We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,310)
Filter reviews
1,310 results
Traveller rating
509
567
148
54
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
567
148
54
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square elks lodge complimentary sherry great location post street ceiling fan around the corner cable car there is no air conditioning charming hotel front desk staff half block tea and coffee valet parking street noise nob hill central location
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 1,310 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

On the positive side, the hotel is in a good location and the beds are comfortable. On the negative side, our room was small and not well lit. We didn't find it very inviting. Our overall assessment was that boutique hotels might have quirky style features, but we'd rather have a decent guestroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubliner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Dubliner72,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I can certainly agree that our location is very convenient. I am delighted to hear that our beds are comfortable.

However, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and wished we knew how you truly felt because we have a variety of room’s types to accommodate different preferences.

We value your business and would like the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
When the occasion arises please contact me and I will personally make your reservation.

Once again, I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of Kensington Park.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent as hub for transportation, shopping and restaurants, as well as, easy walk to attend conference at the Convention Center. The size of this hotel is small enough to have attentive, personalized service; we especially enjoyed concierge Ruben's advise and expertise for restaurants and transportation. Loved quality bedding and bathrobes, with complimentary coffee in the morning, water (with citrus fruit) throughout the day, and sherry in late afternoon. Refrigerator can be added to room upon request, although safe is not in room (at front desk instead). Recommend selecting upper level room on the backside of hotel to minimize street noise and have city light view of Nob Hill. Given that this is an old hotel, there is not central A/C, so be prepared to open windows and hear the cable car bells -- which I thoroughly enjoyed. Overall decor and cleanliness is very good, with acceptable aging in minor ways.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring San Francisco on foot. That said, the rooms are small and there is no restaurant in the hotel. Valet parking is very expensive and a 20 minute wait to retrieve your car, there are cheaper options nearby. Staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaniaF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved the archecture of this building, both interior and exterior. It looks like its caught in a time warp. The decore dates from the 20's when it was built. It looks as though it hasn't been update for decades but that doesn't matter, it adds to the charm and atmosphere of the property.
Great location, just a few steps from Union Square. No restaurant, is a bit of a nuisance but there is Cafe La Taza 2 doors up the street and they do an OK breakfast, with options that should please everybody. From those who prefer an english or continental breakfast or a horrible fat promoting American one.
The room was clean and had all the facilites required, bar AC. I wouldn't want to stay here in the middle of summer. The temperature of the room ranged from pleasant to too hot, even though the outside temperature reach a maximum of 24 degrees C during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay on the 12th floor of the Kensington Park Hotel. It was far enough from street noise near Union Square. The hotel is very convenient to shopping, dining and transportation. The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. The room was quite comfortable and the bed was soft with a feather bed mattress topper. Loved the feather pillows. The shower has good pressure and never ran out of hot water. Fruit water and sherry is served in the lobby early evening. There is no breakfast offered but coffee and juice is available on the 11th floor. The internet service in the room is very good and there is a computer room on the 5th floor. The concierge's are very helpful. This was a good choice for our recent stay in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgkullmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews