We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #124 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We recently stayed 3 nights in the Andrews Hotel, Post St, San Francisco. In a very expensive city, The Andrews stands out as reasonable, centrally located, clean, with excellent staff. The in house restaurant Fino excellent and continental breakfasts, served on each floor are very satisfactory. Best of all, the extremely attentive staff, willing to share lots of local information to help the tourist.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Andrews Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

We actually noticed this charming small old hotel on our last visit to SF when we ate at Fino, the Italian Restaurant in the lobby. Happened to find this room on tripadvisor and quickly realized it was the same place. This is a great value if you are not driving-- the $33 nightly parking fee kind of killed our value, but still would stay here again. The service was outstanding and the building charming. Would be a great hotel for a getaway with spouse.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huntersville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed for one night before flying out and were very happy with the room and price. The bed was comfortable, the location was good and the bar downstairs had a great bartender and good atmosphere. The room was smallish but most are when you're in an older building downtown and the bed was a good size. Be prepared for the smallest bathroom EVER, though! We had to leave the door open to use the sink! haha (really!) It's a block or two from the real action but not out of the way at all and was right across the street from Avis, where we returned a rental car (no need for a car when you're in the city :)). And it's only 3 blocks from the cable cars, which was nice. Good staff and the hotel has a nice history, since the building was built only one year before the big earthquake (and wasn't destroyed).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legolizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights. Hotel is in great location, only a few minutes walk to union square. Hotel bedroom is fine, bathroom is small and needs updating and shower needed better cleaning (hairs from last occupant) but powerful shower . Overall comfortable and great to get continental breakfast outside bedroom door.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mish123Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Hands down - The Andrews Hotel was awesome! My boyfriend and I got an amazing rate through Orbitz for a five-night stay. We enjoyed it thoroughly! The size of the rooms are a bit on the small side, but no smaller than your average-sized bedroom. I liked that part, since it made us feel more at home. There are only 8 rooms on each floor (with a total of 7 floors), so it made for a very peaceful stay. Breakfast is served 6:30 - 9:00 every morning on EACH floor, in the hallway. It consists of breakfast pastries, fruit, coffee, and orange juice (all which were quite delicious). Plus, the hotel has an Italian restaurant attached to it (with inside lobby entrance) named Fino. All of the staff was more than wonderful. They only have a handful of front desk workers and they are all friendly and personable. Andrews is located in a great spot in Downtown, right around the corner from everything! Also, if you are looking to do laundry during your stay there, but don't want to waste the time doing it, I recommend the dry cleaners next door to the hotel. They do a simple wash and fold for a reasonable price. They also drop it off at the front desk for you, so you don't even have to worry about picking it up. Keep in mind, there is no air conditioning in the hotel rooms. Being from South Florida, this worried me at first, but the weather is so nice and cool in San Francisco that we just kept the windows open when we were there! Plus, there is a ceiling fan in all of the rooms too. There was no need for air conditioning anyway. All-in-all, The Andrews Hotel was super cozy, felt like home away from home, and had a cool vintage feel to it -- truly a unique hotel experience! We WILL be staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We decided to stay in San Francisco as part of a 3 week trip to America. We chose the Andrews solely based on reviews from Tripadvisor, even though the hotel was over budget for us (we paid just under £700 or $1090 for 7 nights.)

When we arrived the hotel had no record of our booking. They showed us to a room anyway as we had a printed reference and they later found our booking although no apology was made for the error or embarrassment instead the third party was blamed.

Our room was extremely small for what we had paid and the tv was not working so the next day we were upgraded to a King room from the Queen. The new room had shaved hair all over the sink which remained for the next two days until the cleaner noticed it.

As others have mentioned this is an old hotel, so expect yellow stained, peeling sinks and mouldy bathroom walls. The walls separating the rooms are also very thin so you have no choice but to listen to other residents 'activities' both in and outside the hotel.

As for the area - if you have children then I would spend a little more (or book way in advance) and stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area. Coming back from evening meals it is recommended that you get a taxi as the hotel road is on the border of the Tenderloin - the rougher area of San Francisco. There was a shooting on the road leading up to the hotel when we were there and this area was blocked off by police when we walked back at 9pm.

The massive 'high' for the hotel is the restaurant. The food is excellent, as are the staff. In particular the 'James Bond' look-a-like and the bar man. You also get a complimentary glass of wine thrown in each evening which was lovely.

Bottom line - if you can get this hotel 'cheaply' like others have said then go for it, if not then save your money and go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Andrews several times and have always had a great experience.This time was not different. We really enjoyed the quietness, friendly service, location and the fantastic continental breakfast set on the hallway each morning. The morning coffee was awesome (and we are very picky about coffee).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backatfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#80 of 230 in San Francisco
1,363 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
1,184 reviews
Serrano Hotel
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#170 of 230 in San Francisco
386 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#106 of 230 in San Francisco
1,134 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#154 of 230 in San Francisco
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £106 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing