We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This quaint B&B was simply excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Square Inn
Ranked #21 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed 3 nights at this B&B with another couple, for a weekend "getaway". My wife and I opted for the larger room 7 ("junior suite"), with a great sitting area and view of the park and cathedral. Our friends were in room 16, smaller, but very quiet and looking into a tiny courtyard. Both rooms were very comfortable and well-appointed. Everything we had read on the hotel website was accurate, and without exagerration.

All staff we encountered during our stay were unfailingly polite and helpful - really the best I've encountered in all my travels (although I usually stay in business hotels; if this level of service is typical of B&Bs, I'll need to keep this in mind).

We had breakfast at the large table in the lounge each morning, and afternoons at 5:30 wine and snacks are served. Both occasions were excellent opportunities to meet other guests and exchane tips on great sights and restaurants.

The location was superb, with an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf, a couple blocks to Coit Tower, and a huge selection of great restaurants in the area.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lojoec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2008

I knew coming in that the rooms were small in this B & B. I was not prepared for the noise from the street. We stayed during the record heat and since we did not have air conditioning, we had to leave the window open. The noise was bad, especially in the morning. I was also disappointed in the breakfast. With the price of the B&B, I expected more than just cereal and oatmeal. They had no cooked breakfast and we stayed 4 nights. Ended going out one day for breakfast because I was sick of cereal! I also expected them to know our name since we did stay 4 nights, but never did get recognized. Also they want you to say when you are going to eat breakfast, and I hate to stick to a time schedule when I'm on vacation!
But the location was great, everything was easy walking distance from there. It was in the Italian section of town and the resturants were amazing around it!
I am a travel agent and I have to say that I would not recommend this B & B to my clients unless they specifically wanted in the North Beach section.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaTravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washsquare, owners at Washington Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2008

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us but are surprised that you being a travel agent, you would have done a bit more research ahead of time realizing this property was not what you desired. We have a lot of information on our website and we are available and can be reached at anytime. There is someone here 24/7 and happy to explain any questions you might have about the Inn. Our breakfast menu ( not just cereal); we have fresh baked items every day, fresh fruits, yogurts, bagels and lox (on weekends) and yes, cereals & homemade granolas, fresh juices etc. & most of our guests find this to be a preferable breakfast and for those who want something more- we have many neighborhood restaurants all around us that offer bacon and egg type breakfasts. As far as choosing a time for your breakfast – it is just a guide line for us. Some of our guests need to leave very early in the morning, so when we get in at 6:00am, we can look over all the cards and make sure we have everything ready for them when they want it. Also because our breakfast table only seats eight at a time, the more heads up we have beforehand the better we are at accommodating when people want to eat. We have never been strict with the time guests put on their cards; if they put down 7:00am, but don’t show up until 8:30 – we always accommodate them as best we can, and by having guests put down a time helps us accommodate them quicker and more efficiently. There are all types of bed and breakfasts- some do serve a full breakfast, especially country Inns, but for a busy city inn, our expanded continental works the best for the majority of our guests and for us. Along with providing breakfast, we also provide evening wine and hors d’oeuvres, both included in the price of your room. On our web site also mention that we have ceiling fans in all the rooms, not air conditioning. Unfortunately, your stay with us was during an unusual heat wave. Rarely do we get temperatures warmer than somewhere in the 70’s in San Francisco.
Some of our rooms are very small, typical of an older building such as ours, here in the city. Unfortunately like other older buildings; we have nowhere to expand to, and given that this is San Francisco, our rates are still considered a good value for the amenities and service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

The Washington Square Inn has a great location - and there are several wonderful restaurants nearby. But from the moment we arrived, the desk personnel were surly and unfriendly. And our room was tiny with a window directly on a busy street. So we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenceSkankycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washsquare, owners at Washington Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2008

We are truly disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us but are somewhat perplexed that one of our staff was not friendly and as you can see from the other reviews; we get many compliments on the friendliness of our staff. We are here seven days a week and have never witnessed any of our staff members not being friendly or offering to help our guests. As far as being disappointed with the room size and street noise, we do offer much larger rooms than the one you stayed in, we are an urban inn in the middle of a large city so we are not going to be as quiet as a country inn even though we are located on relatively quiet corner of North Beach, but still in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

The Washington Square Inn in San Francisco was a great base for our week's stay in San Francisco. The location in North Beach is good for seeing the sights. The small, European style inn is very comfortable with a responsive staff. Morning breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese were much appreciated. We would definitely recommend the Inn to travelers headed to the Bay area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retrievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

My husband & I recently stayed at the WSI; we loved our room (#16) which an associate helped me choose although I actually booked it on the website. I called beforehand to ask which rooms would be quieter, inner courtyard facing rooms & were located on an upper level. Although rooms 7 & 8 have the gorgeous views, we were very pleased with our room. No opportunity to use the fireplace, but it would have been great in cooler weather. We were there right before the heatwave (5/10-5/13), but having the windows open & ceiling fan on provided good air circulation. The bed was super comfortable, flat screen TV could be viewed either from bed or from sitting area with table/chairs. The bathroom was great with a shower/bath combination & a panel type of shower massage spray.
We chose to have breakfast in the dining area 1 day & in our room 2 days & it was more than adequate. I was up VERY early due to east coast time & really enjoyed going down for coffee/tea & some early morning quiet time where I was able to meet the night shift person working the desk (hello to Jamal & Frederick!) & borrow a laptop to check my e-mail.
Evening time wine/appetizer time was really great to meet other travelers. We had some very nice conversations with Lynn & Guy from Louisiana & Doug & Vicki from London.
Other staff members were equally helpful & warm - Joti, & especially Shabir (? spelling) & Alexander. The owners, Dan & Maria, were really wonderful as well, & gave us a great dining recommendation, Ideale.
We stayed at 2 other locations on our visit to the SF/Carmel area & I have to say that overall, the staff at the WSI was the most warm & inviting we met; we will definitely return on subsequent visits & will highly recommend to family & friends (wish we were back there now!).

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank mouseRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

My wife and I just stayed at the The Washington Square Inn (WSI) for our 20th anniversary. We enjoyed our stay in "The City" in spite of record high temps for the week.
The WSI staff was very helpful and friendly, and the Inn was well kept.
Our only disappointment was that the Inn's website does not make mention of the location of the rooms. Unbeknownst to us, we booked a room that was on the first floor (street level) with a window to the sidewalk. This was listed as a Superior room (room#1) with views of the park and cathedral.
It was however noisy because of being at street level, and next to the lobby. Also, because of the high temperatures (and no AC in the room), we had to keep the window open at night which didn't help with the noise (it was also noisy with the window closed-but less so). We did ask at check-in if another room was available, but were informed that they were fully booked.
So be aware of the room locations when booking, their website makes no mention of which floor they are on (hint: the "teen" numbered rooms are on the 2nd floor).

The continental breakfast was about a 7+ on a 10 scale.

We would stay again, but now know which rooms to choose.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washsquare, owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2008

We do apologize that you were not aware that room 1 is located on the lobby floor and thank you for informing us that this was not mentioned on our website. We have now added this to room 1 information and thank you for your review, it really does help us to have our guests inform us of details we might have overlooked. We are always striving to improve all aspects of our Inn and without our guests input this would not be as easily accomplished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights as a stopover on our way to New Zealand - because it was an American city we both wanted to visit.
The hotel is quaint, individual, and the service was second to none. The hotel room itself was a tinsey bit more shabby than I'd expected from the website, but my husband hadn't seen the website and was more than satisfied with it. The bed was the most comfortable of our 3 week trip!
In the evening, there is complimentary wine, cheese and biscuits. Breakfast-wise, you chose the night before from a printed list pushed under the bedroom door, and you chose whether to eat communally at the large table in the hall or it could be delivered to your room.
One of the guide books in the room recommended a day's itinerary that actually started in Washington Square, and we were so very pleased that we followed it. I will post this itinerary separately, but you are welcome to contact me.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ardent_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
310 reviews
Chinatown
SW Hotel
SW Hotel
#118 of 230 in San Francisco
367 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
San Remo Hotel
San Remo Hotel
#5 of 53 in San Francisco
1,079 reviews
Russian Hill
Columbus Motor Inn
Columbus Motor Inn
#54 of 230 in San Francisco
1,259 reviews
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-3316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £172 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing