We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little retreat in the center of Castro”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parker Guest House
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
518 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great little retreat in the center of Castro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

This time I was going to be in SF by myself for business and decided to try out Parker , somebody I know told great things about it and he was totally right. Located in South Castro on Church and 17th , close to Dolores park . Great location with lovely little restaurants and bars all around. The staff is very friendly and efficient and the property is very well look after .breakfast is perfect for me , help yourself with fresh muffin , fruit salad, yogurt, muesli etc. if u are a light sleeper just bring some ear plugs with u , this is an d mansion after all and noise could be a problem ( not for me )

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    141
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
84
432
169
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My partner & I just stayed 3 nights at the Parker Guest House, we had a wonderful time. From the time we arrived the staff was outstanding, they really make you feel welcome. The place is beautiful & well maintained, with lovely landscapes & outdoor spaces. We had the room that includes a private bathroom but it's down the hall. Which worked for us just fine. The breakfast in the AM & wine hour in the PM were great, we met some nice people. Location was great. We really enjoyed our stay & will do it again. Wonderful place. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamont-Achel, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Parker Guest House is a truly great place to stay: nice rooms, extremely friendly stuff, and great common areas (with books, fireplace, piano and drinks served during the wine special), steam room. Castro with all its bars/shops/Castro theater/the historical F tram is just a few minutes away. A protected parking place is available (charged separately) and Ferrero Rocher chocolates in the room as the finishing touch.

The place is gay-owned, and the vicinity of Castro makes it to the ultimate place for gay people visiting San Francisco. However, I guess that everybody would enjoy the atmosphere in the Parker Guest House.

The rates are on the high side but you get great value for your money.

I've indicated "average" for the fitness center and the swimming pool, since there are none.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aserebrenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker520, Owner at Parker Guest House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We appreciate them very much. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon. - Parker Guest House Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Travelled with my partner with a full itenarary from for a long weekend get away. We wanted to learn as much about San Francisco over a 4 day weekend and the Parker Guest House was a great choice. It did not take long to learn our way around. The staff was excellent and attentive to our needs. The first night we stayed in the larger King suite which was a very nice room and reasonably priced for San Francisco. We booked late and spent the remaining 3 nights in a Queen room with a private bath off the hallway. This accommodation was just fine as well. It did face to the street and was just fine. Could barely notice the street noice as the room had double pane windows. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Another stay at this fantastic well-kept B & B in a Deluxe King room. Staff are lovely, place is incredibly well maintained and location is awesome and there’s something magical about this place just love it! Room was large but could’ve done with a touch up and was at the front of the house so could hear the trams but still very very comfy. There is no other place I would want to stay in San Francisco: )

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfoundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Solo or with someone special this B&B is well worth the money. Lovely rooms, well appointed and cared for. Bit smallish but then the two buildings are rather old and from another era so smaller size of rooms is something to be expected. Overall a clean and bright property.

The staff make the place work in a way that includes each and every guest. The overall feeling is one of being home away from home. Simple, appealing breakfast and great late afternoon wine gatherings make for pleasant company and social appeal that does not happen anywhere else that I have staid, well not as nicely done as this.

The location is easy enough to appreciate. Trolley runs outside the front gate and Bart is just a few blocks away. Access to eateries and shopping is easy and close.

The negative part was the number of homeless that seemed to be everywhere in the city. The B&B was off the beaten path and generally free of this situation. But perhaps that is about the City generally having little to do with the Parker Guest House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I wish I could take this B&B on every trip I take.

ROOM: The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was large and well appointed.
PLACE: The cozy living room with a fireplace and brandy was warm and cozy. There are several outdoor patios to enjoy the nice weather.
BREAKFAST: The food was healthy and delicious.
SERVICE: The staff could not have been more efficient and welcoming.
LOCATION: Within walking distance of dozens of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,916 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,061 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing