We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #72 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Unbeatable”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We'd had drinks with friends before in this joint's exquisite bar, but had never stayed here until this past Sunday night. Following a destination wedding weekend that had us in the beautiful wine-and-redwoods milieu of Mendocino County, the quirkily luxurious Clift was exactly the counterpoint we needed. Everyone, and I do mean everyone we encountered on staff seemed utterly delighted that we'd chosen to stay here. Checkin was effortless. Our corner room with city views in two directions could not have been better. We loved the minimalist-yet-luxe decor, the subtle colors, the whimsy. The bed was heavenly. The water pressure in the shower, even more heavenly. Put all this in a location only steps from the pleasures of Union Square and Nob Hill, and you have a place that beckons return. Oh, and the complimentary morning coffee equals bliss in a paper cup!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with city views. Rooms with courtyard views would be kind of dreary, I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time your in San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    1,234
    525
    240
    150
See reviews for
352
1,202
207
937
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had one great night at this hotel in SF. Had a Jr suite and it was awesome. Spacious, great lay out, comfortable bed, sitting room, desk, great lighting. Really enjoyed my stay. It was a little noisy outside being that I was only on the 4th floor but you're in SF and there is a club downstairs so it kind of makes sense.

Room Tip: Try not to stay on Geary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kg1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our hotel. Were extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, lovely staff. The hotel is very well situated. The room service is very well priced with American size portions so don't over order! My only criticism is it is like a coffin! Very dark, which is a shame as it is lovely inside. Many Europeans we spoke to said the same. You don't want to sit in the lobby without a torch!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawnyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in regards to our hotel. Our hotel design and decor is very unique. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Clift at the beginning of a driving tour of CA. They were so welcoming, the hotel had a lovely vibe, peaceful and calm in the day, and at night the Bar area was the place to be. A few minutes walk to Union Square to sit and have coffee and watch the world go by, situated in a classy street full of beautiful independent art galleries....A few minutes walk from the Open Top Bus pick up. The bedroom we had on the 16th floor was outstanding - stunning views of SF skyline, comfortable, quiet, every mod con you could wish for. All in all a perfect stay and will certainly be back. Oh, and the breakfast in the Velvet room was wonderful - all fresh, organic foods, and again peaceful and polite service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, so it is quiet, and upgrade to Executive room as they are much larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33marilyn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful response. We are extremely excited that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We randomly got this hotel on a hotwire deal. Overall I am happy with it. The location is very good. We originally rented a car at the airport for part of our trip up north, but returned it downtown prior to seeing the city since we didn't want a car in SF. The car return was basically one block from this place- so it was very convienient to return the car and walk to the hotel. You are in downtown here, so if you are shopping you couldn't ask for a better location. Also this hotel is very near to theaters, so if you are seeing a show and need a place to stay, this would be a good pick. Easy walk to China Town from this hotel as well. Other areas can be easily accessed by the good bus/train/streetcar/ BART system in the city. I always felt very safe in this location. Staff at the hotel was very helpful. Check in was easy. Our room was nice, the bed was very large, which was great. Bathroom- this is my one problem. you can see mold/mildew on some of the tiles/ walls. It could be cleaned with a little elbow grease. However, for the price of this hotel, you should be seeing no mold/mildew at all. Also the shower did not drain well. I was in standing water for the duration of my first shower. When told, staff did send someone to fix it. However, I had the same problem the next day. I forgot to mention it to staff this time. On the third day the shower seemed to be working better at draining- so I'm not sure what happened between day 2 and 3. Besides that, I am happy with this hotel and I feel comfortable recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The place is very funky and has a cool vibe. The staff seemed eager to help and were friendly. On the small negative our room was a little tired, and one more thing that could have improved our experience would have been a wine list for room service, so we didn't have to to bar and buy on to bring up. The location is great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
It is our goal to set and maintain a specific atmosphere for our guests during the duration of their stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and were able to fully appreciate the "cool vibe" we hope to exude in our decor throughout the hotel. The design of the room is intended to emphasize the historic aspects of our property along with pull together many notable features of San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The other reviews are pretty much spot on. The hotel is conveniently located, trendy, has very modern appointments. I honestly did not perceive the bathrooms as small though. Our first room actually flooded due to a problem with the walk-in shower. Sleep in our second room on the 7 th floor was not as easy due to street noise. The staff however were the mist noticeable part of our visit. From being greeted at the front door, to the courteous desk staff, and particularly the very impressive concierge staff - this team has guest services well honed. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jmichealr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at Clift. Despite the unforeseen flooding and San Francisco street noise, we as a staff are so pleased to hear the positive effect we were able to have on your stay. It is our pleasure to provide an exceptional lodging experience and look forward to seeing you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#91 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,108 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,483 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Property: Clift Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing