We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #71 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in San Francisco”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

check-in was easy. We were on the 11th floor, no noise to bother us at all. But we were the last room on the floor. Others complained about hearing their neighbors. 4 blocks from Union Square. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice large walk-in closets. Coffee and hot tea in he lobby each morning was a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for end of the hall so you only share one wall with other guests. Also, if you need a taxi door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OC2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We are so glad to see that your time at Clift was both easy and enjoyable. From the walk-in closet to the morning coffee and tea, we strive to continuously go above and beyond the expectations of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    1,280
    543
    258
    156
See reviews for
386
1,236
213
976
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Very funky hotel with a cool bar downstairs. My room was spacious and well appointed. The hotel service was good.
It is well located only a couple of 100 metres from Union Sqaure.
It is pricey but good value.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick one night stay in San Fran. We were centrally located and used cabs to get around. Nice room, not too small. We had the basic room, not a suite or anything but the king bed was ample and the closet large. Bathroom a little small but that is to be expected. Tub did not drain fast enough so the water puddled in the tub during a shower.
We arrived half a day earlier then expected bc I changed our flights but they graciously held our bags so we could explore the city. Then we headed to Sonoma for the weekend and they held our bags on Sunday until it was time to head to the airport.
Very accommodating staff.
The bar was thumping at 11pm on a Thursday but we didn't hear a peep in our room on the 4th floor when we headed upstairs. Beds were very comfortable and I slept like a baby. Street noise didn't bother me, but it was our first night over from the east coast so, i probably could have slept on the expressway.
Hotel does have ac which was nice for air circulation, didn't need it for temp control. Doesn't look like the windows open.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed here with our daughter and her family for a quick getaway. Very pleased with hotel. Towels and bedding were the best we've had in a while, better then Fairmont and Palace which we have also stayed! Perfect location, convenient walking distance to Union Square and Market Street. WE caught the Muni which brought us directly to AT&T for a giants game and back again all for a couple dollars each way, What fun. Friendly staff at the hotel also.

Room Tip: Nice city view from top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 633cathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Clift as the hotel for your family getaway to lovely San Francisco. Our close proximity to major attractions like Union Square and AT&T Park is just one of the many ways we are able to enhance any Bay Area vacation. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we greatly appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Overall was very happy with our stay in this hotel. The location is great, walking distance to just about anything you want to do and see.
The staff were all friendly, professional and helpful. Nice attitudes all around.
The hotel itself is very cool with an interesting lobby and knock out bar. All very hip and sexy!

The room itself was fine - smallish but nice. King bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in - pure luxury! Unfortunately, despite the lovely bed, the room temp cannot be really controlled (there is a thermostat which is basically "warm" or "cool" but the cool never got anyway cool enough for a good sleep) and being on the 11th floor, the window of course couldn't open.

The downside was feeling nickeled and dimed - although we didn't have a car, the valet parking is apparently over $50 and there was no free in-room Wi-Fi. You could sign in for free once per day from the lobby ... that was just bothersome.

Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago il
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We got this deal through “Express Deals”. Yes we saved some money on room but we spend it on valley parking… Hotel is conveniently located just block away from Union Square but we missed it twice bc there was no sign on the bldg. The reception area was nice and hip but to dark. We got junior suite on 4th floor. I’m just to noise so it did not bother me. Room, even though spacious did not feel “worm” or “welcoming”. Bathroom was small and it needed to be upgraded. Plus for nice soaps, shampoo and towels. Staff was friendly and helpful. One thing that surprised me was when we were coming back in the evening there was security guy standing by elevators asking us for room key… Over all it’s nice place. Would I stay there again? Maybe for one or two nights but not for a whole week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justnka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding our hotel. Our hotel design is very unique in regards to our decor in our lobby and rooms. This may result in some rooms having more space than others and some rooms will have smaller bathrooms. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. We take all of our guest feedback seriously. We do look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at The Clift for 3 nights and I could not have been happier using this hotel as my base in SF. The location is amazing, about 300 yards walk to Union Square (where all the high end shops are) and so many great local restaurants. The decor at The Clift is wonderful, lots of dark wood and high ceilings. The one thing I love about Morgans Group Hotels is that they use modern furnishings in old buildings, in my mind an interesting an alternative combination. Our room was fantastic and spacious with a seperate dressing area and lounge.The winner at this hotel was the Redwood Room Bar and The Velvet Room Restaurant, both offered real knock out food (try the wagyu tartare) and cocktails, there signature martini could strip paint (just the way I like it). A special thanks to Ken and his team for arranging my reservation and all the staff at the bar, restaurant and particularly the concierge deserve a special mention. I have never known a concierge to listen as well as the ones at The Clift, their recommendations were so spot on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happynomad81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
582 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
3,229 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#51 of 229 in San Francisco
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,965 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
Hotel Zeppelin San Francisco
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
459 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing