We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Very good location - 5 min from Union Square, surrounded by lots of options for eating and evening parties. The hotel has trendy inner design, the rooms are small but you have enough space; Internet was complementory. The staff are friendly and helpful. Famous also for the redwood room bar, which hosts late night parties. Anyway, these are not disturbing the guests.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Clift as well as the Redwood Room. The Redwood Room is known for being made out of redwood and the moving paintings. The next time you stay in San Francisco, consider checking out the further features Clift has to offer: room service, lobby, red velvet room, and our impeccable customer service.

Cheers,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 3,563 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed there for 1 week in August 2012. The hotel is so nice and glamour. Every night there was a party in the lounge bar and so many lovely and nice people that come from outside the Clift also. The hotel security is perfect. The Clift is so close to Union Square and there is a starbucks on the other side of the street to eat a good breakfast. I stayed in a room to the 8th floor and it was so nice, clean and with a living room to make a dinner. The people of the hotel staff were friendly and ready to help the customer in fact they helped me to find the ticket to go to Alcatraz because I not reserved it before to go in SF. Excellent location and hotel!!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GiancC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. I am very pleased to hear that you received the top-notched service Clift takes pride in.

The location of the Clift as well as the people in San Francisco is indeed noteworthy and the next time you stay in San Francisco, we hope to see you again!

Cheers,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Was all we said from the moment we stepped into reception, when we got in the lifts, when we walked to our room, and then for about 10 minutes after we got into our room. Perhaps we are easily pleased, or a lot of people are easily disappointed - I don't know. We had a corner suite on the top floor I think it was 1601 but my memory is terrible! It was amazing though, we had great views on two sides and I got a load of cool photos at night once the mist rolled in a bit!

The room was an upgrade the hotel concierge had arranged for us after booking which was a fabulous gesture and my only regret is not tracking him down to thank him personally!

The common comments about the walls being thin is a fair point, but I only heard our through the wall neighbour once, when he was arguing with someone on his phone. Not much you can do about that.

The nightclub downstairs was very very loud but no issue about hearing it when you are so high up! We met a few other guests who were on lower floors who mentioned they could hear it so height seems to be the solution to that.

In terms of location, its great - you can walk to nearby locations for shopping around Union Square and getting to Pier 39 etc is dead easy too. Streetcar F was our weapon of choice for the Pier as its the same tickets / pricing as the bus (transfers valid too)

As its a premium hotel, everything is premium - wifi ($15 a day i think) parking ($40+ dollars) and room service was pricey too. We avoided all of the above and sourced these things locally. Despite feeling like we were totally (and obviously) below the "class" of guests the hotel is aimed at, we never once were made to feel like that (we just did it to ourselves!)

Best parking tip is the Mason Garage just round the corner (the one most the rental companies are based in) - they had a special rate of $22 if you arrived after 6pm and left by 9am.

All in all, we'd go back in a hearbeat and recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

You have to like the modern/trendy vibe to enjoy this place, otherwise you will roll your eyes. I actually enjoy it for what it is. It's in the tenderloin/ union square, so not exactly the best spot I would pick, but very easy to get around from here. Cabs can be hard to get in this city but easier over here. This is one of my top choices when I visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetSetJeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliftFOM, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your positive feedback. Clift takes great pride in the decor and ambiance of its hotels.

Please try some of our sister properties - Morgans Hotel Group, I am sure you would enjoy the vibe there as well.

Cheers,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Awesome Hip Hotel a block away from Union Square. Excellent famous Redwood Bar where anyone who's hip in San Fran hangs out. Make sure you reserve a table. Rooms are trendy and very spacious. Ensure you visit Alcatraz!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrWWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have stayed at Clift many, many times and I always enjoy it. The location is ideal, the rooms are stylish and spotless, and the staff are WITHOUT EXCEPTION the most amazing people I have ever come across in the hotel industry. There is very obviously a top-down emphasis on being friendly, attentive and gracious ... and it shows. These are simply the happiest people ever and the service they deliver shows it. The hotel is in great condition, and if I have ever stumbled across the occasional & unavoidable hiccup (once my shower head was missing a piece ...) it is repaired seamlessly and with a smile. I am always sad to leave and this is now the ONLY hotel I stay at when I'm visiting San Francisco. I recommend booking directly through their website, as their Morgans Hotel guest loyalty program sometimes garners some nice upgrades and perks, and they keep track of small details, such as which newspaper you prefer or your spouse's name, etc. A nice personal touch.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view towards Union Square, and there is a corner room on the TOP floor that is ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I used to stay at this hotel years ago and LOVED it!!! It was America's Cup weekend etc. so many hotels were booked and we chose the Clift. We were upgraded to a room on the top floor--a beautiful and really big room--but right by the elevator bank and it's motor I am assuming. So at 4 am on all I could hear was the motor.....ugh. The staff was great and moved us to a room on a lower floor that was still rather large. It had a great view and was nice and quiet. The Redwood room used to be the IT place and we were sadly disappointed. It just wasn't what is used to be!! And at 4 pm they expect you to pay the bottle service prices and the food wasn't great. And $30 for a glass of Veuve? I remember Asia de Cuba or something as the restaurant the last time I was there--it is now gone and it is an empty room. I guess all hotels go through phases. I am glad we were upgraded to a big room, and I personally like the cool vibe of this hotel group, but I am not sure I would stay again. The staff was awesome. The valets and bellmen were great as well as the front desk people. Valet parking at $50 a night does suck but it is the city. Great location. They just need to do something to freshen it up a bit and make it a hot place again......

Room Tip: Upgrade to a large room. The regular rooms are TINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,712 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#53 of 230 in San Francisco
515 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
3,315 reviews
Union Square
No photo provided
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £145 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing