We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Square Inn
Ranked #20 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have stayed at the Washington Square Inn each time we've visited San Francisco. The rooms are beautiful, romantic, and comfy. Views out the window of the square, Telegraph Hill, etc. Nice wine, cheese and cookies are placed on the table downstairs in the afternoon. The Inn is within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Telegraph Hill, City Lights Books Store, and many restaurants. And talk about Breakfast! A wicker tray is delivered to your door with a large assortment of juice, fruit, granola, pastries, tea, coffee..To start your day. I cannot imagine going to S.F. Without staying at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Washington Square Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location, if you want to be near China Town and Little Italy. Rooms are very small with no place for luggage. 1st floor rooms can hear street noise and breakfast. Gr8 breakfast, hords and wine. Staff very friendly. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a large room up on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The rooms are small but boutique, we loved it. The staff were so friendly. Breakfast delievered to your room was such a treat and so relaxing. It is a bit away from fisherman's wharf and it is fine walking downhill, but uphill in steep San Francisco streets was tough so we opted for a taxi most nights. This place is a real little gem, we highly recommend it and would advise everyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingbears2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location. The staff are extremely helpful, the parking (difficult in San Francisco) is easily accommodated in a parking garage a short distance away, and they offer a nice wine and cheese in their elegant lobby in the late afternoon. The rooms are very small, and it's an older hotel, but I would return here, just knowing that I would be well looked after.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had the pleasure of visiting the San Francisco area in early November and was so pleased we chose the Washington Square Inn to visit for a couple of nights. We have used the Select Registry Guide on several occasions with much success and this time was no exception. Nice and quaint accommodations smack dab in the middle of where you (or we at least) would want to be. Room was very comfortable and quiet. We booked one of the larger ones. Service was superb and very friendly. The wine and hors d'oeuvres hour was an added bonus. We chose to eat breakfast in our room one day and then in the dining area the next. No complaints there as everything was fresh and plentiful. We were able to walk to many places. Yes, there are many hills around, but we felt like it was good for us. We did have a car with us and parking was very easy in an attended garage just across the park. Just pull up out front, hop out and tell the desk you have arrived with a car and a nice man will come out and take your luggage and give you directions and a pass to go park at the garage. Also, the Telegraph Hill Robes in the rooms were so nice, we ordered one for Christmas. A Very Enjoyable Stay Indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPKACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We wanted to walk and see San Francisco and we don't like big chain hotels. This fit the bill. Furnishings were unique, some antique, it was quiet and very clean. There were extras like wine and cheese in the early evening and everyone was friendly and knowledgable without being too familiar.we'd go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJV1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for 8 nights at this great B&B located in San Francisco's North Beach. The inn was well maintained and very smartly decorated. Our breakfasts were served in our room and items picked the night before from a card left outside the door and then attached to the outside door handle. Wine and cheese were available every evening shared with many people we met staying at the inn.

We stayed in Room 3 with a window that faced Filbert St and Washington Park Square. The room was kept extremely clean and serviced promply by a wonderful maid service every day. The well appointed room met all our expectations. The inn is centrally located in North Beach and close to many attractions such as: Coit Tower, Chinatown, the Embarcadero and Fisherman's Wharf. You couln't ask for a better location!

The owners/innkeepers, Maria and Dan, were two of the most professional, yet personable, individuals we have ever encountered in our many travels. They both took great efforts to provide for and please their clients. Maria and Dan were clearly outstanding! The front desk staff and all service related people went beyond the norm to help and assist you. They exceeded all expectations.

"SHABIR" was especially helpful and went out of his way to assist us. He was "Johhny on the Spot" in fixing the TV in our room, made site seeing and restaurant recommendations, brought ice to our room immediately when requested, and a very fine individual to just converse with. My wife and I tip our hats to him. THANK YOU SHABIR!!

We both highly recommend WA Square Inn and would stay there again when we return to San Francisco.

Sandra & Ed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Hotel Boheme
Hotel Boheme
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
306 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,223 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,323 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
Hotel Zoe San Francisco
#57 of 230 in San Francisco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Inn

Address: 1660 Stockton St, San Francisco, CA 94133-3316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: £176 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington Square Inn, a San Francisco bed and breakfast Inn in the city’s legendary North Beach neighborhood, welcomes its guests with all the charm and comfort of a small European hotel. Whether traveling to California for business or recreation, amenities offered with your stay at Washington Square Inn include free wireless Internet access, complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea, evening hors d’oeuvres and wine, and full office services in the lobby. Rooms feature European antiques, cable TV, soft robes and private baths. Some rooms have sitting areas in bay windows, while others offer a cozy atmosphere with private fireplaces. Ideally situated in the very heart of the vibrant North Beach neighborhood, our historic hotel boasts beautiful views of Coit Tower, Russian Hill, Washington Square Park and the Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul. Washington Square Inn is one of the best San Francisco hotel deals available, offering exemplary bed and breakfast lodging and service at rates ranging from $179 – $329 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Washington Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Square Hotel San Francisco
The Washington Square Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing