We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way, but really good place”
Review of Queen Anne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Anne Hotel
Ranked #76 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our trip to San Francisco and we really enjoyed our stay. The front desk was always helpful, the concierge desk was full of good information and the breakfast was very good. Our room was eclectic and helped make the trip a great experience. My wife and I are experienced metro users and had an unlimited 5 day pass, but unfortunately the metro workers went on strike the week we were there. The hotel had a car that was able to take us down to the wharf area where we picked up other transportation or just hoofed it. That was another big plus in my eyes. I would absolutely stay there again. Thank you for your part in making our anniversary memorable.

Room Tip: While there is an elevator, I enjoyed staying on the second floor so we could take the stairs. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We're very honoured that you chose the Queen Anne as the hotel in which to celebrate the special occasion of your Anniversary. Please come back for another one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Interesting, quaint, small boutique hotel. Large rooms, but a bit musty. Very friendly staff and free breakfast in the morning. Nice fireplace in the lobby. Interesting elevator ride (creaks!)...overall, quaint and lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank RickLee0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You Rick. Glad you enjoyed our Parlor and large guest room sizes. Please let our front desk know if something is 'a bit musty' so we can check it out. There are many thing we can do plus large windows in the rooms for good ventilation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Very nice hotel with good accommodations. Staff was very pleasant and morning breakfast and afternoon tea very enjoyable.

The hotel was decorated with antiques and dated furniture which was quite lovely.

Would recommend to anyone staying in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvMyWesties17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you LuvMyWesties17 We are all about rest and relaxation here at the Queen Anne. Glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Beautiful old hotel with nice big rooms, and friendly people. Perfect for those who like their hotels to be a bit more interesting. Hotel is on a good location too, especially if you like Japanese food, since Japantown is just a block or two away.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lennie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You Lennie, We're glad you appreciated the Queen Anne's unique qualities. We also love being next to JapanTown where there's great deals on Japanese products and all the fresh and tasty Sushi, Sashimi, & Shabu Shabu your heart desires!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Although the public parking lot was not guarded or locked, we parked the motorcycle covered for three nights and had no issues. We had a large room with two beds, a closet, dresser, and fireplace. The large windows opened for fresh air. The concierge saved me $42 on transportation to the airport by explaining which bus to take to get to the train that would take me to the airport!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MichelleAsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank You Michele! We hope you and your motorcycle will come back to visit us one day. It must be quite a thrill to ride across the Golden Gate Bridge up into Marin or down the coast via Monterrey and Carmel to BigSur, or even Hearst's Castle. If one has a flight going out in the morning we also have a complimentary local car service that will deliver you to the nearest BART station. Please stay safe on the road and enjoy your summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Quite an old building that is tastefully decorated for the period. Room was large with two queen sized beds. Decor was showing wear and tear but the room and bathroom were clean. Dry sherry served gratis at 4:00 might not be to everyones taste but the cookies were delicious. Check in was fast and staff friendly and helpfull. Overall a pleasent stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us Gomin. Fast check ins and check outs are the rule at small hotels like ours. There's rarely a line more than 1 other person ahead of you. When you arrive to San Francisco, you want to explore right away, not stand in a queue behind 20+ other people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because of the location to a great restaurant across the street. We enjoyed our stay as much as the dinner. The Victorian feel of the hotel was warm and inviting with two fireplaces in the parlor and plenty of seating to sit and enjoy. Rooms were spacious .

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank GFinchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QueenAnneHotel, Director of Sales at Queen Anne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for letting others know about our fabulous Parlor and features of the Queen Anne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Japantown
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Kimpton Buchanan
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
536 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 230 in San Francisco
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Anne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Anne Hotel

Address: 1590 Sutter Street, At Octavia Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5395
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: £123 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Anne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remarkable Victorian boutique hotel with 48 elegant rooms and suites. Constructed in the building boom following the California Gold Rush, these unique accommodations offer you modern amenities as they transport you to another era of quiet luxury and wild romance. Convenient located in the premier Pacific Heights district, known for stately Victorian mansions, wonderful restaurants, and the best in shopping (Fillmore, Sacramento, Union, Chestnut Streets). Easy stroll to Union Square and Cable Car Network. Your stay at the Queen Anne includes our table leg threatening continental breakfast, wifi, morning newspaper, afternoon tea & sherry. On weekday mornings, enjoy our local towncar delivery service. We invite you to discover the fabulous Queen Anne and hope to welcome you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Anne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Anne San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing