! We hope to see you again the next time you are in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this place in late November 2013.
It was pretty easy to get here (BART train from airport followed by short walk from Powell station). When here, we were told that we would be in their sister hotel next door called hotel Fitzgerald.
It was a clean and comfortable place, basic amenities like tea and coffee (good coffee!) were available in the room. They also had excellent free wifi as well as free breakfast every morning which was a huge bonus at the hostel rates. Reception staff were helpful, a number of travel brochures were available at the desk, and you could use further kitchen/hostel facilities at the Adelaide hostel.
Very close to union square and there were a number of cafes and restaurants at walking distance. We were told the bar downstairs called barrel room had great wine but unfortunately we didn't get around to trying it!
Overall, this place is very good value for money and we would definitely recommend it to anybody travelling on a budget.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FindingNemo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth O, Public Relations Manager at Adelaide Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you! We’re glad you found the Fitzgerald clean and comfortable- hopefully you’ll come see us again, and try out the wine at the Barrel Room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#81 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
USA Hostels San Francisco
#4 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Union Square
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
San Francisco City Center Hostel
#7 of 50 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hostel

Property: Adelaide Hostel
Address: 5 Isadora Duncan Ln, San Francisco, CA 94102-1220 (Formerly Adelaide Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 Speciality Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaide Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Adelaide Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing