We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, nice rooms, good breakfast”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very comfortable, well run B+B. My husband and I stayed with the hosts Jan and Sam during Thanksgiving for 4 nights. The Inn is well located in the Castro, and right on the F line trolley for easy access into the rest of the city. The breakfasts are great with fruit, cereal, home-made bread, and a choice of scrambled eggs or french toast (varies by day). Rooms are clean, complete with a small fridge with complimentary water and soft drinks which are replenished on a daily basis. Nice chocolates are also available in the corridor to grab as you're on your way back to your room. Bathrooms are a little small, and for about $200 a night it would have been nice to have a bathtub, especially after long walks in the city. We stayed in the white room at the back of the B+B next to the kitchen which was light and had good views. The only slight downside is the noise - I am a light sleeper and every night there was a lot of noise from neighbouring parties / bar / street in general, and you can also hear the trolley when its starts running in the morning. Free ear plugs are provided (in the bowl next to the chocolates) and they certainly helped to provide a better nights sleep. Having said that, my husband was not disturbed by the street noise. Recommended.


Some tips:
Look out for the Creme Brulee food van across the street - great dessert in the evenings for $5!

Parking - there is no designated parking for the B+B - there is a car park /structure a few blocks up the road that charges about $20 a day - or you can park on the streets outside - watch out for the street cleaning times and with careful planning you can park for free depending on which side of the street you can on (different on different days of the week), or temporarily on one of the resident side streets :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elusivechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great location on Castro street close to Market and the Muni. Jan is a wonderful host with many stories about SF and the Castro neighborhood and makes nice breakfasts which are a great time to meet other guests. Stayed in a basement room with low ceilings but nicely furnished. A little pricey at over $200/night with tax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdesaidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Inn on Castro is a nice place to stay whilst visiting San Fran. We loved the area. Stayed in the Red Room. Not a huge amount of space but this is an old house so did not expect it to be roomy. Sheets were very nice quality. Decor and atmosphere very calming. Breakfasts were really delicious - home made vegetable frittata especially so. A lovely selection of fresh fruits and healthy cereals. The home -made breads were delicious, particularly the zucchini bread. Staff were very hospitable and friendly and we also engaged with other guests at the large, shared breakfast table. A small point - there were no hooks or shelves in the bathroom which made storage awkward. Also it would have been nice if the lounge area had been open til late/earlier in the morning.

Room Tip: Red Room has a small ante-room which was useful for our suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Spent 4 days in 12/13 at the Inn on Castro in the White Room. Room was basic with what I would call "dated modern" furnishings, king size bed, small fridge, small TV. Bath is painted bright colors-red, blue, gold. Nice big shower but no tub. Nice sheets and towels. The view of Castro and the hills above is great. We did hear some street noise but the location is very convenient, just half-block from the corner of Market and Castro with MUNI streetcar, bus and train connections at the corner. The cooked-to-order breakfasts were great, with an egg dish or pancakes, fruit salad, cereal, and home baked breads each morning. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Nice international visitors to chat with each morning.

Room Tip: White room was on back of house, next to kitchen, sunny and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAtallguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I wanted to surprise my girlfriend with a trip to San Francisco for her birthday and after doing some research I settled on Inn on Castro for our stay. We were not disappointed.

We stayed in the lovely patio suite. It was quiet and tucked away with a beautiful view of the city. Breakfast was served daily by Jan, who was a very kind and funny man...and what a cook! He offered us ideas for things to do and see during our trip.

The Inn on Castro was beautiful and elegant without being pretentious. My girlfriend and I have already agreed that it will be where we stay on our next visit. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aeryella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Being shown such amazing hospitality at Inn on Castro. Really lovely room and living area - with gourmet breakfast and wonderful hosts any time of the day.

Thank you - I'll be back next time I come to SF.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethanator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My 2nd home keeps getting better and better. Renovations to the Big Caselli apt have been going on. Love the comfort, sitting on the deck and relaxing amongst the flowers. Always new things to enjoy and keeps me coming back. The second I open that door, I know I'm home. The staff at the Inn is welcoming and delightful, centrally located. Jan is the perfect host. Sam makes a tremendous breakfast and I'm already looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank M00se1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
975 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £102 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing