We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked it! Oldfashioned, cute place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #75 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 11 August 2014

It is not "excellent" hotel. But it is very, very good. Building is old and stylish, rooms are renovated and absolutely clean, the reception is very nice - you can enjoy complimentary sherry in the afteroon and tea in the morning. There is a coffee machine in each room. Rooms are quite spacious and nicely furnished, with very clean bathrooms. . There is no breakfast buty why bother - with Sears just around the corner. The service is really good, they are informative and helpful. Still, if you are looking for something "luxurious" it is not the place. Street noise is present, but not too disturbing. But it provides comfort, quality and style. And the location is great, I do recommed it and I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MagdaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel! We are very happy to read that you had a good experience and enjoyed your stay in our unique, boutique hotel. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Warmly,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year - 4 of us in one room - so it was the hotel we definitely wanted to stay in again this year. This year there was 5 of us so I booked 2 rooms and asked for them to be near each other. This sadly didn't happen - one room was on the 5th floor and the other on the 9th floor. Also our sons' room on the 5th floor was a good size but our room was tiny! There was 3 of us in it and there was hardly any room to move at all. On a positive note - the staff in this hotel are really friendly and courteous. The concierge helped our sons to their room whilst we returned our hire car and the receptionist remembered our names and always said hello using our names even when we saw him off duty in Union Square. The hotel has so much character that I would still like to stay here again but just hope that I get a better room next time!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank theplympopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a hidden gem that takes one back to the "Old Fashioned" service, decor, and quality of days gone by. What a lovely stay we had at Kensington Park. The service was so outstanding and the employees so helpful. I was very impressed with the fresh, fruit infused water provided for all the guests. We were well taken care of here. I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco!

Room Tip: This is an old building renovated to house several businesses, however, the Hotel boasts of the char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Greetings Jana A.,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed your time. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were there for 2 nites & it was awesome. Very, very close to everything, hotel staff were all very nice & accomodating. There is no a/c, which is what we worried abt in July, but it was totally not needed. But July in SanFran vs July in NC, where we come from, is totally different. Beautiful, vintage style room. They have no room svc tho, that's the only drawback. Honestly our room looked just like the room in the professional pics you see. Very good customer svc. Paid almost $800 for a 2 nite stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melissaandfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kensington Park Hotel! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and the design of the space. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Kensington Park Hotel for one night. It's right off Union Square and in the middle of some great shopping. The Wi-Fi was free and easy to use. The hotel was clean and they even had nice bathrobes! It's a short walk down to Market Street with easy access to Bart, Muni and the cable cars. I was in room 82 on the 11th floor and it was quiet, clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Room 82 was great on the 11th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springercrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello Springercrazy,

Thank you for staying with us at Kensington Park Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed the amenities and ideal location for exploring. We hope to see you again during your future visits to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,
Megan Brandt
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a great Boutique hotel in the Heart of the union square. We were in a corner king room in the top floor and had views looking right at Union Square and Nob Hill. The staff was ultra friendly. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. Piano and guitar in the afternoon while Sherry and Tea was served was a great touch. I would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor. We heard zero street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Traveller,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kensington Park Hotel! Thank you for sharing your glowing review for all to read. We hope that you consider staying with us again upon your next journey.

Best Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great Central location in an old fashioned boutique hotel. Really old world charm and it was the exact opposite to staying at a large corporate chain hotel. Staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. The free wifi was great and worked every time without a hitch. Free coffee every morning was good and only a stones throw away from lots of places for breakfast.
Hotelhas a theatre within it which only enhanced the visit

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Traveller,

Thank you for the positive review - we so appreciate you taking the time to write and share it! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everything went smoothly while on your trip. Do come back and see us!

Best Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,341 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#74 of 230 in San Francisco
724 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 230 in San Francisco
4,091 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex San Francisco
Hotel Rex San Francisco
#64 of 230 in San Francisco
1,714 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £101 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Coffee and Tea Service with Italian Biscotti on the 9th and 11th floors. Complimentary WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary Business Self-Service Desk in the lobby with computer access and printer. Complimentary Hot Tea and water in the lobby from 730A to 6PM. Complimentary Sherry in the lobby daily 4P to 6P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing