We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #73 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We spent one night at the Clift Hotel for my boyfriends birthday. The ambiance in the lobby let you know that the hotel was trying to cater to the hip and trendy crowd. Check-in was seamless and once we went upstairs to our room, we noticed that every floor had a lavender theme going. The room was small and the "mood" lighting continued as you walked into the room. At this point, I just wanted to see where I was walking! The bathroom had toiletries that smelled so amazing and while the bathroom was small, it was efficient. The tub did backup when you took a shower and I just wanted a bottle of Drano! Finally the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet despite the fact that the bar becomes a full on club. Overall, I would definitely stay at the Cift again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikitice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift-SF-AFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Dear kikitice,

Thank you for choosing Clift and taking the time to reflect on your stay. I am pleased to see that you and your boyfriend had pleasurable stay with us. I am glad that you liked the bed and bath products in your room and were able to get a nice nights sleep in our comfy beds! We look forward to seeing you again soon, so hurry back!

Sincerely,
Tyler – Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,416 - 2,422 of 3,597 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Clift for several nights in November 2011. The location is excellent for tourists and since the weather was nice we ended up walking to most destinations. Check in was quick and welcoming. Our room was spacious, though like most Morgan hotels, the bathroom was cramped. The primary reason I stay in Morgan hotels is the design. The Clift's lobby is dark but atmospheric and stylish. Our room was spacious and comfortable. My only complaint has been shared by other reviewers: room service is mediocre and outrageously priced. My husband and I enjoyed cocktails in the very happening bar but ate most meals outside the hotel. We enjoyed our time at the Clift and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift-SF-AFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Dear morof3,

Thank you for staying with us and taking a moment to share your experience with everyone on TA. I am glad that you are a fan of MHG’s unique style and design of our properties. Our location in the heart of the city makes exploring SF so simple. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Tyler – Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I have always wanted to stay at the Clift Hotel as I had visited the RedWood Rooms bar on many occasions. The Hotel is very nice and has that 'W Hotel' feel but it doesn't quite get there. My room was a small suite, it was big but very sparse and the furniture looked cheap and the bathroom needed modernizing.

I managed to get a great deal on expedia for a Junior Suite at £279 for 2 nights. When I checked the Clift Website, they wanted $450 per night for the same room. I wouldn't had been happy to pay $450 a night for the room I got.

If you looking for a modern funky hotel and your paying full price, there are better options in San Fran.

On a very very big + the shower was fantastic. Hot and super strong!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Our showers have the best water pressure in the city for sure.

I just wanted to chime in when I saw the comment about another 'chain' that was inspired by us. Morgans Hotel Group, or 'Morgans' was the first boutique hotel brand concept created. We actually coined the phrase boutique hotel in the early 80's when one of our founders was quoted saying our brand would be the 'anti-hotel'. Since then we have lead while many others have tried to follow in our footsteps. Almost anthing you will see, feel, smell, encounter in another boutique brand was inspired by us.

Okay... Seacrest out!

Thank you for reading a brief history of MHG and the boutique hotel concept! We hope all you trip advisor readers out there will at least pop by the lobby and bar to see what it is about us that makes us original!

Sincerely,
Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

When looking for a city centre hotel for a couple of nights in a good location I'm usually disappointed. Not this time. Great location, efficient and friendly staff, stylishly different.
Room was cleverly designed to maximise space and tastefully finished. Staff had great local knowledge for an out of country visitor who is looking for local over touristy. Well done the Clift.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift-SF-AFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Dear Martin S,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts. I am pleased that you like the style and design of our property and found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable. We hope to see you again the next time you are in SF!!

Sincerely,
Tyler – Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Clift was renovated several years ago and massively updated. It's super modern now, with dark lobby spaces and Plexiglass furniture in the rooms and the legendary Redwood Room in full operation... The location is outstanding, perhaps the best in San Francisco, just off the hustle bustle of Union Square. The rooms are nice, we got an upgrade (see below) so ours was extra nice. Room service is fast and friendly and everyone on the staff from valet parker ($57 including tax after $50 was quoted), to bellman, to front desk staff is efficient, friendly and smart. I was very impressed by the security at this hotel in the late night hours. Your room key is checked at the door and at the elevator. Vegas style, and Super safe!

Mini bar is comprehensive. Valet parking fee is for 24 hours and you can go in and out, with 10 minutes notice. We used uber dot com, so we did not use the in and out privileges.

The Redwood Room is a bar that is one of the premier spots for 30 somethings in San Francisco to sit with a cocktail and stare at the opposite sex. Nice array of fembot hostesses. No dancing but the house music is loud and has a beat you could dance to if you wanted. It's difficult to get into, especially on weekend nights, but when you're a hotel guest, you rock right in with your room key!

This hotel is cooler than most Kimptons in San Francisco, but more expensive ($370) and the location is supreme. No breakfast. The closest restaurant, the Daily Grill, is awesome, about 20 steps away.

Room Tip: They have an upgrade program where you sign up for an upgrade when you make the reservation. If an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromscottstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift-SF-AFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear fromscottstreet,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback on your time spent with at Clift. I am glad that you liked the style and ambiance that our hotel provides. It is extremely satisfying to see the feedback that you provided about our staff! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you again for the great review!

Sincerely,
Tyler – Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We just returned from a trip to San Francisco where we stayed at the Clift for 4 nights. This hotel appears to be an old classic that has had a modern facelift that almost works perfectly. It has a fun quirkiness in its design elements... along with a luxe feel in its linens, curtains, and bath products. You feel hip and sublimely comfortable at the same time. How can you go wrong with that? The ground floor has lovely common areas... a nice lounge with a fireplace and also a library room along one side, with nice sofas and coffee tables. Our bedroom was on the smallish side, but decked out with mirrored walls to make it appear larger with reflected light. We had everything we needed: an exceptionally comfortable bed, an upholstered reading chair, a fun blown glass reading light, a desk, and a nice view of the city. There are odd combinations, too... like an underlit modern bathroom with an industrial toilet that looked like it came, freshly minted, out of a high school setting. You have to ask yourself... "Why?" But it all works and works well. The shower was very good, with excellent water pressure. The downstairs redwood bar is justifiably famous and fabulous... totally worth a visit. The unrelenting techno beat is rather odd during cocktail hours... we found it a bit challenging to talk with our guests... but the overall ambiance was great. The club annexed to the bar attracts long lines of young people late at night; it appears to be very popular, so you may have to cut though the lines, as we did, to get back to your rooms late at night. It's probably a good idea to have a room located on one of the higher floors on weekends if you like peace and quiet. We were on the 13th floor and we didn't hear any music at all from downstairs, but some kids next door partied the night away our first night there, and if we hadn't been completely jet lagged it would have been a tense situation. Luckily, the following evenings were much quieter, though we could hear bits and pieces of loud conversations through the walls, so be aware of that. The location of this hotel is excellent, convenient to shops, restaurants, all forms of transportation. The front desk was very helpful, as were the rest of the staff at this hotel. First class service. We would certainly consider staying at the Clift again.

Room Tip: As advised earlier, higher floors may be best on weekends to avoid noise from club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyb2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift-SF-AFOM, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Bettyb2973,

Thank you for staying at Clift and taking a moment to share your experience. It is wonderful to see that visit with us enjoyable! I am glad that you liked the style and ambiance of the building. Our location is unbeatable and convenient for our guests to explore this great city. The most rewarding part of your review is that you found the service first class!! We look forward your next visit as our doors are always open for you!

Sincerely,
Tyler – Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed at the Hudson Hotel in New York city a couple of years ago, so we know that Morgan hotels have personality. The Clift hotel is no exception, although it's got more polish and less edge than the Hudson. We stayed at the Clift hotel for a couple of nights, accompanying friends who were visiting from out of state. The hotel is neat, with fantastical furniture reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland, and even a secret spirally staircase that doesn't seem to go anywhere (or does it). The rooms are on the smallish side but ample. The beds are comfortable with clean linens. Our bathroom was stylish and functional, not huge, but I am not exactly sure what I'd do with a huge bathroom in a hotel. If I had to guess, I'd say this hotel isn't great for families, but I can imagine kids getting a kick out of the giant chair in the lobby. The hotel is located close to Union Square and most San Francisco attractions. Personally, I am not a fan of it's location since it's just too busy, but one can easily see and do San Francisco from this location, without renting a car. The lobby bar is fun and both nights at the hotel we started and ended the night with drinks at the lounge. Drinks are delicious and potent, rivaling the best concoctions in the city, minus some of the requisite San Francisco pretension.

Room Tip: Try and find the spiral staircase and figure out where it goes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeeZee666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,739 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 230 in San Francisco
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
533 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £149 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing