We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, highly recommended”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Jan was extremely helpful with getting us familiar with the area, along with a bit of history facts. His breakfasts were amazing and the place was clean, centrally located near public transit and for driving into and out of the waterfront area. We really enjoyed our stay, the other guests were friendly and a pleasure to get to know. Coffee was tasty!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripJunkie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Left it too late to book into Inn on Castro but settled for the well appointed 2-bed apartment on Douglass St - just a short walk from Castro, via 16th street.

Lovely quiet street full of 'typical' San Francisco style clapper board houses.

The light and airy, self contained, ground floor (or 1st as they call it) apartment was brilliant - 2 large bedrooms, sitting room, bathroom and toilet plus 2nd wc. Huge, fully fitted kitchen/diner with full size hob and oven, washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher etc). Access to terrace and garden. Wi-fi throughout.

Local shops on 16th St - especially Molllie Stones' upmarket grocery store and deli and also Ferrari deli on Castro - first class.

Location is handy for gay bars and restaurants on Castro and public transport. Streetcar from junction of Market and Castro to waterfront (along with Metro services).

Did not meet owner Jan but collected keys from Sam at the Inn who was extremely helpful especially with my partner's medical emergency.

We were here for 5 days and returning to the tranquility of the apartment was just what we needed. Will definitely recommend and visit again - I'm sure.

Stephen and Paul

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We rented an apartment there in 2008 and we absolutely loved it!!!! it was situated in Caselli Av., so close (less than 10 minutes walking) to the center of Castro, THE place to be. There's a supermarket open 24/7 on the way back from the bars and pubs.
The apartment was typical SF style with 2 bedrooms, kitchen, balcony, it was very clean, everything we needed.
It was a little more expensive than renting a room, but it so worth it. It was like we actually lived in Castro.
Next time I'll go to SF (which should be pretty soon), I'm gonna go there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

In my 8 years of visiting the Castro area this was the 1st time I stayed at the Inn on Castro. It was a home from home, unlike any impersonal hotel it was comfortable, authentic and welcoming. The sumptuous breakfast is truly something to experience with as much homemade apricot bread you can eat, and that's just to start! I stayed in the exclusive and private 'Patio Suite' which was ideal for a longer stay, plenty of room and my own private amenities, including a fully stocked and replenished fridge of soft drinks, TV, and DVD player. The Inn's location is fantastic for easy access to the Castro area and perfect for the rest of the city with the metro across the street and the magical SF Trolley bus which runs the length of Market Street to Embacadero and Fisherman's Wharf. I will definitely be returning to the Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I had a great stay at Inn on Castro. Jan and his team are very welcoming, and run a really great B&B. Rooms are very comfortable, I initially had a double room with shared bathroom, and then moved to a double with en suite bathroom. All rooms seemed very comfortable, identified by their color scheme, the rooms in the rear have views over a rather nice deck (which seemed unused) and the city. Breakfasts were fabulous, each morning there was a choice of 2 different cooked breakfasts plus freshly made fruit salads. The real plus about this B&B is the location, 2 minutes walk from the Castro and the Muni station (great for getting downtown). I would definitely strongly recommend this guest house if you want a location near Castro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyGuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very comfortable guest house right in the heart of the Castro area. Easy transport links to Downtown with Muni metro and trolley buses. Breakfast was very sociable and was good to meet other visitors to the city. Mixture of couples and singles. Choice of food at brekkie was good, tasty and filling - a great start to the day. A good choice for anyone who want to stay in the Castro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had a great stay at the Inn on Castro. Easy access and close to lots of things. Room was great and breakfast was the best... Thanks Jan for the hospitality.
I will say having a vehicle is a bit of a hassle with parking on the street so if you can go with public transportation, that's the best.
Tom and Sharon

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which probably helps with any street noise. Very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,359 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £102 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing