We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #82 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Location can't be beat. About 1/2 block from Union Square and a cable car line. The room was an adequate size as was the bathroom. Our room had lots of storage and a mini fridge. Love the history of the place and the lobby is gorgeous. Staff are SUPER friendly and helpful (concierge Bob rules!). I've seen some complaints of noise and no A/C on here, but you are in the heart of it all so if you don't like city noise, perhaps one shouldn't stay in a city and open the window. It's SF. The only "complaints" are a little more counter space in the loo would be nice (but no diff from what I have at home so not a big deal) and a fan in the bathroom would also be nice. (So really, I have no complaints). Stay here if you like boutique hotels.

Room Tip: We were in room 36 which was street side, but loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennD719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear jennD719,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your review providing so many details and insights. I am particularly struck by the details you provided to advice fellow travelers of tips, locations, and feedback that made your stay successful.

The staff of Kensington Park thrives to offer the best service we can possibly deliver to our guests and comments such as yours motivates us even more. I am sure the entire staff will appreciate the mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    507
    132
    48
    30
See reviews for
221
492
63
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in the Kensington Park Hotel in September for a week. The hotel is really friendly, all the staff so nice and very helpful. We stayed at the end of a 2 week trip visiting canyons, parks etc. to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday and were presented with a bottle of wine for his birthday. Lovely gesture. The hotel is almost on Union Square and right next to the cable car line. Our view was not good but then we didnt go to San Francisco to look out the window! I would like to suggest to the management that they might consider putting safes in the rooms. It was great having coffee and juice freely available in the morning and the sherry in the afternoon. Lovely touch! Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sootydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear sootydog,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Our staff takes pride in the quality of experience they deliver to our guest’s everyday; they will be delighted to hear that they could be a part of making your stay memorable.

I want to thank you for your suggesting and I can assure you it is a great suggesting and we will most certainly be taking it into consideration with future developments.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel appears very nice , has a great location and a wonderful staff but many shortcomings. The electrical outlets in out room were all loose and many times did not hold plugs ( waking up to uncharged phones in the morning is annoying). The shower had in consistent temperature and frequently had to get out and the stream would change to scalding to freezing and back again. The walls are very thin and we heard whole conversations of the girls next door and can hear into other people bathrooms through ours. It takes longer than 20 for them to retrieve your car despite what they say. The staff is nice though and try their best to apologize but there is only so much they can do ...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitar S, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Sammadd,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay at Kensington Park Hotel. We value your business and I would like the opportunity to have you back as my guest in the future.
Please feel free to contact me when you plan your next trip and I will personally take care of your accommodations.

Best regards,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for three nights. We were really impressed, it looked lovely, the size of our room was great, and the bed was very comfortable. The only things that were missing that we would have preferred were a safe and a mini fridge.
It's in a fantastic city location right next to Union Square. The shops are almost at your doorstep. And the cable car is right next to you as well.
We would recommend this hotel to others and would go back again if we ever return to San Francisco.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dbmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the Nike Women's Marathon. The highlight being that it was located on Post Street, where the marathon starting line was at. The hotel is very close to Union Square and the cable car line. Our room was really nice, cute, and clean.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice large room with King bed and city view. The sheets and comforter were quite luxurious. Comforter is I am sure, down like in nature but not down due to many allergic folks. Pillows were in ample supply and soft but fluffy. Flat screen TV and desk were nice. I highly recommend this wonderful downtown Union Square hotel for anyone traveling to SF.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear beebo122,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we are simply humbled to read how impressed you were of your room. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and you felt our sheets and comforter were quite luxurious.

We hope you had a chance to enjoy our amenities.

Thank you so much for recommending Kensington Park, as there is no greater compliment.

We greatly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

On the positive side, the hotel is in a good location and the beds are comfortable. On the negative side, our room was small and not well lit. We didn't find it very inviting. Our overall assessment was that boutique hotels might have quirky style features, but we'd rather have a decent guestroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubliner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Dubliner72,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I can certainly agree that our location is very convenient. I am delighted to hear that our beds are comfortable.

However, I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and wished we knew how you truly felt because we have a variety of room’s types to accommodate different preferences.

We value your business and would like the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
When the occasion arises please contact me and I will personally make your reservation.

Once again, I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with an experience more typical of Kensington Park.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#47 of 229 in San Francisco
988 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#57 of 229 in San Francisco
1,634 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
571 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#68 of 229 in San Francisco
3,917 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#89 of 229 in San Francisco
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing