We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #79 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Interesting, quaint, small boutique hotel. Large rooms, but a bit musty. Very friendly staff and free breakfast in the morning. Nice fireplace in the lobby. Interesting elevator ride (creaks!)...overall, quaint and lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank RickLee0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You Rick. Glad you enjoyed our Parlor and large guest room sizes. Please let our front desk know if something is 'a bit musty' so we can check it out. There are many thing we can do plus large windows in the rooms for good ventilation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Queen Anne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very nice hotel with good accommodations. Staff was very pleasant and morning breakfast and afternoon tea very enjoyable.

The hotel was decorated with antiques and dated furniture which was quite lovely.

Would recommend to anyone staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvMyWesties17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you LuvMyWesties17 We are all about rest and relaxation here at the Queen Anne. Glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Beautiful old hotel with nice big rooms, and friendly people. Perfect for those who like their hotels to be a bit more interesting. Hotel is on a good location too, especially if you like Japanese food, since Japantown is just a block or two away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lennie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You Lennie, We're glad you appreciated the Queen Anne's unique qualities. We also love being next to JapanTown where there's great deals on Japanese products and all the fresh and tasty Sushi, Sashimi, & Shabu Shabu your heart desires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Although the public parking lot was not guarded or locked, we parked the motorcycle covered for three nights and had no issues. We had a large room with two beds, a closet, dresser, and fireplace. The large windows opened for fresh air. The concierge saved me $42 on transportation to the airport by explaining which bus to take to get to the train that would take me to the airport!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MichelleAsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You Michele! We hope you and your motorcycle will come back to visit us one day. It must be quite a thrill to ride across the Golden Gate Bridge up into Marin or down the coast via Monterrey and Carmel to BigSur, or even Hearst's Castle. If one has a flight going out in the morning we also have a complimentary local car service that will deliver you to the nearest BART station. Please stay safe on the road and enjoy your summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Quite an old building that is tastefully decorated for the period. Room was large with two queen sized beds. Decor was showing wear and tear but the room and bathroom were clean. Dry sherry served gratis at 4:00 might not be to everyones taste but the cookies were delicious. Check in was fast and staff friendly and helpfull. Overall a pleasent stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us Gomin. Fast check ins and check outs are the rule at small hotels like ours. There's rarely a line more than 1 other person ahead of you. When you arrive to San Francisco, you want to explore right away, not stand in a queue behind 20+ other people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because of the location to a great restaurant across the street. We enjoyed our stay as much as the dinner. The Victorian feel of the hotel was warm and inviting with two fireplaces in the parlor and plenty of seating to sit and enjoy. Rooms were spacious .

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank GFinchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for letting others know about our fabulous Parlor and features of the Queen Anne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was explained to me that this hotel was once a girl's boarding school.It has old world charming woodwork and furnishings from the past. The lobby is delightful and at 4 PM daily they serve homemade cookies, sherry, tea and coffee. The staff is is able to help you with places to see, tours and transportation.The continental breakfast was huge and provided many choices of all food groups.
My only problem was with the bedroom, a standard queen/king and bath as they were extremely small. The bedding was comfortable, but old and warn. The Queen size bed had king size bedding, Perhaps that is why it was listed queen/king.There were 3 well used pillows on the bed and I asked for a 4th. It was delivered, but had such a terrible odor that I had to ask for a replacement. There were only 2 bath towels in the bathroom and I asked and received 2 more. On day 3 I asked that they be replaced and received only 2 in return.
Now my main problem; I booked though Booking. com as it was presented as a special value. On my first day at the Queen Anne I heard the desk clerk make a reservation for a "Superior" queen/king for $50. a day LESS than I had paid. I had seen a superior room in passing and it was far superior to wait I was given for more money. I approached the manager with this and he told me that room rates change on a daily basis and he would not give me a larger room.
My advise if you choose to stay here is to book directly through the hotel and get prices for both rooms before you make a decision. Then call back the next day to see if the prices have changed. The room size and linen and bedding problems were a negative to my say there.
My "very good" rating is due to the ambiance, the staff and the food offered.
The parking lot across the street is an affordable plus for anyone with a car.
I will not use Booking.com again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newbeSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear newbeSC,

Thank you for your high rating despite rate issue. Very glad that you enjoyed yourself overall. We have a formula to distribute rates fairly but without knowing who the other caller was, it's hard to know what factors (dates, discounts, supply/demand etc.) resulted in their rate. As much as possible, we keep prices very competitive so our guests receive the best value, always appreciating when our guests call us directly. Hope to see you again soon. Please let us know in advance so we can check for special considerations to make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Kimpton Buchanan
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
525 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Vertigo
#71 of 230 in San Francisco
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5395
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £125 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing