We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in SF”
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #3 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The guest house has a lot of charm, and is situated ideally at the edge of the Castro and Mission neighborhoods. Steps away from the J line and buses. The staff were all very friendly. The beds were among the most comfortable I have ever experienced away from home. The breakfast was adequate with typical full continental selection. The breakfast area was a particularly lovely room with windows that were sunny and overlooking the garden. I found the ceiling above my room could use some noise insulation as the footsteps of the guests above me were a bit loud (second house downstairs room). I found the property otherwise quiet, although a friend staying in the lower level at the front of the main house could hear the train go by. The room I had was a nice size and the bathroom was roomy. Has a sauna on the property open 4-10 pm but I didn't use it. Terrific choice for a San Francisco vacation!

Room Tip: See if you can have an upstairs room and preferably toward the rear of the property where the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmisdraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Location couldn't possibly be better. A couple blocks away from the Castro theater, one block away from Dolores Park. Easy access to public transportation -- the J line passes right in front of the hotel, all the other subway lines are a 5' walk away.

Great rooms, friendly service, lovely breakfast. The (not so little) garden is really pretty.

What else do you want? :)

Room Tip: There is a Junior King Suite with a private garden. The other rooms are great, but that one is AWES...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domenico.carbotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have never been one for B&B accomodations. So much so that I use it as a "trick" question for new employees ("Where would you rather stay, a full-service hotel or a B&B?"). However, one night at the Parker Guest House has made me rethink my stance on the subject. The accomodations are superior. The staff could not possibly be more hospitable. The room was delightful. The shared rooms were lovely. And the breakfast for this Mama Bear was "just right." My only regret is that I could not stay longer .... but that will be corrected as I certainly plan to return. Thank you, Parker Guest House people!

Room Tip: Due to my last minute reservation, the only room available was on the bottom floor. It was a smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker520, Owner at Parker Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate it very much. Hope you can stay for more than one night next time ;-). Take care and thanks again. Parker Guest House Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

i only spent 2 nights, but I had such a wonderful time.The staff was so friendly and helpful, the property was beautiful and my room was clean and comfortable. If I ever get back to San Francisco, I will definitely stay at the Parker House again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHellwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Love this place! We were in the first of two adjacent properties that have been converted to a B&B. The first house is Edwardian and retains a number of original features. Our room - we had a suite - was very roomy, light and airy, right over the office, with a nice bathroom which had a small balcony that overlooked the lovely courtyard between the two buildings. The price, especially compared to hotels in which I have stayed while in San Francisco, is reasonable. The furnishings were all lovely, though far from modern, as such a historic house should have.
Loved the fact that the "J Church" trolley line runs right in front of the Guest House. Since a car is problematic in the city, the convenience of the trolley was an excellent feature. We had easy access to downtown. Simply riding the trolley to the Powell Street stop gave us access to both BART, the cable cars and the F line historic trolley lines all at one place.
We used BART to get downtown from the airport, then took the "J Church" trolley to the B&B when we arrived. We suggest purchasing 3 or 7 day MUNI tickets, as they are good for trolleys, buses, cable cars and trolley buses, let alone getting you to the Parker Guest House.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spk52819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just returned from a glorious week in San Francisco, made even more memorable by the delightful stay at the Parker Guest House. The staff could not have been more friendly and hospitable. As I mentioned more than once - I truly felt I was a guest in the home of friends. The location was great: an easy walk to BART and MUNI stations and a bus line right on Church Street. The neighborhood is full of little cafes, shops and restaurants, while the rest of San Francisco is easily accessible. The guest house is an urban oasis, with lots of outdoor seating areas and garden space. Inside is equally as charming from the sunny breakfast porch to the cozy fireplaced living room, complete with brandy and games. Guest rooms are in one of 2 buildings - both with common space and 24/7 coffee and tea. Other perks were the sumptuous breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit and the afternoon wine and nibbles. The atmosphere of the PGH allows for friendly conversation among guests, while still feeling like you aren't vacationing with them all! There is no doubt that we will return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javakwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We only had 3 nights at the Parker, but we found it to be an exceptionally friendly place. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with anything we asked.
The room was quiet, warm and very clean, and the bed was big and comfy.
It rained all the time we stayed, but they lent us big umbrellas for the whole time. Breakfast was good, although no cooked food, but plenty of cereals, breads, fruit, jams and yogurt, and of course tea and coffee or juice. They have a very lovely sitting room with a log fire burning at night that makes it a great place to sit and talk to other residents. The free excellent quality brandy helps break down a few barriers!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,486 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
510 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £164 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing