We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kensington Park Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Donatello(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel G San Francisco(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Handlery Union Square Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,235)
Filter reviews
1,235 results
Traveller rating
478
537
139
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
537
139
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunion squareelks lodgecomplimentary sherrygreat locationceiling fanpost streetthere is no air conditioningcable carfront desk staffcharming hotelstreet noisevalet parkingnob hillcorner roomcentral locationbed was very comfortablean older hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 1,235 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

As previous reviewers have indicated this hotel is ideally located in the middle of activities including Hop on Hop off buses, Union Square and boutique shopping.

Maceys, Saks on 5th Av are all down Post Street.

A brief/short walk to the pier area along Post St into Market Street brings you to the ferry terminal area. Often street markets and entertainers are here including; bike riding displays, skateboarders all whom defy gravity.

We suggest a $20 return ferry trip to Sausalito which takes you alongside the Golden Gate Bridge.

Again a walk up to Vista Point on the other side of the Golden Gate Bridge, provides a great view of the city of San Francisco. Here you can walk across the bridge and back. - well worth doing on a clear day.

As hotel photos indicate the hotel is not air conditioned - 75c during our stay - and room got quite warm. Maybe not ideal in summer??

Valet parking is quite expensive. 'Note' - parking is available under Union Square. Well worth checking as average hourly rates are quite low.

Overall a very good experience at the Kensington Hotel, with rooms well fitted out, clean and large.

Customer service in the lobby area were very helpful in assisting with dinner locations and attractions.

Avoid - in our opinion - dinning at Honey Honey Crepery just down the street and Lori's American Diner in the next street. Both served cold food, greasy and have terrible service.

There are numerous restaurants in side streets that offer a wide variety of reasonably priced food.

Enjoy San Francisco.

Must do - visit the pier area, the Painted Ladies, Lombard Street, Cable cars - all within a 2 mile walk.

Room Tip: Maybe not the best hotel in summer as rooms are not air conditioned. They have large fans only. Try for a room on the off sun side.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel itself is nice and has maintained a sort of 1950s charm giving it a nice atmosphere. The staff at front desk were also very nice and helpful. The rooms are also very nice, but seriously, what is with the Wifi?? In this day and age, not having good Wifi is kind of lame. I stayed on the 9th floor and it was undependable and frustrating.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeverNotTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi B777flyerz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Kensington Park Hotel. We are happy to hear your enjoyed the charm of the hotel and the helpfulness of the staff. We apologize that the WiFi did not meet standards. This is not a typical problem and will be addressed with our IT department immediately. We hope to see you again on your next trip to San Francisco.

Best,
Dimitar Stanev, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here for a few nights prior to flying on to Hawaii and again for two nights on our way back. The location is perfect, a stones throw from a Union Square and within 5 mins walk of cable car stops and the BART station. There are several Starbucks and a Walgreens within a two block radius.

The customer service at the front desk was exemplary and the concierge was very helpful.

The room we had first was lovely but no view. The second room was bigger, with a bigger bed and a view of Union Square. Neither room had a safe which was annoying. The bathrooms were both lovely.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Natalie,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Kensington Park Hotel during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed the convenient location and our helpful staff. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,
Dimitar Stanev, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a Preliminary review based soley on their customer service.

I was trying to book this hotel and was having difficulty through various websites, both my corporate booking agent and Hotels (dot) com.

I called up and their representative, Arif, was overly courteous and worked with my unique request.

I will update once the stay is completed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Jason O,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

Our staff thrives to offer the best service we can possibly deliver to our guest and comments such as yours motivates us even more. I will pass on your nice comment to Arif. I am sure he will appreciate the mention.

Our guests are our top priority in all aspects from booking your reservation and taking notes of your requests to assisting you with making sure you have a pleasant stay.

We want to personally thank you for choosing us as your home away from home.

We look forward to your visit.

Best regards,

Lilia Calvario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a great hotel to stay at I had researched so many hotels and somehow after many days of searching I came across this one. Without a doubt this is the friendlies staff I have ever encountered in a hotel...they go out of their way for anything you may need.
The fact it had no restaurant didn't bother us coffee and tea where available in the mornings on the 9th and 11th floor. There is a Restaurant attached to the hotel named Farallon great Happy Hour and great for dinner. There is a deli that is fantastic to the right of the hotel about four doors down. Morton's will also do room service if you need it after 4p.m. We went to the Playhouse that is right in the hotel first play we have seen in probably 40 years. An added touch that was very nice was the sherry in the afternoon that is also something we haven't had in years, we found it quite enjoyable to sit in the lobby by the fireplace (wasn't on to warm) and some sherry and watch the people go by. I would highly recommend this hotel. We will be going back again that's for sure. I truly cant find anything bad to say about the hotel and since I work for a major airline and go to a lot of hotels I can usually find something but not this time.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room the a Royal Court King on the top floor room 88. Was well worth it the view at night was incredible. You definitely want to be on the city side and there was no noise at all. Room was always cleaned and it really fit our needs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amystical1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, General Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Amystical1,
Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay. Sipping sherry by the fireplace sounds lovely and we're glad you thought it was a nice touch. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warm Regards
Dimitar Stanev, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews