We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #77 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend of shopping in the city. Service was great, everyone was very nice. The hotel lobby is large & inviting with several seating areas. They offer water, coffee, tea & sherry in the afteroon. They also had live soothing music (pianist & guitar player) in the early evening. Concierges, Ruben & Bob, were very helpful storing our bags & for directions.

The room itself was clean & large compared to other boutiquey hotels I've stayed in in the city. The room we got was on the 11th floor which had coffee & tea offered in the mornings.

The hotel is one block from Union Square, great for shopping & easily accessible to the Powell line cable car or the BART. Everything was great about this hotel except there is no a/c in the rooms, just a ceiling fan. You would think you wouldn't need it but it was unusually warm the weekend we were there with the city at 85 degrees, so warm even at night just a light sweater was needed. Overall a great hotel to stay at.

Would definitely stay again if in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinmom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear twinmom8,

We appreciate taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for the opportunity to share this special girl’s weekend with you and your friends. The staff at Kensington Park thrives to offer the best service we can possibly deliver to our guests and comments such as yours motivates us even more. I will pass on your nice comments to Ruben and Bob. I am sure they will appreciate the mention.

I am thrilled to hear that you felt our rooms were clean and large than other boutique hotels you stayed; I hope you will make us your home away from home when visiting San Francisco.

I am glad you enjoyed our amenities with the pianist and guitar player.

You’re absolutely right; we normally don’t have this kind of weather.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Kensington Park Hotel was our more economical alternative to a conference hotel in Union Square. Our room was small but, as it was on a high floor, quiet enough for sleep and uninterrupted work in the evenings. Tea and sherry are available in the lobby in the early evening, a nice touch. Garage parking nearby was expensive and a bit of a walk, but there is no getting around this if you drive into this neighborhood.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great location, few steps from the Union square and the cable cars, very nice rooms, helpful and friendly staff - couldn't ask for more. There is no breakfast but a self servies of coffe and juice is avilable which helps you kick in the morning start.

Room Tip: The high back rooms are quiet and have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Nadav S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate anytime our guests share their experience.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location to be convenient.

Our staff takes great pride in the service they provide to our guests. They will be delighted to hear they were successful in exceeding your expectations.

Thank you for providing details for our future guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is right near union square, close to the cable car on Powell street.

We upgraded the room to upper floor, and it was pretty quiet at nights,
The room was clean, spacious very comfortable.

They have a safety box only in lobby, not in the room, and it was too small for a laptop or tablet.

The staff at the reception desk was very helpful and helped us with directions & airport transfer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed for one night at this hotel. Rooms were very clean and comfortable beds. Good in room amenities too. The location is great, very centralized. The only complaint I have are the thin walls and housekeeping at 7am. Conversations in adjacent rooms and hallways can be heard ad people slamming their doors. They have valet parking for $40/night but I suppose that's normal in SF.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lugareslejanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

The Kensington Park Hotel is not the best hotel I stayed in San Francisco but it's a great place. It is very close to Union Square and all the shopping. Walking distance to Moscone Center for your conference visits.
Rooms are good & clean. The beds are comfortable, the (free) wifi was fast enough and there is a (small) desk to work. There is no mini bar and unfortunately there is no air conditioning in the rooms. There is a fan though and that worked.
The only problem was very, very bad signal on the tv. Not a big problem for me, because I was busy the whole time. But it is still an annoyance. That should just be perfect.
A special mention about the service of the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful. My compliments.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We selected Kensington Park in part because we enjoy older hotels with a story and intact aesthetics and this hotel did not disappoint. The exterior, lobby, hallways are all largely intact from the hotel's origins in the 20's. The rooms, while updated for convenience and modern expectations, were consistent in style and very comfortable which a reasonable amount of room for "urban" setting. IMO, it's worth the slight additional cost to request corner room with city view. While the hotel tops out at 12th floor, the views of neighboring buildings, including Union Square if you are on the North-East corner, are very nice (i.e. Room 78)

Note - we switched to a 6th floor room (Room 22) because my travelling partner is slightly afraid of heights. We looked at a couple before selecting. Some rooms on the lower floor that face "the back" will be the quietest location but will be facing a brick wall. We chose a room on 'the front" which means you have a view looking across the street (Post) to neighboring buildings or possibly between buildings for a view up a neighboring street. There will be the potential for more street noise (however we found the amount of noise to be very minimal so did not consider this to be an issue even though the front-desk staff kindly warned us about the possibility of garbage truck noise in the wee hours).

We found all of the KP staff to be very friendly, patient and helpful. The concierge (Ruben) was very helpful with bus tour (Big Bus Tours - double decker 2.5 hour city tour very worthwhile and convenient to hotel) and restaurant suggestions (Fino for Italian and Sears for b'fast or dinner "comfort food" both very good).

The hotels location less than 2 blocks from Cable Car (Powell line) and Union square was very convenient. While we spent most of our one day in the city along the Embarcadero and the waterfront areas, we used our tour bus on/off privs for transportation with no problem. Thanks to the Concierge, however, we had all the info we needed to have used either the Powell line cable car or the "F-line" streetcar (which goes along the waterfront by Pier 39, all along the Embarcadero, and up Market to the Castro (easily walkable - about 4 blocks) from Hotel). This makes many areas of the city accessible to this hotel's location.

The only caution with regard to location is that is you are entering San Fran from the North, you'll have to fight some traffic, one way streets, and "no left turn" signs getting through the city to the Union Square area. This was certainly manageable with a GPS-assisted phone app or a decent map and navigator "riding shotgun", just took a little time. Conversely, from the South, the point where you jump off highway 101 is much closer to the hotel (based on our experience leaving the city in our rental car for the SFO airport).

Room Tip: IMO, it's worth the slight additional cost to request corner room with city view. While the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outwest713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
742 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
5,356 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
2,659 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#66 of 230 in San Francisco
1,718 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £99 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Coffee and Tea Service with Italian Biscotti on the 9th and 11th floors. Complimentary WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary Business Self-Service Desk in the lobby with computer access and printer. Complimentary Hot Tea and water in the lobby from 730A to 6PM. Complimentary Sherry in the lobby daily 4P to 6P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing