We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

It was our first time in San Francisco and at a bed and breakfast. We LOVED the Inn On Castro!! Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. The Inn was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and sustaining. I would definitely recommend the Inn on Castro to friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    118
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
80
327
133
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the B&B for 5 nights. I have never stayed at a B&B before & was a little apprehensive. This place was top notch!! It was clean, beds were comfortable,decor was nice. Breakfast every morning was delicious, restaurant quality, cooked to order. Jan & his staff were so nice, professional & helped make this a great experience. Would definitely stay here again & highly recommend it for anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjv358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My boyfriend and I recently spent the weekend in San Francisco and had a great time at the Inn on Castro! We stayed in the Green Room and it was the prefect spot, a super cute room with all the amenities we needed. We could not have asked for a better location, right near all the great restaurants and different things to do as well as a subway station to go anywhere in the city. The staff were all very friendly and made an excellent breakfast in the morning. I would definitely stay here again if I go back to San Francisco!

Room Tip: We loved the green room, it was a little noisy from the street, but that did not bother us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay to visits San Francisco. We stayed in the Red room, it was lovely and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and I am sure I gained all my holiday weight here:) our host was so helpful and I formative, we have a great stay. It is close to public transport which was great and there was a laundry just down the road that was affordable and had our laundry done in a day. If you want to be closer to the big sights I would recommend down town, but if you want a home away from home this is a good place to stay. When we left we rode in style to the airport which was organised by our host and not overly expensive. Loved the furnishings as well.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great, quiet location. Easy walk to Castro and to public transportation. Great huge apartment and friendly staff from the Inn. We will definitely try to stay there again on our next trip. Great neighborhood and very easy staff. They left keys for us because we came in late. I was apprehensive at first but I am so glad that we stayed there. A great place to feel like you are part of the city.

Room Tip: It's an apartment. It is not really close to The Inn on Castro. Thought it was somehow part of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Really looked forward to staying here at "The Inn" after reading the reviews. From booking our reservation for a quick overnight stay to being guided by ever-so-helpful bright and friendly Sam we were extremely satisfied and pleased with the welcome and hospitality we received. Loved the high ceiling, sunny room we had in this beautiful Victorian B&B. Breakfast menu was awesome: food delicious. We especially enjoyed Jan's gentlemanly humor, visiting with the other guests and sitting out on the patio. We will return!

Room Tip: You may want to request a room with an outside deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxtheCat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want to stay in a cozy, warm and friendly B&B this place is for you. Wonderful customer service and very comfortable rooms. You do need to be able to climb a few stairs. Yummy breakfast plus the Castro Inn is located in a great central location. I will indeed be returning!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 229 in San Francisco
1,463 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 229 in San Francisco
474 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#2 of 72 in San Francisco
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Property: Inn on Castro
Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing