We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #81 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Older hotel with character”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Lovely older hotel in a good location in union square. Free coffee and juice in the mornings was a nice touch. Comfortable clean rooms - would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I'm ever lucky enough to return to San Francisco.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theplympopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear theplympopes,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am happy that you enjoyed a cup of coffee and orange juice. I hope that you also enjoyed a glass of sherry in the evening reception.

We truly appreciate you choose us as your home away from home.

We hope you’ll come back to Kensington Park in the near future.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    503
    130
    47
    30
See reviews for
217
488
63
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon after a crazy week in Vegas for 4 nights!
The location is only a 2 minute walk to union square for amazing shopping!!!
Also only a little walk to the trams which will take you all around the city, we also did a bus tour which stopped across the road from our hotel, the ticket you have will last 24hours so we actually used it over two days to do all the sightseeing the city has!

We would recommend booking your Alcatraz tickets before you leave as everyday is full up, we also booked baseball tickets to watch the Giants play which was just amazing and only a 15minute walk from the hotel!
The hotel itself is clean and the staff are friendly the atmosphere is laid back and it felt like staying at a London hotel with the decor, the only downside was the scaffolding outside but it's nothing to moan about.

Fresh tea and coffee is out in the afternoon along with water which is infused with fruit which was lovely.
Also room was neat and clean, and the bed very comfy.
The hotel is next to an amazing little bar which serves food too, we went in for happy hour, the cocktails maybe small but they hit the nail on the head and we left tipsy after 3 drinks each!!!

Amazing stay and we would defo come back again!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear Cathleen H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I personally want to thank you for choosing us to celebrate your honeymoon.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the location. I can certainly agree that our location is in a very convenient location. Our hotel is proud of its service, cleanliness and quality of its product.

I would like to inform you that since then the scaffolding have been taking down.

Thank you for providing everyone with information of San Francisco.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I couldn't fault this hotel. The decor is beautiful. Room was big, shower was fantastic. Staff were friendly and we loved the complimentary sherry that was served each afternoon! Close to all the great shops and great bars and restaurants nearby too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanburger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Dear hanburger999,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We greatly appreciate your kind words and review. It is our wish to provide you with the best service possible.
I am thrilled to hear your stay was enjoyable and friendly. I am glad you join us for a glass of sherry and you loved it.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My sister & I stayed over at the Kensington Park last weekend and were very pleased with the hotel. The check-in was easy and the staff is friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and confortable. There was no microwave or refrigerator in the room, but there were plenty of places to get morning coffee in the neighborhood. The KP is conviently located near Union Square and the high-end stores. The cable car runs on Powell St., the nearest intersection to the hotel. There is a concierge in the lobby if you want to arrange a tour or just get some local info. I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gai-jin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear gai-jin001,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We’re thrilled to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your time Kensington Park.

We are pleased to hear that the service was friendly; the room was clean and comfortable.
We strive to provide our guests with historic beauty and modern conveniences.

Thank you for providing so many details and insights for future visitors.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nice. The location is great, next to Union Square and ,even better for us, on the sight seeing bus tour route which we used to get around. The reception staff were very helpful. The room was clean and a good size. We parked our car here which at $50 a day was expensive but I believe that's par for the course in San Fran. It was our first visit to San Francisco and we'd looked at staying at Fisherman's Wharf. Having now visited both places I'm pleased we stayed near Union Square instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear lisa1403,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff was friendly.
I am pleased that you thought our location is convenient.

Hotel valet parking is $40.00 plus 14% tax for standard vehicles and $45.00 plus 14% tax for over size vehicles per night, but you are absolutely correct is part of San Francisco.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after landing from the uk.

We were greeting by a nice bloke working on reception , who sorted everything for us very promptly and without hassle. The room was very nice and also perfectly clean.

The hotel is in a great location and a block or 2 from the hire car places.

Not a bad word to say

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realmarkwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Realmarkwalker,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great Location

We stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for three nights at the start of our multi centre holiday, the location of this hotel was perfect for us, time square and the Cable Cars where literally one minute walk away, check in was very quick and the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, glad to give us a map and directions to all the attractions we wanted to see.

We requested a room with a nice view which we definitely got, the room was clean, a good size with a very comfortable beds. The whole hotel was very quiet, we didn't hear any noise even though our room was located near the lifts. There is complimentary WiFi which was good and easy to connect to. The hotel offers complimentary tea, coffee and juice in the morning which was a nice little touch, they also offer refreshments in the evening.

We spent very little time in the hotel as there is so much to see and do in San Francisco but if we ever return we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#53 of 228 in San Francisco
1,606 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#31 of 228 in San Francisco
558 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
939 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#78 of 228 in San Francisco
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing