We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation in a Long Time”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I can't say enough good things about our stay at Inn on Castro. We had stayed here about ten years ago and enjoyed it quite a bit and this time we stayed in one of the suite which was surprisingly roomy, The furnishings are nice without being fussy, and there was a beautiful garden area in the back of the side of the building with the suite rooms. Jan is one of the most gracious hosts I have ever met, with a lot of attention to detail, and his breakfasts were outstanding. We are definitely satisfied and repeat customers.

Room Tip: I think the main rooms are quite good but the suite this time was a nice upgrade for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Staying at The Inn On Castro was a wonderful experience. The room was immaculate, the sheets were ironed (what a treat), and breakfast was delicious. I can't say enough about my host Jan, and Carin, who greeted me when I first arrived. They were so helpful in suggesting activities and ways to get there (for the direction challenged such as me). I would definitely stay at The Inn On Castro again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glorygirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were excellently looked after by the innkeeper! Lovely breakfast options, cozy room. You can't beat the central location - close to everything. Jan had great suggestions of what to see and do. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Porter6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I spent two nights at the Inn in January 2014 - and I can't totally credit the Inn for providing 70 degree sunny days while a blizzard hit NYC, my home - but it would be completely consistent with the type of service they provided. I was there to visit my mother who is in hospice care close to the Inn, and Jan provided both great breakfasts and excellent moral support. I will definitely stay there again when in SF.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AWinBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A very comfortable, well run B+B. My husband and I stayed with the hosts Jan and Sam during Thanksgiving for 4 nights. The Inn is well located in the Castro, and right on the F line trolley for easy access into the rest of the city. The breakfasts are great with fruit, cereal, home-made bread, and a choice of scrambled eggs or french toast (varies by day). Rooms are clean, complete with a small fridge with complimentary water and soft drinks which are replenished on a daily basis. Nice chocolates are also available in the corridor to grab as you're on your way back to your room. Bathrooms are a little small, and for about $200 a night it would have been nice to have a bathtub, especially after long walks in the city. We stayed in the white room at the back of the B+B next to the kitchen which was light and had good views. The only slight downside is the noise - I am a light sleeper and every night there was a lot of noise from neighbouring parties / bar / street in general, and you can also hear the trolley when its starts running in the morning. Free ear plugs are provided (in the bowl next to the chocolates) and they certainly helped to provide a better nights sleep. Having said that, my husband was not disturbed by the street noise. Recommended.


Some tips:
Look out for the Creme Brulee food van across the street - great dessert in the evenings for $5!

Parking - there is no designated parking for the B+B - there is a car park /structure a few blocks up the road that charges about $20 a day - or you can park on the streets outside - watch out for the street cleaning times and with careful planning you can park for free depending on which side of the street you can on (different on different days of the week), or temporarily on one of the resident side streets :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elusivechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great location on Castro street close to Market and the Muni. Jan is a wonderful host with many stories about SF and the Castro neighborhood and makes nice breakfasts which are a great time to meet other guests. Stayed in a basement room with low ceilings but nicely furnished. A little pricey at over $200/night with tax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdesaidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Inn on Castro is a nice place to stay whilst visiting San Fran. We loved the area. Stayed in the Red Room. Not a huge amount of space but this is an old house so did not expect it to be roomy. Sheets were very nice quality. Decor and atmosphere very calming. Breakfasts were really delicious - home made vegetable frittata especially so. A lovely selection of fresh fruits and healthy cereals. The home -made breads were delicious, particularly the zucchini bread. Staff were very hospitable and friendly and we also engaged with other guests at the large, shared breakfast table. A small point - there were no hooks or shelves in the bathroom which made storage awkward. Also it would have been nice if the lounge area had been open til late/earlier in the morning.

Room Tip: Red Room has a small ante-room which was useful for our suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
202 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#15 of 230 in San Francisco
433 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £101 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing