We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #77 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Super location, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during a conference. Rate was $179/night and it is 1 block from Union Square. Cannot beat the location. Very friendly staff. Small, clean rooms. A bit warm - and no a/c - but we did not open the window (I believe that it opened). A European feel. They host sherry at the end of the day in the lobby, and tea throughout the day in the lobby. Would recommend this hotel. The parking is poor .... supposidly they have valet parking. I parked in a no park zone with my blinkers on and asked the front desk for Valet. They said that they had to call the valet (they are from the actual parking lot). Waited 15 minutes and then gave up. I parked myself 1.5 blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    491
    121
    46
    27
See reviews for
210
474
60
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

As with many of my hotels, I got the Kensington Park Hotel from Hotel Tonight. It was one of the less expensive properties on the day's list, and after reading many glowing reviews, I picked it. One of the main reasons, aside from the price, was the effusive praise of the beds. People were saying these were the best beds they had ever slept on. I have fibromyalgia, so a comfortable night's sleep is critical.
When we arrived, the hotel staff were really friendly, and in a completely real and sincere way. I liked the lobby and, although I was wary of the elevators because of some reviews I had read, I had no problem with either of them. Our room was at the top of a flight of stairs, but it was not an issue at all, nor was the fact that we face a main street. The room was still fairly quiet, even on a Saturday night. We did have noisy neighbors, but I think that was less the fault of thin walls than of the loud talking man in the next room. Apparently some other guest complained because I heard him say, "They want me to talk quieter? Well, f&*^! this hotel!" I guess they checked out because we didn't hear him again. I could barely hear his female companion, so it was definitely him.
So why the three stars? The mattress was super hard, to the point where my hips felt bruised in the morning and my back was aching. When I asked if they had any extra pillowtop pads or similar softening items for the second night, the lady at the desk wrote a note and said she would check. We spent the day out at a Giants game. When we returned, I didn't have a message or a note or anything -- nor did I have a softer night's sleep. I would have accepted the fact that they didn't have anything that might help, but if you say you'll check on something, get back to people. We'd generally like to be disappointed than left in the dark. At least I would.
My only other minor quibble was the Neuro Sleep water that was given out free. It was a cool concept, but people should be aware that the Magnesium in it is a laxative. Just saying...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UglyDollOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitar S, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear UglyDollOX,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, As you have mentioned in your review we do receive positive comments about our beds and I apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies about the front desk agent not following up on your request. I can assure you that the issue has been addressed accordingly.

We have forwarded your comments, about the Neuro Sleep Water, to our partners and I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

I hope that you will give Kensington Park Hotel another chance in near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me and I will personally assist you with your reservation.

Best,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Upon check in we were upgraded to a suite on the top floor. The room was absolutely beautiful along with the hotel. Unfortunately, the fan in our room didn't work and there were a few other glitches (like getting our car from the lot. Things were backed up for a little over an hour). Nothing too terrible. We told the front desk on our way out to dinner and they said they would have it fixed when we got back but were not able to so the management gave us a discount on our already upgraded room and were so sweet about it. She went out of her way to make it right. I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again! This is how every hotel should operate. And it was such a beautifully old fashioned hotel with so much character!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1travelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Greetings 1travelover

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a great place. You can walk to the train, the trolley, the bus and yes is so closed to the shopping district. The hotel staff were very pleasant. The hotel was clean and the room was well kept. My only suggestion to people booking here is if they stay in room #51 on the 9th floor at 550 am they put out coffee and tea right across from the room. So u have some not a lot of noise from the person setting it up and people serving themselves. Also there is a small water dripping sound coming from behind a wall it. The noise comes occasionally is not loud enough but you can hear it. I'm also hoping that in the near future they have a bar inside the hotel. I will definitely recommend this hotel and I will definitely come back but will stay in another room :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ronie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Ronie e,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with other travelers. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next trip to San Francisco, in order to choose the perfect room for you.

Looking forward to see you again in the near future,
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a good location. The rooms are very tatty and in need of decorating. I stayed on the top floor and the direct view from my window was all the various bits of rubbish left on other roofs. I have stayed in San Francisco several times and this is the worst hotel I have stayed at.

Now to add to that I have noticed bed bug bites which must have come from there. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elparaisogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitar S, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear elparaisogolf,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear your stay was not as pleasant as you would have expected. Please accept my apology. Kensington Park Hotel undergoes a regular thorough inspection to ensure the property is free from any insects. We always encourage our guests to express their concerns during their stay so we can very well accommodate them.

I hope you will give Kensington Park Hotel another chance and consider staying with us on your next trip to San Francisco.

Best regards,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had to switch hotels from The Orchard to The Kensington Park as the rate in the Orchard went to high for the second week of my trip. Quite a gothic reception area and the rooms were pleasant and the usual size for the Union Square district. One major issue was the lack of aircon but I knew that before I booked - the ceiling fan did cool the room down a lot especially with the window open. Unfortunately, the housekeeper kept turning off the fan leaving the room really warm when returning in the evening.

All in all, a pleasant hotel in a great location 50 yards from Union Square and with a great rate. However the lifts were comically unreliable. When I arrived, one lift was out of service. As I went down to reception two hours later to meet my colleague, I heard someone stuck in the other lift. As my colleague had a room on a 6th floor, we decided to get a drink whilst the lift was repaired to save having to carry cases up lots of stairs.

Later in the week we returned to the hotel late in the evening and found lots of Fire Trucks arriving. Fortunately the hotel wasn't on fire but it was yet another lift kidnapping.

So enjoy the Kensington Park, it is a great place, but beware if you are of limited mobility. It is however great exercise for all the hills in San Francisco :)

Room Tip: Go high. The lowest rooms are still a fair few floors up so getting low doesn't mean you can avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitar S, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear LolTM,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the elevator issues you have experienced during your stay. Please allow me to explain the elevator challenges that we were facing during your stay. Due to a major update to the door equipment, required by the state of California, we had to place one elevator out of order at a time in February and early March. One of the elevators was out of services, when you first arrived, due to the repairs. The trapped passenger had overloaded the elevator with equipment that he was picking up after an event in one of the banquet rooms in the building, despite the fact that the weight limit is clearly posted in the elevator car.
The overloading of the elevator had an impact on the new equipment; therefore the elevator got stuck later on in the week. The elevator mechanic arrived 30 minutes after he was dispatched, however the trapped passenger had called the fire department.

I can assure you that the issues, described above, have been addressed accordingly. An elevator mechanic is inspecting both elevators on a daily basis to ensure that the new equipment is functioning properly. Both elevators are running and we have not experienced any further issues.

I truly hope that you will give the Kensington Park Hotel another chance in future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will assist you with your reservation.

Best regards,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful and historic hotel. Beautiful rooms, excellent staff and perfect location. We had a party of 11 people in rooms and everyone thought it was a great hotel....the sherry served is actually good stuff.....location location location

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper stay on the back of the hotel.......front rooms if you open the window ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henry2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear henry2209,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I agree with you our building and rooms are beautiful. I am thrilled that you discover one of our best assets and it’s our location.

We are delighted to hear that you and your party had a pleasant stay. We appreciate the recognition of our staff efforts to provide quality and friendly service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,021 reviews
Union Square
The Donatello
The Donatello
#38 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#74 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#58 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing