We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington Park Hotel
Ranked #77 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
omaha, nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2010

This was a nice hotel. The rooms and bathrooms were quite small. The bed was very comfortable and had nice sheets, bedding and pillows. Our room had a large flat screen tv and nice furniture. We did not use any of the other amenities of the hotel. The front desk staff was not very helpful and check-in took longer than one would expect. It was a bit expensive for the space. Otherwise it was in a great location with easy access to everything we needed to do. We walked down to the Wharf to eat at Boudins Bakery... don't skip this place! Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a comfortable room in a good location and are willing to spend some extra money for the location.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeskahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    510
    133
    48
    30
See reviews for
224
495
64
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We discovered the KP through a very good 2010 Fodor's Guide review, liked the descriptions on the hotel web site and reserved a room immediately. But, the entire experience was much more than we expected, particularly the attentive and knowledgeable 'major domo,' Bob F. Our room was lovely --- beautifully decorated, comfortable and quiet. The amenities were beyond standard, like the nicely appointed bathroom's lighted brass magnifying mirror. An unexpected bonus for us was finding an outstanding Elks Lodge located IN the hotel wnich we were able to enjoy as members of another Lodge. We will definitely return and encourage friends to stay at the KP as well. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Very comfortable feel to this hotel and the staff is wonderful. Beautiful decor.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drawjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Top hotel, would certainly recommend it to others, great team of staff, great rooms, wonderful setting and the location couldn't have been better, literally a few steps from Union square.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmudgeandPid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

A very pleasant 4 day stay in one of the best located hotels in the City. Considering the very cheap rate we paid it would be hard to offer many crticisms. The staff were always helpful - in particular Bob the concierge gave great advice for tours and places to eat. Nearby cafes provided close access and affordable meals - La Taza in particular also provided great latino pop music as a soundtrack to the multi cultural city that is San Fran. The rooms were spacious but a little dated though clean. we had a room overlooking Post Street and as a couple of previous reviews have noted , noise can be a problem. Garbage collection in particular from the premises opposite was a problem around 11pm. We were tired after a 4 week trip and probably could have slept through a rock concert but I would suggest that a room at the rear of the hotel would be a far better option for any future visits.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyKevin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sac
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We were in town for a wedding for which the reception was across the street at the St. Francis and chose the Kengington Park becuase of its higher reviews and it seemed to be more dog friendly. In fact, it turned out to be probably the most dog friendly of many hotels where we've stayed with the little fella, not in terms of amenities (no dog bowels, blankets, etc., but who really needs them) but insofar as how the staff acted toward him. Which gives rise to the next highpoint-outstanding service. We decided we didn't need /want full housekeeping service on the second day of our stay but did want the garbage emptied. The staff was on the scene within two minutes of our request. Front desk staff politely greeted us by name upon entering and exiting.

The decor of the hotel is just as subtly classy as the service. Complimentary juice and coffee are served in the morning and sherry and tea in the afternoon. Some light snacks with the latter-nuts, etc., would be a nice touch. Room service is from a deli (La Taza) two doors down and stops at 7 with what is basically a lunch menu. We just went there and got take out for breakfast (opt for the fruit rather than the burned potatoes) to avoid the service charges. There's another deli (Cafe Encore) two doors down that's open until 8 and has a broader selection of sandwiches and salads that can suffice for dinner but a less appealing breakfast menu. The Farallon, a highly regarded restaurant, is part of the hotel, so it's hard to understand why they don't have room service from it at least for dinner.

The room was fine (nice decor, great TV, comfortable beds) but quite cramped for two people and a dog, including a small bathroom. The low speed internet access was adequate for our purposes; higher speed connections are available for a fee. The room was supposed to be one class up from the base (it was about fifteen bucks more per night), but in fact the only difference is you're on a higher floor "with a view of Nob Hill or Union Square." Our "view" of the latter was the side of the new tower of the St. Francis. There is a well functioning ceiling fan but no a/c and the window lacked a screen. It was in the low 70s the day we left and you could tell by 11:30 that with the sun coming in through the window (unless you drew the shades) there was going to come a point when the room would get stuffy. As a native northern Californian, I can attest, it can and does get into the 80s several times a year in SF and even the 90s an handful of times. I would suggest checking the 10 day forecast if planning to stay there any time from April through October and if there's a chance of such temps, changing to a hotel with a/c. Noise from Post St. was a real problem; up to 1:30 am on Sunday morning, partiers literally screaming and many sirens. I would imagine that's a problem anywhere you stay in the Union Sq. area.

All in all, a very positive experience at quite a reasonable price for that part of SF (around $130 per night through the hotel's web site, booked over a month in advance).

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dscgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We loved the Kensington Park near Union Square in San Francisco! The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The price was surprisingly low for such a sweet hotel! Thanks Kensington Park!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#52 of 229 in San Francisco
1,005 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 229 in San Francisco
581 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#58 of 229 in San Francisco
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,231 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
643 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#71 of 229 in San Francisco
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Park Hotel

Property: The Kensington Park Hotel
Address: 450 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kensington Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Coffee and Tea Service with Italian Biscotti on the 9th and 11th floors. Complimentary WIFI access throughout the entire hotel. Complimentary Business Self-Service Desk in the lobby with computer access and printer. Complimentary Hot Tea and water in the lobby from 730A to 6PM. Complimentary Sherry in the lobby daily 4P to 6P. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Park Hotel
Kensington Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing