We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,320)
Filter reviews
1,320 results
Traveller rating
512
572
149
55
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
572
149
55
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square elks lodge complimentary sherry great location post street ceiling fan around the corner cable car there is no air conditioning charming hotel front desk staff half block valet parking tea and coffee nob hill central location two double beds
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 1,320 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Charming hotel, aptely named "personality hotel"! Every Wed and Fri afternoon they have live music in the hall, with a pianist that will delight your ears while you are enjoying the free tea and sherry ;-) The location is perfect, on the "nice" part of Post Street (last block before Union Square), so I felt safe strolling around the Square at night, even if I was traveling solo. In the same building of the hotel there is the San Francisco Playhouse, so you can go from your room to the theatre without even going out on the street. Staff extremely helpful and nice.
On the "down" side, cleanliness could be inproved a bit. Also the soundproofing is quite poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing Post Street
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artedicarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Artedicarte,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We cannot recall a time where I felt so proud and overwhelmed by the words of our guests, it’s a great pleasure to be part of aptly named Personality Hotels and I would like to personally thank you for chosen us.

Our guests are our top priority in all aspects of their stay; and they will be delighted to hear they were successful in exceeding your expectations.

Thanks you for providing so many details and insights for our future guests.

I can assure you it is with great detail of improving the soundproof and in time we will most certainly be taking into consideration with future developments. We assure you that we will speak to Housekeeping Department to best follow-up on details of the cleaning.

We take our guests feedback very seriously and thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can best improve the quality of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice hotel, rooms I found a bit small but no complaints. Location was decent. enjoyed this city more than anything else. Good value hotel. Good to explore the city from. The service was also decent. And good pricing

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Tash A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear you felt our rooms were small, but we do have a variety of room types to accommodate different preferences. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you once again in the future.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautiful city of San Francisco.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Location was pretty good. It was a very quaint hotel, has a lot of history, clean and comfortable. Couldn't find any faults with this hotel just think there would be more modern hotels. Close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Joanne R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to know that you found our hotel convenient to everything our beautiful city has to offer. Still, I am unhappy to learn that your visit was not a complete success.

We value your business and we ask that you allow us another opportunity to serve you. We do have other Personality Hotels properties that will fit your needs. When the occasion arises, please contact me directly and I will personally handle your reservation.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a lovely hotel set in the centre of San Francisco.
The staff were wonderful, the bedroom was clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our weeks' stay at the hotel. We'd recommend it to anyone travelling to the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Angela M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We’d like to thank you for your great compliments of Kensington Park, and we are glad you enjoyed your visit so thoroughly.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to future guests, as there is no greater compliment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week. When we first arrived we were concerned with the noise level we could hear outside. When we talked to the front desk they found another room for us immediately and moved us the next day. The second room floor 6 room 15 was backed up against another building and was so quiet. The staff was so helpful with everything we needed: directions, tours, airport shuttle arrangements. The location is fabulous for the cable cars as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkyflu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear funkyflu82,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear the front desk took care of you promptly; we take pride in exceeding all of our guest expectations.

I am delighted to hear that overall, you enjoyed the hotel, service, and location.

Once again, thank you for your time and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews