We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Boheme in the Heart of The Beat”
Review of Hotel Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boheme
Ranked #109 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Super convenient spot to loads of fantastic restaurants, City Lights Bookstore and Beach Blanket Babylon. Could not be in a better location for my needs. Bus line, downtown, Chinatown District. Just steps away from the best Deli's in town, at the doorstep of a lovely Italian Restaurant. The hotel feels very safe with a locked front door and someone on duty until midnight.

Room Tip: For a nice breeze and view select the street side rooms, for absolute silence, the inner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maruke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We loved this place at first sight, a tiny room but so much character. It is in the middle of the Italian area of SF with great cafes (decent coffee), & China town just a couple of blocks down the hill. The reception staff were very helpful, especially Stan, who gave advice on eating places plus public transport options. The afternoon sherry as an aperitif is a great idea & certainly helped us feel at home. A really easy place to explore this beautiful city from even if walking involves all those hills!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hotel Boheme is a great place that gives you a brilliant SF experience.

The hotel is bohemian styled throughout, we booked the bigger room which had more than enough space for two suite cases and the shopping we managed to rack up. The bathroom was compact, but the shower was great and had everything we needed. Our room was at the back so i cannot comment on the noice from the restaurants below.

The stand out points of the hotel are its styling, friendly staff and also its location. To explore San Francisco and get a real feel for the history of the city, the hotel is brilliant. I would recommend taking the walking tour that the hotel staff will print off for you.

It's a 10/15 minute walk to the piers, but along the way there are so many other sights to take in. The hotel is directly opposite some great restaurants, but also very close to other fantastic restaurants and bars as recommended by the reception staff. You barely need to leave the North Beach area if you don't want to.

The Sherry in the afternoon is a great touch and a good way to start off your evening. While you don't get all of the conveniences of the larger, less personal hotels such a breakfast, room service, elevators etc. Hotel Boheme more than makes up for this in personality and atmosphere, plus the restaurants are all around you so you don't need to walk far to get your coffee/ food fix.

I fell in love with San Francisco, helped in no small part by the hotel. Would certainly recommend to anyone wanting to get to know San Francisco and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

When we entered this hotel we were put off by the long climb up the stairs (with luggage) and the unwelcoming odour. However we ended up really enjoying our stay. There are two reasons for that-the location and the staff. North Beach is a great place to stay. There were many restaurants, Italian cafes (for those sinful cappuccino and pastry breakfasts-try Mara's across the street), delis and (Chinese) grocery stores within steps of the hotel. We never left the neighborhood for dinner and never had a disappointing meal. Public transportation is nearby and you can walk to several tourist attractions (Chinatown, Fisherman's Warf, Telegraph Hill). The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly, patient and helpful, as well as very knowledgeable.
Our room, while on the small side, was immaculately clean as was the dated but functional bathroom.
On the downside, there is no elevator and all rooms are on the second and third floors of the building and they have no one to help with your luggage. So if you're not capable of climbing 2-3 flights of stairs with your bags, this is not the place for you. The odour I mentioned could probably be eliminated with a good carpet cleaning (upstairs, including in our room there was no odour).
We read that rooms overlooking Columbus would be noisy so we requested a quiet room. It was indeed quiet, because the windows face a narrow ventilation shaft rather than the street. The only problem with that was the room tended to be a bit stuffy and warm. There was a fan in the room but finding a place to plug it in and set it up was a challenge. A ceiling fan would have made a huge difference.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants comfort (but not luxury) in a great location as long as they can haul their luggage up those stairs.

Room Tip: Our room (206) was apparently bigger than average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Although the hotel room was nice and clean, its location in North Beach caused us many problems. We arrived on the day of a huge street festival, which closed the street in front of the hotel. That was bad enough, but we couldn't find any parking -- all the parking garages were FULL -- and not even a place to stop and figure out what to do next. The hotel clerk was less than accommodating, telling my wife and I, who had been traveling since early morning, to do some sight-seeing. All we wanted to do was get to the hotel. I finally parked illegally and talked to the clerk, who said her hands were tied because we booked through an online hotel service, booking.com. I called booking.com and was told there was little they could do except to ask the hotel to find other accommodations. OK, since this was the weekend of the San Francisco Marathon, Stanford's graduation and who knows how many other festivals, guess that the chances of finding a room for two nights was? We called the hotel back, where the clerk said she did try to find us a room but was unsuccessful. Because the festival was winding down in the late afternoon, I figured that the parking garages that had been closed just might have spaces. That turned out to be correct, so we checked in to find that our second-floor room overlooked the main beer garden. And there was no way to change rooms. So, as soon as we settled, I called the hotel that we had booked in Napa and asked if we could add on a second night. Thankfully, they were able to do so, so we cut our two-night stay at the Boheme to one night. The room itself was very nice ... just what you expect from a boutique hotel. The neighborhood was nice, if you got away from the festival. Very many nice Italian stores, bakeries, coffee houses, much like we have seen in Italy. Finally, when I checked out, the clerk (a new one) said, "We didn't charge you for the second night?" Are you kidding? We should have been given a discount for all the hassle and stress that we had been through, but we just wanted to get on the road. Finally, I called earlier in the week to confirm the reservation. That would have been a great time to tell us that there might be some problems getting to the hotel because of the festival, or they possibly could have emailed us. A little information would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank odoyle584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Wonderful, wonderful. Helpful friendly staff who are knowledgeable about their neighborhood and city! Clean, quaint room, loved everything about the decor. Walking distance to almost everything we wanted to do while visiting. Bus stops on the corner if needed. Airport shuttle arranged by desk clerk. Outside noises may bother insomniacs or light sleepers but was not a problem for myself. Window overlooked Italian cafes, green trees, and usually let in cool air. Will definitely stay at Hotel Boheme on any future trips to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel is listed in guidebooks as "most romantic" and described as a quaint gem... I just don't understand the enthusiasm for this place. As everyone says, the rooms a small -- VERY small, in fact -- especially the bathrooms (you can't even turn around in the shower..). The furnishings are functional -- but are old and worn. Interior rooms are airless and dark, since they look into a tiny air shaft. Exterior rooms are so noisy you really can't sleep with the window open, which is a big problem since that side gets sun all afternoon and heats up -- and since there is no air conditioning -- just small fans. The temperature was only about 72 degrees when we were there. and the room was stifling. Overlooking all this by calling the place "European style" is just silly -- I've stayed in much nicer (and cheaper) older, small European hotels. At ~$200-215 per night, this hotel is priced at about 80-90% of what you'd pay for a hotel without any of these issues. We stayed one night and moved elsewhere. One thing the hotel does have going for it is that the staff are VERY nice and accommodating. If you have your heart set on staying in North Beach and you are not planning to be there more than a night or two -- and if the weather is cool, maybe this is an OK place -- otherwise, keep looking.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are dark and airless, street side are rooms extremely hot and noisy -- not much of a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank out8974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
372 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#83 of 230 in San Francisco
661 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,537 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
370 reviews
Hotel Vertigo
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Address: 444 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £167 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing