We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeding Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #79 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeding Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We loved this hotel, from day one they exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 10 nights and loved the location. We were on the 9th floor and went out each morning to complimentary coffee an orange juice. A folding bed was supplied for our daughter who works in San Fran, but would some nights have had a long trip to her apartment. We loved the complimentary sherry & tea each evening in the foyer. It felt cosy and friendly rather than corporate. All in all we would stay there again without hesitation. Location, perfect.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjmabbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    494
    123
    46
    27
See reviews for
211
476
61
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I didn't realize that I wasn't booking a full-service hotel, but with all of the restaurants in the area & delivery options, that wasn't really a problem. It's a half-block from Union Square, so there's plenty of food, shopping & entertainment around. The rooms are a bit larger than I'm accustomed to for historic hotels in this area which was nice, and the furnishings are a nice mix of modern and antique. The free wifi works great in the lobby & in the rooms. They have a doorman, but I'm not quite certain what he does. My entire three-night stay, he was always in the lobby when I arrived & departed and was quite friendly, but he didn't hold the door for me once. He was very interested in helping me with the wifi in the lobby upon arrival as I waited for my room to be ready (I was extremely early). They serve complimentary sherry and tea in the evenings, as well as hot chocolate when it's cold. There are cold beverages, including OJ, at a central location on each floor in the morning. One evening they had a pianist in the lobby who played quite well, but stopped and started songs midway through as she saw fit, as though aware that her playing was just part of the background and no one was really paying close attention. However, it was disconcerting for a music lover. My king bed was extremely comfortable, and the linens were nice - plenty of extra pillows. I had a great view of Nob Hill, and lots of natural light in the room. They have radiator heat, which didn't quite do the trick to warm up the room upon checking in with 50 degree weather outside. I had them bring up a space heater, which heated the room quickly, and I didn't need to use it again after that first evening (thankfully, the handyman/porter who brought it to me was extremely concerned that I would dry my skin out using it, and reminded me of this every time I saw him during my stay - nice fellow). Everything was in good repair, clean, and all of the amenities I needed were present. I really appreciated the closet, drawer & cabinet space in the room as I always fully unpack, and it's nice to have everything put away neatly. My only complaint is that they need to add mini-bars in the room. Overall, I thought it was an amazing value for this location at about $250/night. I'm only not rating it five stars because it's not quite what I would consider plush. There's just a little bit of "finish" that's lacking to get that last star. It's a quirky old hotel with quirky staff, and I like it & would definitely return. After this stay, I'd like to try the other properties in the Personality Hotels portfolio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great location, 1/2 block off Union Square, very helpful and pleasant staff, nice room, even economical overnight valet parking. Surprisingly quiet in a fifth floor room facing the street. Looking forward to a reason to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night on the end of a business trip due to it being cheaper than the work hotel!
I checked in on 6th December for a Friday night stay. I arrived at 3pm and was told my reception that I had to wait for 5 minutes before I could check in because they were in the middle of a system upgrade. The offered me free tea from the tea table in the lobby area. I waited 10 minutes which wasn't great as I was tired and wanted to dump my suitcase and backpack somewhere and relax!
Once they were able to check me in, it was a quick process and I was shown to the elavators which took me to my room on the 8th floor. The lifts were really slow. So when I had locked my key in my room later on in the day, it was a painful journey to go back down to the lobby and back up to the room.
I took my luggage to my room myself and found the room easily. The room had a TV, a chair (handy for dumping bags on or putting on boots!), a wardrobe with suitcase holder and complimentary water. There was no safe. The bathroom was an ok-size containing toiletries, hair dryer and bath/shower. The sink was a little small and didn't have room for me to put out my toiletries or make up but there wasn't really enough room in the bathroom to have a large sink. The bed was more than big enough for myself and had no problems sleeping at all. It was quiet and peaceful.
Location was great for shopping. A short walk to the Westfield Shopping centre and tram stop on Market Street. It's right off Union Square too which has Macy's, Tiffany's and Saks. As it's Christmas time, the square was hosting an ice rink and a huge Christmas tree so it was very festive. As I left on Saturday evening though, it was very very busy and the roads around the square were full of vehicles making traffic a nightmare.
Upon checking out, it was done smoothly enough and they asked for feedback. I mentioned the delay in checking in due to their system upgrade and they blamed it on people switching over shifts. Check in starts at 3pm, they should be doing things like that at a different time!
A member of staff helped me order a taxi later on in the day which charged me a set fee and despite the huge congestion occurring in the Square, he managed to get me to the airport within 30 minutes.
Overall, the stay was pleasant. Good value for money & there is more that the hotel offered than I took up. There is a theatre and a cafe area on two other floors. I would recommend this place for location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAmyYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed as a family of 3 in a room with 2 double beds. It was cosy but comfortable enough. The location could not really be any better, just around the corner from Union Square, across the road from the Westin. We stayed on the 9th floor which was fairly quiet. The views however were over roofs of other buildings, but since we didn't spend spend much time in the room, it did not bother us much. The room was average, the bathroom small. The beds were clean and reasonably comfortable. The lighting in the room was poor. The hotel is fairly old but charming. The service was good from the desk staff and concierge. Breakfast available a few doors up the street, nil in the hotel. Stops for hop on hop off buses just across the road , which was handy. Cable car also close by. The business centre allowed us to print boarding passes easily and for free. Very pleasant stay overall.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug21stC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

First the plus points, the location is great for visiting the city as a tourist, right on union square, plenty of character, the beds were nice and comfy and the staff good.
On the down side, our room wasn't available when we checked in and when we returned the bathroom in the room we were given had a very strong nasty smell coming from it. My wife informed reception that she though it had just been sprayed for bugs, they immediately offered us another room which we accepted. The second room was fine, bathroom like the other one was probably due a refurb but clean. I was surprised to find there was no aircon, probably mentioned somewhere when I booked but I never noticed and being November not really a problem. More of a problem was the noise, we were on somewhere around 11th floor facing the street and even with the windows shut it was very noisy. Had it been summer with the windows open I really wouldn't have been happy.
Not a bad hotel but I'd probably opt for somewhere more modern next time.

Room Tip: Avoid the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_and_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Above average small hotel. Nice rooms and a friendly staff. As in any city watch out for the noise if your room faces the street and you like to have the window open. Price was right but would also consider other places (Westin, Hilton, etc). Art of Shaving set was nice!

Room Tip: Face the back on a higher floor. Don't expect to watch TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hail2Pitt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,057 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,779 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#42 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#76 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#39 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing