We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfull!!! Do Not Recommend!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #73 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My experience was pretty bad at this hotel. The receptionist, James was rude. He gave us a room with one king bed when our res was for 2 beds, he even saw the three of us!!! Then he gave us a room that someone was already sleeping in!!! That went on from 1:30 to 2:30 AM. This hotel is AWFULL!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyBuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Mays, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am truly sorry that you were left with any impression that did not express our sincerest desire to provide the best level of service possible. Our Guest's satisfaction is our top priority and I truly hope we will have the opportunity to provide you with a wonderful experience should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,512)
There are newer reviews for Clift Hotel San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,765 - 1,771 of 3,517 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pros:
- centrally located
- hip lobby (though dark)
- free bike rental included
- really god bed

Cons:
- too narrow bathroom, hard to squeeze onto toilet (room 535)
- bloodstain on bed linnen
- most dirty windows seen for years
- safe too small for laptop
- soap series that dries your skin, not moisturizing
- seal on Voss water in minibar broken

Average, too expensive to the prize

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Mays, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, both positive and constructive. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the location of our historical establishment if not the layout of your accommodations. We have many rooms that vary in size and design so that we have a variety of options for our various guest's requests. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and I truly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clift so that you may experience all that we have to offer as we make every effort to get you right!
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The rate varied for our 4 night stay. The first night was at approx. $400.00 + tax and lower the other nights. Being a holiday weekend I figured it would be pricey. Our friends who reside in SF warned that we would be on the edge of sketchiness, they were right, but it didn't bother us, as we've used common sense and didn't hang out late at night at those areas. The hotel is located near Union Square, which is a shopping district, from Sacks Fifth avenue, Tiffany all the way to Forever 21, H&M and such.

The location is great in my opinion, you can walk to many areas. We had a meeting at Twitter, so walked via Market St. (mainly the sketchy part) to get to our meeting at Twitter, but no big deal, again, common sense. The hotel is pretty cool. The lobby is decorated with avant decor. The giant throne like chair is a "big highlight" and a lot of fun.

Our room was situated on a high floor but right in front of elevator and it's foyer, so on check-out mornings a little noisy as people (unfortunately) lacks common sense at times, even though the door where you are standing in front of with your massive luggage, where states "Do Not Disturb". I believe the hotel gave us a high floor to compensate for the location of the room and that our tub was "exfoliating", yes, peeling away, right about where one would place their body, one decided to take a bubble bath, needless to say, I didn't. They compensated by carrying one of my favorites hotel toiletries.

Now, for the gran-finale! The Redwood Lounge! Gorgeous, but hard to get, even though you are a paying guest of the hotel. The 3 times we showed up for a drink we were told that we needed reservations but could possibly sit for 45 minutes and would have to give up our sitting as tables were reserved for bottle service only. That to me, is an anti-climate and the hotel should reserve tables for their patrons (guests of hotels to be precise) a table or two. They are very popular and get patrons from all over the area including other hotels. To be honest, it didn't dawn on me to reserve the lounge during my stay, so I recommend that if you do plan on getting a table at the Redwood Lounge, but be aware of the bottle service, which is nothing more than a minimum $350.00 I think scenario. It's for the party scene people…. "showing off, being noticed, getting lucky scene, if you know what I mean. Nevertheless, I recommend the lounge, it has surprising decor, if you google you'll find out, but I rather not spoil the surprise ;-)

Ordered Breakfast via room service, very efficient and fuss free. I'm not a huge fan of Eggs Benedict, but the "Dungeness Crab Eggs Benedict was delicious" (I'm a huge fan of crab), and this was the best Benedict I've ever had.

Overall, a cool property to stay, overpriced on full price nights? Perhaps, but that's San Francisco for you! And yes, many has left their hearts in SF, I believe mine was left years ago, a much better time, as I find SF dirty and overcrowd now, with a large homeless and drug addicts population and solicited every where we went. Cheers

Room Tip: Higher floors if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Operatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Really nice hotel @ SF Downtonw prime location. Everything is on walking distance!

The whole hotel concept is awesome, from the decor to the amenities. There is nothing like waking up with an awesome city view, in a really confortable bed and linens. At the end of the day, you can stop by Redwood Room and have a fancy drink.

For sure is pricey, but totally worth it! Besides, once in a while you can get away with a good deal. In addition, their customer service is top notch.

Room Tip: Ask for available upgrades, you can get a better room with city view for free!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Modern decor, large rooms and bathrooms with plenty of space for storage.
Redwood Room was a really nice bar with great drinks and small bites. The food was a bit on the high side for what you get, but a good alternative if you'd rather stay in vs. going out again after a long day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chschiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Super cool bar!!! Very plush! Loved this spot. The eyes move in the pictures on the wall.. little freaky when you notice for the first time after a couple of drinks.. ha! Great central location and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracysimpson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This would be a very bad rating if it wasn't for Randy the delightful and friendly young lady who checked us in and the young man who was so helpful and forthcoming about the surrounding places in our immediate area. The other thing that saves this from being a complete "no go" establishment, would be the fact that the hotel is sooo well located for experiencing downtown SFO. All of these good things said, here's where it goes horribly wrong.....we had a long stay at the hotel over Memorial Day weekend and on the one and only evening we wanted to go to the downstairs bar and restaurant (after our romantic dinner at Waterbar) the security agent 'John' who declines sharing his surname and also admits to having no medical or physiological qualification, declares that we were too intoxicated to visit our 'in house bar'!! ! We chose to take the matter up with the manager on duty and he of course chose to help the 3 guests in line to check in prior to helping the guest who checked in 5 days ago!! I'm writing this minutes after the ill-treatment and I'm sorely disappointed not only as a frequent traveler but more specifically because so many people from this hotel got it SO right EXCEPT for TWO individuals... Do yourself a favour and rather stay at the Hilton around the corner where they get the service right all the time, every time at the same price or if you're willing to pay more stay at the Westin. In the meantime; to the folks at Clift please fire 'John' and his concierge buddy on duty at 10 pm, 29 May 2014 or lose the likes of me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina_JNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Mays, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We deeply regret if your experience was anything less than impeccable in all ways. It is never our intention for guests to feel as if we are not completely tended to. Our guests’ complete satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. please know that each guest is as equally important to us as the last no matter their length of stay. We appreciate your input and will be certain to share your feedback with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 229 in San Francisco
590 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#56 of 229 in San Francisco
486 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#33 of 229 in San Francisco
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#95 of 229 in San Francisco
3,272 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#54 of 229 in San Francisco
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £164 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing