We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
508
562
145
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
562
145
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationpost streetceiling fanaround the cornercable carthere is no air conditioningcharming hotelfront desk staffhalf blocktea and coffeevalet parkingstreet noisenob hillcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent as hub for transportation, shopping and restaurants, as well as, easy walk to attend conference at the Convention Center. The size of this hotel is small enough to have attentive, personalized service; we especially enjoyed concierge Ruben's advise and expertise for restaurants and transportation. Loved quality bedding and bathrobes, with complimentary coffee in the morning, water (with citrus fruit) throughout the day, and sherry in late afternoon. Refrigerator can be added to room upon request, although safe is not in room (at front desk instead). Recommend selecting upper level room on the backside of hotel to minimize street noise and have city light view of Nob Hill. Given that this is an old hotel, there is not central A/C, so be prepared to open windows and hear the cable car bells -- which I thoroughly enjoyed. Overall decor and cleanliness is very good, with acceptable aging in minor ways.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring San Francisco on foot. That said, the rooms are small and there is no restaurant in the hotel. Valet parking is very expensive and a 20 minute wait to retrieve your car, there are cheaper options nearby. Staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaniaF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved the archecture of this building, both interior and exterior. It looks like its caught in a time warp. The decore dates from the 20's when it was built. It looks as though it hasn't been update for decades but that doesn't matter, it adds to the charm and atmosphere of the property.
Great location, just a few steps from Union Square. No restaurant, is a bit of a nuisance but there is Cafe La Taza 2 doors up the street and they do an OK breakfast, with options that should please everybody. From those who prefer an english or continental breakfast or a horrible fat promoting American one.
The room was clean and had all the facilites required, bar AC. I wouldn't want to stay here in the middle of summer. The temperature of the room ranged from pleasant to too hot, even though the outside temperature reach a maximum of 24 degrees C during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay on the 12th floor of the Kensington Park Hotel. It was far enough from street noise near Union Square. The hotel is very convenient to shopping, dining and transportation. The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. The room was quite comfortable and the bed was soft with a feather bed mattress topper. Loved the feather pillows. The shower has good pressure and never ran out of hot water. Fruit water and sherry is served in the lobby early evening. There is no breakfast offered but coffee and juice is available on the 11th floor. The internet service in the room is very good and there is a computer room on the 5th floor. The concierge's are very helpful. This was a good choice for our recent stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgkullmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a great hotel, service is very personalized and attentive. The concierges, both Bob and Giovanni were a great help. The room itself is like many city hotel rooms - small. The bathroom had a stall shower which I normally like but no where to put your shampoo etc. And the sink was a pedestal sink which also is a problem. There simply was no where to effectively blow dry your hair or put on makeup. The shower head was awful and they did change it to a better one when I told the front desk of the problem. But honestly they were just minor inconveniences. Their service, along with the price and location make up for it. There is no air conditioning in the hotel which I was surprised at. They did have ceiling fan and with the window open (I was grateful to have an interior room) was cool enough at night, but I think I would have liked to have AC. I guess I never read about no AC on either trip advisor or the travel site I booked it with. Never thought in the USA a hotel in a major city would not. The location was very good which was just down the street from Union Square. For the money and if not traveling there in Summer time I would stay there again.

Room Tip: As long as they have no AC, make sure you get an interior facing room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CookieCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews