We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #78 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Boutique charm!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for 4 nights on our "mini-moon" in San Francisco and it was absolutely lovely! We were upgraded to a king room with a view on arrival, and I purchased the "celebration package" as a surprise for my wife. Though it wasn't ready upon our arrival, we went out for dinner and did some shopping and returned to our bottle of champagne chilling in the very unique top hat ice bucket and a selection of Ghirardelli chocolates. The beds were very comfortable and the room was actually a bit bigger than I had anticipated as I have stayed in similar styles of hotel in other big cities, so I was impressed with that. The hotel is old but very well kept, it feels charming and unique with age, rather than run down and dingy. The lobby area is very cool, from the art, to the piano, to the tea and sherry service, to the old key slots behind the front desk. The staff were great, the rooms were clean, and the location can't be beat!
It's easy to get to bus stops, muni stations, and the cable car turnaround, and it's steps away from plenty of shopping (Macy's, Tiffany's, Victoria's Secret, Nike, and much more are across the street - Bloomingdale's, Urban Outfitters, Nordstrom's, etc. are a short walk away). Perfect for a San Francsico getaway!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi Carly17,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for choosing Kensington Park Hotel during your trip to San Francisco. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the location, and amenities. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    506
    132
    48
    30
See reviews for
221
491
63
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The best thing of this hotel is its location right in the heart of San Francisco. The price is really fear. Rooms are large and fairly good considering the old age and style and clean. No facilities and luck of bteakfast could be a problem. Someone should ask for a room over 10th floor in order to avoid some small noise from outside since you are just in the center.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalimeraaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitar S, Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear kalimeraaaaaaa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Kensington Park Hotel. We are happy to read that your stay was a positive one. Unfortunately we do not provide breakfast; however we do serve complimentary tea and water throughout the day. Please note that our guests have the ability to use our sister property’s gym facility which is open 24 hours a day.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Dimitar Stanev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in May and found it really well located. The staff, specially Vincent, was nice, polite and helpful. The room was okay, although a little basic for a 300$ room. No fridge, no Ipod station, hair blower in really bad shape. But the bed was very comfortable and the view, from the 10th floor was beautiful. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Oliari,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate anytime guest share there experience.

As you discovered our best asset is our location and beds.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations.
We do have fridge in several rooms and upon request and we also have hair dyer that can be replace.

Your comments are truly valuable and important.

We will pass on your nice comment to Vincent. I am sure he will appreciate the mention.

We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Lilia Calvario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the kensington for 5 nights really enjoyed our stay good views overlooking post st really great location just 1 min from union square very friendly bob was really helpful with the directions free sherry and tea in the afternoon nice touch lovely restaurants very close by this hotel is oldy worldly its a jem really nice stay

Room Tip: any room looking down on post st would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi wendyemma,

Thank very much you for sharing your positive experience. We are glad to hear that you had a very pleasant stay. We hope you will choose Kensington Park Hotel for your next stay in San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm Regards,
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A friend suggested this hotel and I was very pleasantly surprised. Just a half block from Union Square and all of the wonderful shopping there. The cable car is also a block away. Very convenient to buses that go in all directions. You'll quickly learn that unless you want to arrive sweaty, you'll want to take the bus! I was there during a heatwave and was concerned about the lack of AC in the rooms (the rooms don't have any AC), but it was fine. If you think it will hot, I would suggest getting a room on the back. The view from the rooms differs greatly so if you want a view, talk to them when you check in. The front desk was really helpful. I only have two complaints, the valet was SLOW so plan ahead. The concierges were not helpful. When we asked about the differences between the hop on hop off style buses he could not tell us and just kept pushing the one that had a relationship with the hotel. I guess the was fine, but we didn't get a discount for using the one he pushed. The other concierge wasn't able to answer our basic questions and finally told us that he worked so much that he never went to any of the places. I think they need to spend some time on educating the concierges! Do your research because they will not be much help. With that said, I highly recommend the hotel. Perfect location with nice beds, clean, good sized room and bathrooms. Plus speedy free wi-fi!

Room Tip: On the back if you want it to be quiet when you open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lap4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I just had a three-day reunion witih some long-time friends in San Francisco, and we were all
so happy with our Kensington Park experience. The vintage building is lovingly restored.
Soothing classical music plays in the lobby area, and the staff is beautifully trained. The
concierge, front-desk staff and back-of-the house associates are all seemingly happy in their positions, and that makes a guest's experience even better. Though the bathroom is slightly
small, it is spotless and more than adequate. The bedding and beds are perfect.

A table laid with tea and flavored water is set up in the lobby all day. In the late afternoon a
decanter of sherry joins the drink mix. Happy hour and dinner are available through a
door in the lobby that leads to Farallon Restaurant.

The Playhouse Theater is accessible on the 2nd level, and that makes the perfect mix of culture,
food and a restful room.

Room Tip: We had a room on the inner side of the hotel, and noise was no problemm at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great Hotel, Great Location, Good price

Perfect hotel from which to explore the best city in the world. Nothing too spectacular, just a very good, comfortable hotel. Exactly what you need

Staff were also very friendly and welcoming

Would return without a seconds though

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank josephturner1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Greetings josephturner1990,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and with other travelers

We hope to welcoming you again very soon!

Warm Regards
Janine Rauen
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#55 of 229 in San Francisco
1,631 reviews
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
977 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#34 of 229 in San Francisco
569 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,910 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#88 of 229 in San Francisco
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing