We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artsy Fartsy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clift Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #76 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If your tastes run to the pretentious and trendy, then The Clift is for you. From the moment you step into the dark, theatrically lit lobby you know you are in for an adventure. We discovered The Clift when we were forced to make a hurried decision to book a room for two nights when our first choice hotel could only accommodate us for three consecutive nights out of our needed five in the downtown area. I tend towards a traditional setting and The Clift is definitely not that.
Firs the cons
- awkward tall, heavy doors with spear-like handles at the hotel's entrance. Sometimes there are a few young doormen dressed in black to assist, other times not.
-An incredibly dark lobby with weird furniture.
-Incredibly dark elevators with sparkly lights
-Etched glass chairs in public spaces in hallways.
-Awkward wheelbarrow chair in guest room.
-An odd "cube" for a clock/radio that we never could get to work.
-No refrigerator unless you request a minibar key
- No ice bucket or ice machines for guest use
-No top sheet. Your choices are complete coverage with the duvet or nothing

A list of pros:
-comfortable bed
-wide hallways
-guest rooms use mirrored walls to increase amount of light
-lovely drapery in rooms
-luxurious bath towels

There is no doubt that The Clift is aimed towards a specific market that I am not a member of. As I initially stated, if pretension and forced artsiness is for you, then you will be satisfied with The Clift.
-

Room Tip: Only consider The Clift if you are an "artsy-fartsy" person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 54Nancy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,863 - 1,869 of 3,685 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hotel. From entering, to check in, to asking for directions, the staff was super. The bar scene is really nice. Great for solo drinks or bachelor/bachelorette party get togethers.

The housekeeping staff was super respectful of my privacy and requests.

I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us here at Clift. From our bar atmosphere to our customer service, it is our goal to provide the most enjoyable stay possible. Glad to know your trip went well, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent a week at the Clift last Oct while on a business trip and I have to say, it's way above par, very stylish and maybe a little bit posh. Oh, and it has what could be SF's collest bar.

Location also convenient

Room Tip: Lower floors tend to be noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tsmanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with amazing customer service while providing a unique and stylish atmosphere that promotes both excitement and comfort. Our bar is definitely a highlight of the San Francisco night life and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience there. We look forward to welcoming you back to Clift!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a nice room on an upper floor to avoid the "noise" mentioned in other reviews. The room was nice, but we were by the service elevator which was not quiet. The front desk however upgraded us for our second night to a beautiful suite- swanky

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mike1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for such a positive review! Glad to know we were able to accommodate all you were looking for. It is important to us that each guest has as pleasant a stay as possible and we will do all in our power to strive for that every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Reception is very nice and modern, rooms are clean and relatively large. Location was good as could easily walk to the square. A lot of homeless but that's unavoidable it appears! The bar we did not get in as they wanted a ridiculous amount of money for a bottle which you apparently need to buy to get a table/seat! Service was friendly and highly recommend using the car service if you need to get anywhere as this was cheap!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Archer405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Beautifully installed a few steps from Union Square, the Clift is the gateway go wonderful shopping, china town and a lot of eateries and restaurant.
In the lobby do not forget the picture in the giant armchair! You will feel like Alice in wonderland.
The staff is young and relaxed yet efficient and kind. Could be slightly warmer.
I chose a room deluxe with a super wide Kingsize bed! And the room was vast, set with elegant furniture.

A few details are still to fix :
When you book check the view: My room had 2 orientations one on a parking lot, one on a work in progress balcony...
I was woken up at 6:30am by mistake. Might be good to check the night before if you want a wake up call or not.
Along with the category ***** could come a kettle and free wifi.

For one night in SF, it was ok.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Front Office Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your experience with us at Clift. Of the many attractions we have so close to the hotel, nothing quite compares to taking a picture in our lobby's famous massive armchair.

An unwarranted wake-up call is not acceptable. We apologize for the inconvenience and want you to know these mistakes almost never happen. We hope to see you back with us again soon, glad to know you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was in a trip in the us and in sf we chose clift hotel, as an overall it was good,
The room furniture was very good 4/5 but u can hear every thing happen in the room beside your room and we heared every time the elevator moving so it was a very noisy room for us, there was securities in the floor and also in the reception which i feel realy safe in this hotel , i don't know if the other hotel in sf has it but i think it is a good point for clift, the staff was helpful and friendly..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuwaiteiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Manager, Manager at Clift Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and the kind words you had for our staff. We pride ourselves on offering the very best in customer service and I am happy to see that in that aspect of your stay, we succeeded. I am sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with noise. We have many options for our guests when it comes to room location and preferences and will always do what we can to ensure your comfort when we are informed of any kind of issue. We have wonderful rooms with views of the lively San Francisco streets as well as cozy courtyard views for those looking for something more on the quiet side. Again, thank you for your feedback and just know that when you stay at Clift, there are many options for varying guest requests and experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
698 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 231 in San Francisco
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 231 in San Francisco
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clift Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clift Hotel San Francisco

Address: 495 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1222
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £158 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clift Hotel San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired fusion of old-world hotel elegance with distinctly contemporary energy and glamour, the nearly century-old CLIFT’s modern and daring sense of diversity perfectly captures the city’s spirit. Steps from Union Square shopping and the legendary Nob Hill, CLIFT is perfectly located for sightseeing, shopping and socializing. Designed by Philippe Starck, the soaring lobby contains one of the most eclectic furniture collections in all of California ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clift Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clift San Francisco
San Francisco Clift Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing