We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly thumbs down”
Review of Hotel Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boheme
Ranked #115 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mostly thumbs down”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Although the hotel room was nice and clean, its location in North Beach caused us many problems. We arrived on the day of a huge street festival, which closed the street in front of the hotel. That was bad enough, but we couldn't find any parking -- all the parking garages were FULL -- and not even a place to stop and figure out what to do next. The hotel clerk was less than accommodating, telling my wife and I, who had been traveling since early morning, to do some sight-seeing. All we wanted to do was get to the hotel. I finally parked illegally and talked to the clerk, who said her hands were tied because we booked through an online hotel service, booking.com. I called booking.com and was told there was little they could do except to ask the hotel to find other accommodations. OK, since this was the weekend of the San Francisco Marathon, Stanford's graduation and who knows how many other festivals, guess that the chances of finding a room for two nights was? We called the hotel back, where the clerk said she did try to find us a room but was unsuccessful. Because the festival was winding down in the late afternoon, I figured that the parking garages that had been closed just might have spaces. That turned out to be correct, so we checked in to find that our second-floor room overlooked the main beer garden. And there was no way to change rooms. So, as soon as we settled, I called the hotel that we had booked in Napa and asked if we could add on a second night. Thankfully, they were able to do so, so we cut our two-night stay at the Boheme to one night. The room itself was very nice ... just what you expect from a boutique hotel. The neighborhood was nice, if you got away from the festival. Very many nice Italian stores, bakeries, coffee houses, much like we have seen in Italy. Finally, when I checked out, the clerk (a new one) said, "We didn't charge you for the second night?" Are you kidding? We should have been given a discount for all the hassle and stress that we had been through, but we just wanted to get on the road. Finally, I called earlier in the week to confirm the reservation. That would have been a great time to tell us that there might be some problems getting to the hotel because of the festival, or they possibly could have emailed us. A little information would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odoyle584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    110
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
24
186
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Wonderful, wonderful. Helpful friendly staff who are knowledgeable about their neighborhood and city! Clean, quaint room, loved everything about the decor. Walking distance to almost everything we wanted to do while visiting. Bus stops on the corner if needed. Airport shuttle arranged by desk clerk. Outside noises may bother insomniacs or light sleepers but was not a problem for myself. Window overlooked Italian cafes, green trees, and usually let in cool air. Will definitely stay at Hotel Boheme on any future trips to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel is listed in guidebooks as "most romantic" and described as a quaint gem... I just don't understand the enthusiasm for this place. As everyone says, the rooms a small -- VERY small, in fact -- especially the bathrooms (you can't even turn around in the shower..). The furnishings are functional -- but are old and worn. Interior rooms are airless and dark, since they look into a tiny air shaft. Exterior rooms are so noisy you really can't sleep with the window open, which is a big problem since that side gets sun all afternoon and heats up -- and since there is no air conditioning -- just small fans. The temperature was only about 72 degrees when we were there. and the room was stifling. Overlooking all this by calling the place "European style" is just silly -- I've stayed in much nicer (and cheaper) older, small European hotels. At ~$200-215 per night, this hotel is priced at about 80-90% of what you'd pay for a hotel without any of these issues. We stayed one night and moved elsewhere. One thing the hotel does have going for it is that the staff are VERY nice and accommodating. If you have your heart set on staying in North Beach and you are not planning to be there more than a night or two -- and if the weather is cool, maybe this is an OK place -- otherwise, keep looking.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are dark and airless, street side are rooms extremely hot and noisy -- not much of a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank out8974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Wonderful service in this European-style hotel in the heart of North Beach. Prior trips to SF had stays in chain hotels in either the financial district or the wharf, and you are close to either. We shared our 16th anniversary and no regrets. Don't expect amenities you get at any hotel chain in any city anywhere. Do expect a unique experience and history behind an anchor to the art and beat era of North Beach. Canalli around the corner has the best tiramisu, ever. True, a bit noisy at night on Columbus, but that is all part of it.

Room Tip: Columbus street-side rooms overlook the music of North Beach nightlife. A couple will need the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hotel Boheme is a very nice hotel. I was a bit surprised by how small the rooms are but I'm a typical American used to large hotel rooms. I've never been to Europe but my husband says they are more European style rooms. The hotel clerk was very kind and informative. The rooms were clean and they offer a nice night cap on the house! The location is perfect. We walked to the local pubs and ate dinner at an Italian restaurant nearby. I didn't sleep very well though due to the bar across the street. I am a light sleeper and the crowds were very loud until around 2:30am.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The Hotel Boheme is a small, hidden gem located in the heart of the Italian North Beach area of San Francisco. This old hotel is located on the second and third floors above store front-shops including an Italian pastry shop. It is a walk-up (no elevator) to each floor. The rooms are small by U.S. standards but very clean and comfortable. There is some street noise in the rooms overlooking Columbus Avenue but it quiets down around 11 PM. It didn't bother us but some people might find it objectionable. The best way to describe the hotel is eclectic, which fits right in with the neighborhood. The hotel and the area has a very European feel to it with sidewalk cafes and restaurants. Location is everything with Mini bus service and taxis outside the door. The hotel does not provide parking but there is a couple car parks located within walking distance. The friendly hotel staff will provide you with directions to the parking lots. They are expensive as is everything else in San Francisco. My wife and I will stay at the Hotel Boheme the next time we former San Franciscans visit.

Room Tip: Entrance can be a little hard to find. It is a single door with a small awning. Look for Calzones Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Location near the beach was the reason that my friend recommended me this hotel, but I found it perfect in every term. It is an ideal luxury hotel, great for business as well as leisure travelers. I stayed here recently for three days on a business trip and really enjoyed a lot. Location, service and quality of accommodations all are excellent here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaroslav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#41 of 229 in San Francisco
2,139 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#87 of 229 in San Francisco
97 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#117 of 229 in San Francisco
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
1,466 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Washington Square Inn
Washington Square Inn
#18 of 72 in San Francisco
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Property: Hotel Boheme
Address: 444 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing