We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #1 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

After 8 years staying at Parker House it should feel like home (always the same room!) But it didn't take 8 years -- that was true after the first stay in 2005. The staff treats me like an old friend and the room has gradually upgraded over the years -- the owners always responsive to my suggestions. This time they asked & I couldn't think of anything to improve!
No matter what my reason for being in SF -- I'll always want Parker House to be my home base.

Room Tip: Sorry, I won't do that -- someone might choose my favorite room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell92104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    138
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
83
422
167
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

It's always a pleasure to stay at the Parker House. I stayed there for the fourth time in December 2013, and it was as outstanding an experience as ever. The staff is gracious, welcoming and fun. The rooms and public spaces were immaculate and well-appointed. The breakfast was delicious and readily available. The location is perfect for the Castro, and for transportation to other parts of the city. The Parker House has my unqualified endorsement.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are probably quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I found it on Google Maps, but many who stayed there had graced the halls before. A gracious Bed & Breakfast, with a delightful set of gardens and a lively social hour. Staying there for 12 days was just the ticket for seeing family and the city with ease (a block from the J line to my son and downtown and 4 from the N to my SF daughter). Excellent food within a hop, skip, and a jump and you have ideal spot for enjoying the city. I can't say enough about the wonderful and thoughtful service we received. I knew I'd feel at home the minute I walked in; and did I mention brandy by the fireplace?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was our second stay (visiting family.) Coming up the front steps, all I could think was that it was like coming home. The staff is warm, friendly, welcoming, helpful but unobtrusive. The rooms are comfortable and always immaculate; the breakfast dining area is cheery, well stocked with easy guest access. Fresh coffee (a truly outstanding brew, and I'm fussy) is available all day. Because Parker House is actually two Victorian houses combined to make an enclosed "campus," there is an extensive garden between the two houses with multiple seating areas. Lovely place to read a book or chat with friends. There is also a fireplace (gas) in the parlor going all day, another lovely sitting area. There are easy access restaurants up the street and around the corner, and while there is a trolley line that goes past the front door, I found the overall neighborhood quiet and the ambience restful. My only caution is - there are steps. There was plenty of prompt help with the suitcases, but you still have to get up and down the steps yourself. They can be a little steep. It is San Francisco, after all. Having said that, I'm already looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Call. Discuss your needs (quiet, less steps, etc.) The staff is very good at matching guests with ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

On my fourth visit over the years, this last one again made clear what a terrific place is Parker Guest House. The staff is caring and professional, the location is perfect, the facilities are inviting and the rooms could not be more comfortable or clean. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here when we visited our children in SF. We were greeted by Scott who went out of his way to welcome us, took care of our car and bags and showed us our room. The house is fabulous. A beautiful oasis in the middle of SF with wonderful turn-of-the-century elegance. You just feel nice in those rooms. Our room was a quieter one in the rear of the building. The bathroom was spotless and large. Everything was well thought out. We didn't have time to partake in the afternoon wine and cheese, but the continental breakfast had everything you could want. We would highly recommend the Parker Guest House.

Room Tip: We had room 26, which overlooks the garden. While you won't hear the streetcars that run in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a18ion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Recently in San Fran for work and spent a few extra nights at Parker House. Beautiful house, great location near the Castro and Mission areas, attentive and friendly staff and comfy accommodations. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Jr. King Suite w/ private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyCo_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing