We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location for accessing all parts of city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #78 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great location for accessing all parts of city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Seconds away from Union Square and access to public transport, cabs, shopping. Walking in this area and down toward shops, bars, restaurants is comfortable. Roads start to incline one block behind hotel for accessing Chinatown and toward fisherman's wharf.
Eating out is expensive so watch out for happy hour discounts on food and drink ranging early as 3 pm to 7pm at most restaurants. Not much middle ground it appears either subway/burger king or restaurant prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravelSE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    494
    123
    46
    27
See reviews for
211
476
61
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel, adjacent to Union Square in downtown San Francisco, is perfect for shopping, dining, and theatre going. It is an older property, but flawlessly maintained (some cretin had scrawled graffiti on the ceiling of an elevator sometime Saturday night and it was being painted over early Sunday morning. I was impressed). The staff are marvelous - unfailingly courteous and helpful, and all seemed proud to be part of this hotel.

Our room was quite small, but immaculate, and nicely appointed. Do be aware that two queen beds were actually doubles, at least in our room, but they were very comfortable. The room was slightly stuffy on arrival, but opening the window and turning on the ceiling fan kept it comfortable.

The room size was the only negative, but unless you plan to spend considerable time in the room, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

we stayed 3 nights and our email request for a quiet room was applied, on the 9th floor in a tiny 2-door hallway, away from the main corridor - we were street side and there was a little noise, but nothing too bad ..

the 2 double beds were comfy, the mattresses slightly on the softer side, which i prefer, the room and bathroom were clean .. exactly what i look for in a hotel .. there is no window view in particular, but i don't stay in my room looking out of the window .. it's located in a beautiful art deco building and the lift alone is worth the visit !

complimentary coffee and juice in the morning (no breakfast) and tea and sherry in the afternoon is available .. i booked via booking.com and contrary to other hotels i have stayed at, the fact i booked through a third party engine didn't appear to give me a lesser service .. :)

the staff at the reception were really very friendly and helpful and are the heart and soul of this hotel .. the location is perfect, within walking distance from the powell BART station (one way $8.80 p.p. which i found quite expensive) that goes straight to sfo airport, although the concierge proposed and we accepted the shared shuttle van for 16$ p.p. for our return journey, the hotel is right by union square and powell street, and between u and me the best sushi place in town is a 5 min walk away - sanraku on sutter street - best tamago i have ever eaten .. but now i am sidetracking !

the only (minor) cons are :

- small room on the dark side, so small that we could only put our 2nd suitcase in front of the little fridge cupboard, which condemned its access (too much furniture in the room)
- the lack of electric sockets (only one on the bedside lamp)

sfo hotels are expensive, but if the price is right i would definitely stay here again ..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggof61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock
Level Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Old world hotel, in the heart of union square. Comfortable room!! Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. the suite is beautiful. We stay here almost every time we come shopping and if it's winter make sure you walk over to the ice rink and skate, it's really beautiful at Christmas time

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to the Suite, you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

A quaint boutique hotel in one of the best locations for any visitors to San Fran! A stones throw from Union Sq! The view from our room was dismal & the room fairly small - apart from that, it was excellent. I will stay again when visiting San Fran

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stay In this hotel for 2 nights as part of our west coast road trip. This hotel is wonderful, full of character and have wonderful staff to add the extra touch. The hotel is round the corner from Union Square and the cable cars which will take you to the tourist locations. The only downfall with the hotel is a lack of safe but would recommend to anyone.

To anyone going to SF, please take time to visit Alcatraz, Fishermans Wharf and the various parks - truly fantastic. However avoid Chinatown, disgusting place with utterly rude people.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stevelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Stevelor,

Thank you for taking the time to post review on TripAdvisor.

I want to thank you and your family for choosing Kensington Park to be part of your west coast road trip. I'm thrilled to hear you felt our wonderful staff added the extra touch to your enjoyable stay.

I'm sorry to learn that you were not informed that our guest safe's were located at the front desk. Please except my apologies. I hope that the inconveniences were not a deal breaker for you.

Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope you will have another opportunity to stay with us.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Centrally located near Union Square the Kensington Park Hotel was turned out to be a very good choise.
We arrived late and staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was big enough for our needs.
No breakfast provided, but plenty of diners around the corner to chose from.
Cable car to Fishermans Warf stopped 100 m from hotel door.
One other reason for us chosing this hotel was that the Avis car rental had its office 100m up the road, Very convenient when picking up our rented car.

Room Tip: Centrally located on Union Square. Cable car stop outside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjodolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing