We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy people, classy Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parker Guest House
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy people, classy Guest House”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The garden and rooms are lovely, the other guests and staff are fun and welcoming. A great central location, easy to get to and from. Best chocolates ever in the rooms! Great setup for super-early risers - easy access to yummy fruit, cereal and and TOP-NOTCH coffee as early as you want.

Green Features: Green practices are good, same in practice as in ads.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    140
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
84
431
168
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I wish it cost just a little less but the Parker House is a gem. I stayed for 5 nights in late March. The owners' and staff members' commitments to the guests' comforts was exceptional. They have thought of many little touches: an urn of umbrellas set outside the front door on rainy days, for example.
Both buildings feature pleasant public rooms with seating areas where coffee and tea are available. Furnishings of the guest rooms and public rooms is attractive. The most memorable spaces are the patio and gardens between the two buildings, with three separate seating areas.
Continental breakfast was thoughtfully prepared, with cereals and oatmeal, yogurts, and assorted breads and muffins. I'd love to see hard-boiled eggs instead of sweets and breads, myself, but that was a minor matter.
I was visiting my daughter and we enjoyed spending time at the Parker rather than her house.

Room Tip: It is on a trolly line so you wouldn't want a room on the street but I think there are only two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Annima_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Parker Guest House. It was a delight. The room was sweetly appointed and comfortable. The people running the place were warm and welcoming. The grounds are lovely. The breakfast was perfect, done tastefully. I highly recommend this place. There is just no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A lovely place to call home while visiting amazing San Francisco. So convienent to the trolley and a short walk to BART. Great outdoor garden and seating area...most welcome in this city of tightly packed residences. Definitely a must stay on your next trip to the bay area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry87120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This Bed and Breakfast is by far the best I have ever stayed in. Friendly, courteous and helpful from the time I checked in to the time I checked out. My daughter lives in the Mission and was even invited to come for breakfast. What kind and courteous people run this place. Scott and Durham (name could be misspelled) are the best. Impeccably clean and updated inside and out. Will definitely be back for my daughter's graduation from Art school next spring and hopefully before.
It is a safe environment for someone traveling alone.

Room Tip: Book way ahead of time. Sells out because of their good reputation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMolloy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I could only stay one day/night at the guest house, and I had such a great stay that I was disappointed I couldn't stay longer. Recommended by a friend, I nonetheless didn't expect a lot, though expected to like it enough. Once I got there, and was greeted by the friendly staff, and after a quick tour, I took an immediate liking to place. The room was comfortable and clean, the common areas were neat and comfortable. There was a small kitchen in one house, and a breakfast room in the other house. Both were comfortable and handy. I was lucky that the other guests I met at the wine social were very friendly. it added to the great casual vibe. The continental breakfast had a good selection of food, nothing extraordinary, but good for a start of the day. The guest house is in fact a house, so you could hear the other guests, if they were too loud talking or walking. It added to the charm, and I wasn't bothered by it. But others might be.

Location was fabulous, close to Castro and the Mission. Perfect for exploring the area, which has a lot of great restaurants and shops, as well as being a fun neighbourhood.

I totally would come back again, and would make this B&B a go-to for accommodations in SF!

Room Tip: Like any house, noise can travel pretty easily. One has to be willing to look past that, and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icybeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The guest house has a lot of charm, and is situated ideally at the edge of the Castro and Mission neighborhoods. Steps away from the J line and buses. The staff were all very friendly. The beds were among the most comfortable I have ever experienced away from home. The breakfast was adequate with typical full continental selection. The breakfast area was a particularly lovely room with windows that were sunny and overlooking the garden. I found the ceiling above my room could use some noise insulation as the footsteps of the guests above me were a bit loud (second house downstairs room). I found the property otherwise quiet, although a friend staying in the lower level at the front of the main house could hear the train go by. The room I had was a nice size and the bathroom was roomy. Has a sauna on the property open 4-10 pm but I didn't use it. Terrific choice for a San Francisco vacation!

Room Tip: See if you can have an upstairs room and preferably toward the rear of the property where the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmisdraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4,905 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
377 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 227 in San Francisco
2,275 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
5,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing