We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the right place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #79 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the right place”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 10 days at the end of October beginning of November.
It is very central to Union Square being 50 yards away. The hotel room was light and airy and cleaned every day, Beware which room you get as it can be very noisy, the cable car starts at 6 am and goes on till late. We had a room on the 10 th floor at the back and we could still hear some of the noise. The view from the room made for a great photograph. Hotel staff were very helpful, especially when we asked about the whale watching trip. If you go on the trip the hotel can organise it. Wear plenty of warm clothes and expect to get wet. We were lucky to see a humpback whale breach the water no more than 100 yards away, fantastic.
We ate at Sears, great food, but you should book beforehand as it gets very busy. Plenty of other restaurants around to suit all tastes
The hotel is very central to all the main shops and Westfield Mall and the cable car. If you want to use all the methods of public travel buy a 3 day passport which you can get from the office by the cable car, it is much cheaper.
We would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillHolyoake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    494
    123
    46
    27
See reviews for
211
476
61
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I travel for a work a lot. I've stayed at three of the four Personality Hotels in SF, but Kensington Park is my favorite. The location is perfect, even though it's a 15-minute walk to work I'd rather walk because it gives me option in my (limited) free time. Right there in the heart of Union Square. The staff at Kensington are incredible, the best in the business. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. They aren't the biggest rooms but they're pretty standard for SF. Great location, great staff, great value and nice accommodations. You can't beat that.

Room Tip: You need a room that doesn't face 'the view' because Union Square is loud. I believe th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Laura M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you during your stay at Kensington Park.
We are humbled to have received such thoughtful comments, for there is no greater satisfaction than receiving kind words.

We appreciate your comments for our well-appointed guests room and amenities.

When the occasion arises please contact me and I will personally assists you with your reservation to visit the 4th Personality Hotels.

Your business is much appreciated and we will do our very best to continue to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A very nice styled hotel in a traditional way. They serve Sherry and Tea / coffee during afternoons.
Great location at Union Square just 5-10mins walk to nearest BART Station. 45min walk to Fisherman´s Warf. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diskOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear diskOS,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that overall, you enjoyed the hotel, location, and amenities.

Thank you for highly recommending Kensington Park, as there is no greater compliment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here over a weekend for our long awaited baby free vacation. We picked it because it was a good value and excellent location and were not disappointed. So close to the BART and streetcar, and a very close walk to some amazing restaurants. The room was super clean, bathroom tiny but who cares, and our room had zero street noise. They have sherry and hot tea for hotel guests between 4-6 and live jazz some nights - so cool!

Unfortunately the walls are paper thin. Our first night some people came home at 430am and I was pretty sure they must be screaming at the top of their lungs, so disruptive.. and chalked it up to rude people being loud. Then in the morning it was clear that you can simply hear everything. When they started cleaning rooms at 830am I could hear her knock on every single door down the hallway, and doors slamming. So, it wasn't very restful. I wouldn't stay here again because I seriously needed sleep and got very little.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Jenn R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We have spoken with the appropriate department and rest assured that the issue has been resolved and that we will continue to monitor the situation.

We appreciate the feedback, both positive and the constructive.

Overall, we are delighted to hear you felt our room was super clean and you found our service helpful.

Again, we do apologize and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to pride you with an experience more typical of Kensington Park.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I was very lucky to find this hotel, it was my first trip to san francisco so i had no clue where should i stay, lucky for me i so the reviews on this hotel and the price was OK, so i booked for 4 day, and let me let you... LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION, this is very important when visiting SFO, beacuse there are a lot of homeless in some areas, the personal was very kind! Gloria on the front desk help us out with everything, restaurants, places to see, maps, how to get to places, even where we should not go!! And Lilian the manager extremly kind! They refound me for the last night i couldnt stay because of my fly! I totaly recomend this Hotel! Is clean, cussy, near... Perfect! Truly love it! Ps the bed was very confortable!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejandropirul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Alejandropirul,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am thrilled to hear that you found our guest’s room clean and the beds to be comfortable.
I agreed with you our location is very convenient for shopping, dinning, and theaters.

It is wonderful to hear how impressed you were with the service provided by Gloria. Your comments regarding our staff and the way she interacts are particularly valuable. I will pass on your comments. I am sure Gloria will appreciate the mention.

Thank you for recommending Kensington Park to our future guests.

I want to personally thank you for your comment. It was my pleasure serving you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Charming hotel, aptely named "personality hotel"! Every Wed and Fri afternoon they have live music in the hall, with a pianist that will delight your ears while you are enjoying the free tea and sherry ;-) The location is perfect, on the "nice" part of Post Street (last block before Union Square), so I felt safe strolling around the Square at night, even if I was traveling solo. In the same building of the hotel there is the San Francisco Playhouse, so you can go from your room to the theatre without even going out on the street. Staff extremely helpful and nice.
On the "down" side, cleanliness could be inproved a bit. Also the soundproofing is quite poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing Post Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artedicarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Artedicarte,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We cannot recall a time where I felt so proud and overwhelmed by the words of our guests, it’s a great pleasure to be part of aptly named Personality Hotels and I would like to personally thank you for chosen us.

Our guests are our top priority in all aspects of their stay; and they will be delighted to hear they were successful in exceeding your expectations.

Thanks you for providing so many details and insights for our future guests.

I can assure you it is with great detail of improving the soundproof and in time we will most certainly be taking into consideration with future developments. We assure you that we will speak to Housekeeping Department to best follow-up on details of the cleaning.

We take our guests feedback very seriously and thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can best improve the quality of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice hotel, rooms I found a bit small but no complaints. Location was decent. enjoyed this city more than anything else. Good value hotel. Good to explore the city from. The service was also decent. And good pricing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Tash A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear you felt our rooms were small, but we do have a variety of room types to accommodate different preferences. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you once again in the future.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our beautiful city of San Francisco.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,055 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
3,777 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
2,525 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
1,316 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#40 of 227 in San Francisco
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing