We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get a better location! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #77 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't get a better location! ”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

The hotel situates in the middle of downtown. Only 8 mimutes walk to Chinatown and with in walking distant to many major shops and malls. The hotel is also right next to the Morton's steak house. Although a little old the room we live in feel clean. There's no air condition but its too cold anyway. There is no security box in the room and no compliment bottled water. If you like downtown then this is the place.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Hi Dom S.,

Thank you for staying with us at the Kensington Park Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and the central location of our hotel. We hope you will think of us again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    510
    133
    48
    30
See reviews for
223
495
64
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Came for a conference, had to attend a few business meetings from remote. The hotel wireless was so bad it often didn't work. When it did work, the speed was incredibly slow.

They also had some boiler issues so showers were cold.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Excellent location literally two hundred yards from centre of Union Square, San Francisco. We paid the second highest room rate and received a nice boutique style room with a quality view of Union Square and the San Francisco skyline. Didn't find the Reception Staff very helpful on arrival and had to wait over forty minutes for room to be ready on arrival day plus the express check out facility as we were leaving at 5-30am on our departure day was a complete waste of time as we still needed to complete administration at main reception and the receptionist provided us with the incorrect paperwork! The rooms were maintained well, very clean and the hotel was reasonably quiet and provided the 'cute' provision of sherry, tea and coffee in the lobby each day at 4-30pm in the lobby. Location is the key for this hotel as you are a very short walk away from an abundance of restaurants, cafés and top shopping! Recommend Lauries Diner for breakfast and Lefty O Douls Irish Bar if your looking for a good laugh and a friendly welcome.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms has a view of Union Square and higher floors receive sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The building that houses this hotel was constructed in 1925. The hotel's historic ambiance and architectural details provide ample charm. Top that off with some complimentary sherry or tea at 4:00 while you listen to the grand piano in the lobby. It feels it bit like living in a movie set.
Our double room faced the street but the glazed windows kept out the noises of the city. The room maintained all the charm of an old hotel, except it was beautifully quiet and appropriately updated. The beds were modern, comfortable, and like a down nest. The shower pressure, even on the 11th floor, was hearty and provided a fantastic, refreshing shower to go along with the complimentary morning coffee or tea.
The hotel staff was gracious, accommodating, and friendly. The Farallon Restaurant next door is handy - and delicious. They have a great happy hour, too. You'll be close to Union Square, but you'll far away from the bustle. We enjoyed our stay at the Kensington Park very much.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review to share with other travelers! It is so important for us to know what made your experience so special. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the charming amenities that the Kensington Park Hotel has to offer. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning for your next trip to San Francisco.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

If you want to be in the heart of San Francisco just off Powell on Union Square but not pay $400 a nite, this friendly boutique 4 star '20s hotel is a great choice. They serve Sherry nitely in the Lobby and tea and coffee in the am, plus the hotel is connected to one of San Francisco's best Seafood Restaurants, Farallon and great breakfast spots too. Front desk and Bob the concierge and Thai the houseman were great!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Patricia C.,

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience the full luxuries that the Kensington Park Hotel has to offer. We hope that you think of us on your next trip to San Francisco!

Warm Regards,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles. CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Small boutique hotel that puts you pretty much in the center of San Francisco, a block from Union Square. Building has been there since 1924 and the hotel has the top floors with the San Francisco Theatre sharing the bottom floors. Staff goes beyond the call of duty to help and make your stay comfortable.

Those are the pluses. Our room had very bad plumbing that seems to have not been touched since 1924. Staff repairman did the best he could but still not too good. Room very small, didn't expect too much but a bit stifling. Windows had to be open since no air conditioning and that meant loud street noise most of the night and beginning in the very early morning.

Sorry to say I would not recommend the hotel although everyone tries really hard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitasTorrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lcalvario, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Ritas Torrance,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear that our staff has left a good impression on you.

We would like to take this time to apologize for the inconvenience that the plumbing situation has caused you. We are actively making constant renovations on the building and its’ facilities. Due to San Francisco’s fluctuating weather conditions, we encourage our guests to utilize our ceiling fans and keep the sound proof windows closed to minimize the disturbance during the evening.

We hope that if you visit San Francisco again, you will give us another chance to impress you.

Kind Regards,
Samantha Dark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The lobby is small but lovely.and afternoon sherry and tea is a nice touch. The hotel staff is courteous, parking is easy and everything is within walking distance. Unfortunately, the room was very small for the 3 of us and none of us slept well. I recommend this hotel for one to two guests, but no more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaskaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Personality H, Guest Relations Manager at The Kensington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for the positive review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience. Next time, let's book a larger room for better comfortability. We hope you think of us when planning your next trip to San Francisco!

Best,
Dana Andrews
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#50 of 229 in San Francisco
1,004 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
581 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,228 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#81 of 229 in San Francisco
643 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#67 of 229 in San Francisco
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Coffee and Tea Service with Italian Biscotti on the 9th and 11th floors. Complimentary WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary Business Self-Service Desk in the lobby with computer access and printer. Complimentary Hot Tea and water in the lobby from 730A to 6PM. Complimentary Sherry in the lobby daily 4P to 6P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing