We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As comfortable as home.”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Yellow room in which I stayed had its own private bathroom complete with shower. Jan pronounced (yawn) was the most invitingly friendly host. He cooked breakfast each morning personally and has a talent for making wonderful delights.

The location is up a slight hill half a block north of market street but that's a small price to pay for quiet, clean, safe, private accommodations. I would gladly stay at here whenever I can during future trips to SF. What a delight.

Room Tip: The yellow room is the intermediate value room for this property. It is more than most travelers wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick_W001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn on Castro. Comfortable room, great location for what we wanted to do, excellent host, and fantabulous breakfast. There are also a lot of great restaurants nearby. The only negatives I will mention is that parking is tough and on Friday night the entire city of San Francisco was on the street below our window. Can you say NOISY?? They have free earplugs but sadly, we didn't see them until the next day. All in all it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Sharing a bathroom is not my thing. The White Room has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handtalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

It was our second time in SF, and our first at the Inn on Castro. What a treat! Perfect location, nice room, super breakfast, fresh tulips (even in our bathroom) and a good conversation, with Jan and many of the other guests. Never imposing though, it was all so pleasant and relaxt. This is a place we will definitely come back to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My partner and I returned for our 1-year anniversary, after meeting in the Castro (I was staying at the Inn on Castro). So we returned for our anniversary and the place remains as fantastic a place as the first time. Jan is a wonderful host and is very insightful - stay here and you'll find out why. Jan likes to mingle with the guests and ensure that they have a pleasant stay. At breakfast, I found the food to be tasty and cooked fresh, to order. I highly recommend the French Toast! It's also an ideal time to meet other guests in an open and relaxed atmosphere. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very clean, tastefully furnished place with great attention to fetail. When I saw the fresh flowers in our room I knew we made the right choice. location is perfect, breakfast was wonderful. Jan does a great job in his B&B

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanowitsch212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Fabulous location, Fabulous host, and Fabulous breakfast.

Room Tip: the Red Room is quiet and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabulousFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've stayed at the Inn on Castro a number of times and also in one of the apartments. Either way these properties are a wonderful choice if you want to be in a good location with great amenities. Breakfast at the Inn is reliably delicious and special and accompanied by good conversation, if you desire it. Jan de Gier will answer any questions and provide you with excellent advice about the neighborhood and beyond. If you want to feel like a part of the city rather than a tourist, this is one of your best choices. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,540 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
445 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £97 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing