We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Good Location and Excellent Hot Morning Coffee” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #87 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Good Location and Excellent Hot Morning Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here three nights with a girl friend. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was always cleaned by the time we had breakfast and returned to the room. The beds are feather beds and mine at home are firm. however, they were comfortable. The bathroom was small but every square inch was accounted for and the arrangement was convienent for us. Water pressure was good and hot water immediately available. The hotel was clean and quiet. I had stopped drinking coffee but the decaf was so good and so hot I did drink coffee each morning. We used a voucher from Travel Zoo for three nights and had a great price.
The night we arrived someone at the hotel sold us a hop on off with Big Bus at a discounted price. There are many hop on off buses in SFO but I can't imagine any company with better service than Big Bus. We did the walking tours which were included in the price and they were very informative. We had walked past places in Chinatown previously and didn't know the history and stories that the tour guide told us. We did the 2 hour night tour with SFO views from Treasure Island and it was a fabulously clear night! One of our hop off places was the Japanese Garden and California Academy of Science. If you get to the Japanese Garden between 9-10am admission is free. You can spend hours at the Academy of Science.If you go to SFO I would recommend always bring dress for cold weather. We didn't expect cold weather but were prepared and it made this trip enjoyable.

Room Tip: This hotel is a great location, clean, quiet and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank home-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    242
    132
    26
    30
See reviews for
58
239
49
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

A block to Union Square, this old hotel has small rooms, but not as small as European ones. That said, our room was very clean every day for 3 days! Spotless.

Maid service was excellent!

Self service parking at $29 was also a find!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent 3 nights here and used the hotel as a base for exploring San Francisco. The hotel location is great- centrally located with easy access to tram and on/off bus. This is an older hotel and the rooms are quite small but adequate if you are only there to sleep. A caution- Sutter Street is quite busy and tends to be noisy, even late at night. Thursday garbage pickup at 3AM is a case in point. The small bar and fireplace in the rear lobby add ambiance sand they serve a mean cup of morning coffee. I found the staff friendly and helpful.
I found the hotel to be a decent value in a city known for expensive accommodation.
F.Y.I.: Lori's diner, a few doors away, serves a great breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK65Toronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris/Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I spend 3 nights Thérèse. Very charming little hotel with a lovely fire place.

Such a lovely staff, with a special mention to Kevin. This guy do anythink to make your stay easyer. Very hepfull!!!

Just a very very little dark spot. The mattress was too soft for my back and in a morning the street is noisy early in a morning. Anyway I hope to come-back again in SF and again in this hotel

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Napoleon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great experience - historic building with character in a fabulous location. Yes, the bathrooms are small and the parking garage is about a block away up a hill. Cleaning and desk staff were consistently pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor off the street if you need absolute quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear amburr,

Thank you so much for review. We were pleased you found the value in our little gem of a hotel. Housekeeping and the front desk are very appreciative of your kind words. We are one of the few downtown hotels that offer a reduced parking rate for self-parking, but there is a little walk involved.

We hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

the fact that this hotel located very close to Union Square and shopping area, I almost did not notice how petite the hotel was.
overall the staffs were very friendly and the check in and out was a snap.
The furniture a bit old, but the beds were comfy.
The shower head in my room was not working really well, it was leaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V, General Manager at The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear ratlok,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to read our wonderful location worked out for you. We are hoping our rooms get a refresh in 2014. My apologies for the leaking shower head. Your feedback provided our housekeeping manager with an excellent training opportunity for her team.

We hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco.

Cheers,

Steven Viscio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was a great find, one block from Union Square and the Powell Street cable car line! The hotel is old and smaller, but has charm and is so convenient and reasonably priced, it will definitely be a go to on a return trip.

On a recent trip to San Francisco for a 49ers game, we weere looking for a convenient location where we could land before and after the game and found this place through a travel site. The hotel recommended a car service for the trip to and from the game (tried public transit once and it was a nightmare). The car was late and the hotel staff felt personally accountable and were very apologetic, so much so that they gave us, and the couple we were traveling with, a bottle of champagne!

If you are looking for a place with all the amenities, this isn't your place. Coffe/tea and newspaper in the morning, and a nice lobby and lounge, but the owners are still waiting to get their liquor license, so the nice bar is going unused. But no need to fear, a great tap room across the street and the top of the Sir Francis is right there as well, along with any type of restaurant you can imagine within walking sitance.

In summary, convenience and grerat staff warrants my return business.

Room Tip: Standard Queens are small, but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craggs57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#57 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#90 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
Address: 524 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1102 (Formerly The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What Will You Do Today In San Francisco? The possibilities are endless. Dine at the city’s most celebrated restaurants and sample the latest food innovations for which the city has become famous. Explore the city’s countless tourist attractions such as the spectacular Golden Gate Bridge, and take a ride through the city’s notorious yet energizing fog, setting your eyes on the wondrous parks and landmarks along the way. Browse the nearby boutiques and department stores in and around the bustling Union Square area. And enjoy all of this while staying at the Cartwright Hotel Union Square. Located just one block from Union Square, the epicenter of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment venues, the hotel is also just minutes from the Financial District and Moscone Center. Apart from its excellent location and quintessential San Francisco charm, the Cartwright Hotel Union Square offers thoughtful amenities and premium guest services, making it the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers looking for comfort and convenience in the thick of all that San Francisco has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Union Square
Larkspur San Francisco
Cartwright Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing