We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem in North Beach.”
Review of Hotel Boheme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boheme
Ranked #114 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Historic Gem in North Beach.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a really nice little historic hotel in the heart of North Beach which we found to be in a perfect location of exploring the city. There are quite a few very nice restaurants in the area so it is perfect for dining as well. The hotel promotes the Beat Culture and each room is painted in a theme from that era. We were greeting in a very friendly fashion by the staff, Robert Fox was very friendly and ready to give us any advice that we needed. Our room was on the third floor and it overlooked an Italian restaurant down below and there was a view of Coit Tower right up above the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the place had nice furniture inside. It's a bit small but very cozy and nice for a historic hotel. We would go back if we decided to stay in the area again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the East side away from Columbus Street and this was good because people like to par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rancher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    110
    38
    15
    4
See reviews for
24
186
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you like Hiltons etc, don't stay here.
If you like charm, feeling part of a fascinating neighbourhood, a genuine vintage hotel, and warm and informative staff, you will love the Boheme.
Surrounded by cafés and restaurants right in the middle of North Beach and all the Beat Poet history, just along from Chinatown, a short walk to Fisherman's walk.
Robert and Charles wonderfully informative about San Francisco, North Beach, and the Beat Poet history of the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippo778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Right in the heart of North beach this quirky hotel was excellent for service and convenience. Although no lift or AC this did not present problems and the room and shower were clean and worked well. A great place to start your exploration of a great city!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The front desk staff was charming and authentic! The hotel has a funky vibe and interesting history. Room was clean and comfy, however the rest of the hotel could use an update (carpet, etc.). Location is between China Town and North Beach. Easy walk to waterfront and loads of restaurants in area. Parking garage is located down the street. One thing to note - hotel is up series of steps - hard to manage with heavy, large luggage. Better suited for overnight bags and/or small carry on. If you like history and central location, good choice. If you like upscale and/or luxury, bypass this property.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gndchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great little place. I am very picky on cleanliness, and this hotel met my expectations. The bed was comfortable, and at no time was the room too hot. We were on the columbus side and the noise wasnt all that bad. Great location and great food all around. Everyone there is extremely helpful and friendly. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a great experience at Hotel Boheme. Our flight into San Francisco was an early one, so although we were only hoping to leave our bags there until check-in time, the concierge said our room could be ready by 10:30am! Very convenient for us. He also recommended a good restaurant so we could have breakfast at while we waited for our room. Our room ended up being right by the staircase, but it was surprisingly quiet and we didn't hear any other guests going up and down. We got the room that has a little extra space for a table/chairs and it was perfect for the two of us.

Our room was clean and I loved the fun retro yellow/black bathroom tiles. Overall, we loved the decor and vibe of the hotel. We would stay here again and definitely recommend it to others.

The location was great too. We walked all around North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf from out hotel. Lots of food and bar options, a few which seem less touristy than most. We ended one night at Vesuvio bar just down the street. And my husband was easily able to walk to a car rental place one morning to pick up our car for the next leg of our vacation in CA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_atx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived at Hotel Boheme for night 2 of our 13 night road trip from San Francisco down to San Diego. It has a good feel about it, and we had a lovely room on the front overlooking Columbus Avenue, where all the action is. You are in the heart of North Beach, known as Little Italy. It is a superb area to stay, so many excellent individually owned restaurants, cafes, delis, etc. all on your doorstep, yet you are only about 10-15 minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf. You definitely do not need to go far from the hotel for a meal at night, across or down the road ! Some people comment on the noise at the front of the hotel but we found no problem, the room was so comfortable, and heavy drapes and curtains kept it dark. A lovely hotel, we would return again any time. A very individual hotel.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on the front, noise wasn't too much of a problem, heavy curtains and drapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekislandlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 229 in San Francisco
2,127 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#93 of 229 in San Francisco
91 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#118 of 229 in San Francisco
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
1,015 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Washington Square Inn
Washington Square Inn
#17 of 72 in San Francisco
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boheme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boheme

Property: Hotel Boheme
Address: 444 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133-3902
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boheme 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Boheme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boheme Hotel San Francisco
Boheme San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing