We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
508
562
145
53
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
562
145
53
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationpost streetceiling fanaround the cornercable carthere is no air conditioningcharming hotelfront desk staffhalf blocktea and coffeevalet parkingstreet noisenob hillcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Location was pretty good. It was a very quaint hotel, has a lot of history, clean and comfortable. Couldn't find any faults with this hotel just think there would be more modern hotels. Close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Joanne R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you found our hotel convenient to everything our beautiful city has to offer. Still, I am unhappy to learn that your visit was not a complete success.

We value your business and we ask that you allow us another opportunity to serve you. We do have other Personality Hotels properties that will fit your needs. When the occasion arises, please contact me directly and I will personally handle your reservation.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel set in the centre of San Francisco.
The staff were wonderful, the bedroom was clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our weeks' stay at the hotel. We'd recommend it to anyone travelling to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Angela M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We’d like to thank you for your great compliments of Kensington Park, and we are glad you enjoyed your visit so thoroughly.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to future guests, as there is no greater compliment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week. When we first arrived we were concerned with the noise level we could hear outside. When we talked to the front desk they found another room for us immediately and moved us the next day. The second room floor 6 room 15 was backed up against another building and was so quiet. The staff was so helpful with everything we needed: directions, tours, airport shuttle arrangements. The location is fabulous for the cable cars as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkyflu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear funkyflu82,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear the front desk took care of you promptly; we take pride in exceeding all of our guest expectations.

I am delighted to hear that overall, you enjoyed the hotel, service, and location.

Once again, thank you for your time and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Location can't be beat. About 1/2 block from Union Square and a cable car line. The room was an adequate size as was the bathroom. Our room had lots of storage and a mini fridge. Love the history of the place and the lobby is gorgeous. Staff are SUPER friendly and helpful (concierge Bob rules!). I've seen some complaints of noise and no A/C on here, but you are in the heart of it all so if you don't like city noise, perhaps one shouldn't stay in a city and open the window. It's SF. The only "complaints" are a little more counter space in the loo would be nice (but no diff from what I have at home so not a big deal) and a fan in the bathroom would also be nice. (So really, I have no complaints). Stay here if you like boutique hotels.

Room Tip: We were in room 36 which was street side, but loved it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennD719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear jennD719,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your review providing so many details and insights. I am particularly struck by the details you provided to advice fellow travelers of tips, locations, and feedback that made your stay successful.

The staff of Kensington Park thrives to offer the best service we can possibly deliver to our guests and comments such as yours motivates us even more. I am sure the entire staff will appreciate the mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in the Kensington Park Hotel in September for a week. The hotel is really friendly, all the staff so nice and very helpful. We stayed at the end of a 2 week trip visiting canyons, parks etc. to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday and were presented with a bottle of wine for his birthday. Lovely gesture. The hotel is almost on Union Square and right next to the cable car line. Our view was not good but then we didnt go to San Francisco to look out the window! I would like to suggest to the management that they might consider putting safes in the rooms. It was great having coffee and juice freely available in the morning and the sherry in the afternoon. Lovely touch! Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sootydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear sootydog,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Our staff takes pride in the quality of experience they deliver to our guest’s everyday; they will be delighted to hear that they could be a part of making your stay memorable.

I want to thank you for your suggesting and I can assure you it is a great suggesting and we will most certainly be taking it into consideration with future developments.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews