We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern but noisy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Modern but noisy hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at Clift San Francisco in May 2014, in general my stay was good, the hotel is very well located close to the union square, the room was big, comfy, clean and the hotel staff was helpful and kind. However, there were two main issues that made my stay a little bit frustrating:

1) There is a bar at the hotel lobby that gets too crowded at night, lots of people making noise and walking all over the hotel, mainly at the lobby. Looks like you are in a party, not recommended for a family trip.

2) My stay was pre-paid by the company I have business with, however the hotel charged me not only all nights but also the breakfast that I had one morning, by the way the breakfast was included in my stay for all nights. Later on, when I got back to Brazil, I realize those charges (stay & breakfast), called the hotel and they assumed their mistake, however didn't refund the breakfast charge, even though it was also pre-paid as I said.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrenatoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Mays, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your experience with us. While I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience, I am sorry to see that you experienced difficulties in regards to your billing. It is our goal to ensure the least amount of inconvenience for our guests and provide a seamless arrival and departure experience. The lively and fun nature of our bar and surrounding area are aspects of our hotel that are unique to our brand. We understand that different guests are looking for various experiences, which is why we ensure that our rooms provide a comfortable and relaxing environment. Thank you again for your comments and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    1,245
    529
    245
    151
See reviews for
358
1,211
209
949
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I will start by saying that I just recently moved away from SF after living there for over five years, so I have a different perspective in this city then I typically do when I am traveling. Spent one week at Clift while my spouse was working in the city. The Clift is in a central part of the city - near all the shopping around Union Square. While it is an older hotel - it has been redecorated and is super modern in design. The staff were helpful and the maid service was great. Like many hotels in the area, it is close to a rough part of town (the tenderloin) and has it's share of crazy homeless people. The bar (The Redwood Room) is lovely but can turn into quite a nightclub on weekends and late into the evening. Room service was super fast and pleasant and the room although a little over mirrored was comfortable. Bathroom was nice but could of used a bit more remodeling. We were happy with a larger almost suite like room - nice couch area and separate dressing room. Tons of closet space! Overall, it is a good choice near Union Square.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at the Clift for a weekend visiting friends. It has a really cool bar downstairs and the atmosphere is very fun. The room was a bit small for my liking, but nothing I couldn't handle. The price is also a bit steep, so if you're looking to save a few bucks, look elsewhere. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel should definitely not be called a 5 star hotel. The rooms are ugly, dirty and old. You feel like you've just checked in a room that wasn't properly cleaned. The house keeping does a very poor job and we've had fruits offered rotting in a plate for 3 days without anyone taking it away. The bathroom is tiny and old fashioned and the gym room on the second floor needs a serious revamp! The treadmills seem to have witnessed the previous century and the gym equipment isn't cleaned after customers. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all, the only good thing about it is it's location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Mays, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback about your experience with us and regret that it fell short of the high level of service we strive to provide all of our guests. We are a historical building with unique features and design that vary in size and layout depending on the type of accommodation that is reserved. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our top priority and I am truly sorry that we failed to impress upon you a sense of luxury hospitality service. I truly hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Clift and provide you with the level of service we are typically known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

never been san fran before and I fell in love with the place. there for 5 days not enough time will go back again SOON, The Clift hotel, was a bit pricey, but worth the money for the location and the staff. the hotel itself maybe be jazzed up downstairs, bar, foyer sitting room but rooms are basic but very roomy. we were 3 girls sharing, one on the roll away, but was very comfortable. staff were amazingly helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: if you can afford a suite, very roomy. but we were 3 girls and needed the extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This is a weird hotel. For $ 400 a night for room plus $ 60 parking I guess I expected more. We were told the rooms with double beds have no view( not sure if true). Our room was 6th floor and had a wall in front if the window. The room is full of mirrors, floor to ceiling in front and back of beds?!!! The hallway is dark lilac. Bathroom needs an update. Service is good and beds are comfortable.. Location is great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My experience was pretty bad at this hotel. The receptionist, James was rude. He gave us a room with one king bed when our res was for 2 beds, he even saw the three of us!!! Then he gave us a room that someone was already sleeping in!!! That went on from 1:30 to 2:30 AM. This hotel is AWFULL!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyBuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Mays, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I am truly sorry that you were left with any impression that did not express our sincerest desire to provide the best level of service possible. Our Guest's satisfaction is our top priority and I truly hope we will have the opportunity to provide you with a wonderful experience should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Clift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,865 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4,544 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
558 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#93 of 228 in San Francisco
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing