We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Square Inn
Ranked #20 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We stayed at the Washington Square Inn in San Francisco for our first stop on our Californian Tour and we were very pleased with our choice.

The hotel is in the pleasant North Beach area of the city and is idealy situated for exploring San Francisco.

The hotel has an old world charm about it , beautifully furnished and decorated.

Breakfast of which there is ample choice is served either in your room or in the dining area overlooking the Washington Square Park. The dining area gives you a great opportunity to meet with other travellers and enjoy their experiences.

Staff at the hotel were most polite and helpful and there is a hotel laptop to use back in your room should you be travelling without your own.

We booked Room 15, which as the hotel clearly states is not suitable for very tall or large people, given our knowledge of the usual size of an American bedroom we decided that this accomodation would be fine for us. The bedroom itself was fine and adequate for our needs, however it was the en suite room containing the toilet and hand basin that caused us concern regarding its size. In order to use this facility you need to back into the room as there is insufficient room to turnaround.

Also the shower cubicle has a glass door which opens directly into the bedroom which in itself is not a problem but has a step up giving access.

If we were to stay in San Francisco again then the Washington Square Inn would be an obvious choice and we recommend it highly to any other visitor, but we would book a different room number than No 15.

Overall a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank David-and-Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Washington Square Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2008

Our recent stay at the Washington Square Inn was simply wonderful! We had had difficulty deciding where to stay in the city and we were completely satisfied that we chose WSI. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful (unlike some of the negative postings had stated). From the moment we entered the door of this Select Registry Hotel, we felt pampered!

The owners and their staff did everything they could to make our stay a wonderful experience. They gave great advice concerning entertainment, dining and transit information. They called taxi services for us, printed our airline boarding passes, and all was done with a smile and friendly attitude.

Breakfast was relaxing and enjoyable, as we were able to talk with other guests and watch the residents doing tai chi in Washington Park, across the street. The goodies put out before the dinner hour were delightful.

Lastly, the location of the Inn was heavenly (and a well kept secret!). Washington Park is a nice city park were many residents (and their dogs!) congregate during the day and early evening. We were able to walk to MANY delicious restaurants and nice outdoor cafes from our doorstep. It was such a pleasant place to retire to after a full day in the city!

We can't believe that the North Beach area was such a wonderful location for a stay in the city! We are so glad that we discovered this gem! And Washington Square Inn was a superb choice for us! Thanks again to the entire staff!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BAM-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2008

Thank you so much for the lovely time our family had at your place for our 40th anniversary. Everyone was so helpful and accomodating. We loved every minute and were sad to leave your lovely place. It is the PERFECT place to stay in San Francisco and only gets better and better. We are sweltering back here in Indiana and wishing for your cool weather and chinese Tai Chi people in the square across the street. Thank you again for everything!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank csurbaugh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We were very impressed with this small, well run hotel. You can't beat the location, right on Washington Square, within walking distance of Little Italy, North Beach and Chinatown. The room was charming and quiet. You could have breakfast in your room or in the lobby and it was tasty, with fresh muffins, fruit etc.
Staff was helpful. I plan on staying there again.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank jazzyepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Washington Square Inn for 6 nights recently. We had originally intended only staying 4 nights but soon realised that we wouldn't be able to do the city justice in such a short time.

WSI were extremely helpful in amending our booking and we were able to stay in two rooms during our trip. The first room we stayed in was for the Friday & Saturday nights and it overlooked the church and had views of Coit Tower. It was not the quietest location I've ever stayed in ........but hey it's the city. The other room overlooked the courtyard and was extremely quiet. Both rooms had character and were immaculately clean.

The breakfasts were good not great. That's not a criticism, just an observation. Still 1000% better than the food a hotel would have sitting under lamps at a buffet. During the same trip we visited with a B&B in Vancouver where the gourmet breakfasts were a highlight, so the bar was set pretty high.

Service was unobtrusive yet friendly. Newspapers (SF Chron, NYT, WSF) always in the lobby before breakfast. Free Wi-Fi, free use of WSI's laptop were other perks.

Location couldn't not be better. North Beach is a vibrant and interesting neighbourhood. WSI is at the heart of it. Other reviewers have mentioned the Tai Chi practitioners in the park, it also fills with dogs and their owners too. No shortgage of decents spots for eats, coffee or alcohol.

The Muni buses pass the square all day and navigating the city is cheap and easy from this location.
Would we stay there again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rob_lislea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location couldn't be better for exploring SF. Enjoyed watching the Tai-Chi in Washington Square in the morning, and chatting to other guests over excellent wine & nibbles in the evening.

All the staff were very helpful, particularly Alexander.

Considering it was a city location it was pretty quiet at night.

I booked the largest room available on the website at the time (9) and knew it would be small from previous reviews, but also found the shower room small with no space for things, and would have appreciated a full-length mirror. Think there may be room for one inside a wardrobe door!

Altogether an excellent stay

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmokeysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washsquare, owner at Washington Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2008

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it when guests make suggestions on how we can make improvements. We get so busy that that we sometimes overlook details that can help make our rooms more accommodating. We will make sure room 9 has a full length mirror before your next visit.

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

This was the last property we stayed at during our Californian road trip and it did not disappoint.
A good sign of a good hotel we found on this trip is being part of the 'Select Registry' of distinguished Inns of North America - just look for a golden quill emblem at the property's front door. Luckily, this hotel was part of that registry.
Let me start by saying that the location is wonderful and you cannot get a better flavor of SF than by staying in Washington square. Chinatown, the pier, North Beach, Coit Tower and even downtown areas like Union square are all in walking distance. We didn't hop on a tram or Muni once and enjoyed our stay more as we got to amble through little streets and drink at bohemian cafes as we came across them. We really got a locals' taste for this truly wonderful city.
The hotel itself was clean and the rooms were above average although ours was a little smaller than we had hoped for. The staff are courteous and leave you to your own devices, but they are very helpful if you need any help at all. My partner came down with food poising one night and they managed to help with all our requirements at three in the morning.
The best way to travel I believe is to become a local of wherever you are and go off the tourist beaten path. If you stay here, you really will get a far superior immersion into what San Francisco has to offer in terms of life, people and experiences than if you stay at one of the big fellas down in Union square. We were happy we finished our trip here - comfortable, clean and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supermagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#110 of 230 in San Francisco
305 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,214 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-3316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £175 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing