We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Place”
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #2 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved this Place”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my sister after 2 nights at a hotel around Union Square. The guest house is absolutley beautiful! In fact, I don't think I would stay in downtown SF the next time I visit. We loved everything about this guest house and the entire Castro neighbourhood. The breakfast is still more of a continental style but we were told that is going to be improved upon in the near future. Totally recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiter room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    143
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
85
436
171
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Nice little b&b in the heart of the Castro.

Perhaps my expectations were a little too high after reading all the glowing reviews on here, but comparing to other accommodation we've stayed at across the US on this trip I must say I was somewhat disappointed.

We stayed in the King jnr suite.

Pros:
- Nicely appointed rooms
- Excellent location in the heart of the Castro

Cons
- Do some dusting guys (check out the window ledges and light fittings
- Bathroom disappointing
- Lackluster breakfast
- The 'balcony' is hardly that - I was expecting something I could at least sit on

I probably wouldn't recommend this place for younger people (we are in our 30s), clientele here was older and the experience was not as social as we were hoping.

Overall a nice place but there is better value for money out there if you shop around.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBugNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Me and my fella stayed at the Parker near the Castro and loved the fact that there was a lovely private garden to chill out in after a hard day of sightseeing in San Francisco and that it all felt like a private house. Although not wholly central, we were quite happy to be out of the mayhem that is Union Square and it is an easy ride on the F-Line to get into the very centre of town. The Parker was recommended to us by gay friends but it is not exclusively gay as guests will experience at breakfast time, it all makes for a nice and pleasant mix. Loved it and would stay again. !

Room Tip: Quiet neighbourhood so I am assuming all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Parker Guest House was a great find and a highlight to our visit to San Francisco. It is a short trip to other areas in the city and a short walk to one of the best areas for fantastic restaurants. We loved the private garden and the unobtrusive yet very friendly service. Happy hour was also a great treat.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Church Street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferAHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I'm hesitant to write this because I want to be able to get a room next time I come! This is my favorite place to stay in San Fran. The location is great, a lot of the best restaurants are close by. The staff is so courteous and accommodating and the common areas are very peaceful. I will continue to book here again and again, every visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I travel to SF several times a year and this is by far the best place to stay. The staff is wonderful, the house is in a neighborhood rather than a commercial district, and public transport is right down the street. It's easy to get here from the airport using the BART and MUNI. Book as soon as you know your schedule because it fills up fast. Also, some of the rooms are not en suite, so double check your reservation if that is important to you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After a friend recommended we stay at Parker Guest House while attending the San Francisco Jewish film festival, we were so glad that we took his advice. Comparing a stay at one of the most upscale hotels in any city, Parker Guest House was just as nice and much more comfortable. It is like you are in a beautiful home with hosts who care only about your pleasure. However, it is nicer than being in someone's home as you have the privacy and you don't need to worry about your hosts. An expanded continental breakfast is served every morning from 7:30 to 10am (until 11am on Sunday mornings) and you can either sit in the enclosed porch area or outside in the gardens. There are copies of NY Times, San Francisco Chronicle and Wall Street Journal to read while you eat. If you want to converse with other guests, that is fine, but you can also sit quietly while having breakfast. My husband particularly enjoyed getting up very early while I slept later. He would have an early breakfast and then, he sat in the living room and read. A lovely way to start the day. We can't say enough about what a good experience we had while at the Parker Guest House for 12 nights. It was home away from home, but even better as we were so well taken care of.

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs, you might want to ask for a room on the lower level, however, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanzsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,105 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing