We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Washington Square Inn
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$553
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Orchard Hotel(San Francisco)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
220
118
33
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
118
33
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoit towerwine and cheesefilbert streetother guestsfisherman's wharfgreat locationwithin walking distanceevery afternoonstreet levelbigger roomrooms are smallparking garagenice breakfastwine hourjunior suitecontinental breakfastbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

my partner and i stayed 2nights while on a road trip. booking in time was 3pm arrived at 1.30. reception gave us parking permit and took cases till 3pm for us so that was good. parking is actually further up the street on the left hand side so be prepared to get cases put of car before parking. parking staff very friendly,helpful having car ready on departure. hotel reception area great, room quaint, very small though if known before hand would have paid for bigger room. very clean , maybe a little worn around skirting carpet ares. hotel had happy hour cheese and wine which was nice. road works very noisy around 8.30am in morning only lasted an hour or so. breakfast to be ordered the night before leave note on your door. continental choices, good fresh, and can be brought to your room. great location for area. staff attentive and friendly. would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a large room, pay the extra
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Washington Square Inn, in San Francisco. From the street the Inn is charming, and visually "fits" with the North Beach/ Washington Square neighborhood it sits in. The building is older, but clean and decorated well. the lobby is small, but the desk staff is very helpful, and will store and place your luggage in your room if you arrive before the 3 pm check in time. We were directed up a neat stairway and down a hallway to our Junior Queen Room. The room was on the small side, but had a dresser, nightstands, armoire, and television. The bathroom is across the hallway. While it does take some getting used to, the bathroom was large, private, and well stocked with lotions, shampoos, and other supplies (shoe shine kit). We did not have an issue walking across the hallway to shower or freshen up, but the bathroom uses the same key card as your room, and you are only provided one on check in, so it is easy to lock yourself out of both your room, and the bathroom if you are not careful.

The hotel is within a 10 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf, a 5 minute walk to China Town, steps to Little Italy and the Coit Tower, and a cable car ride from Union Square/the Financial District. We were literally able to get anywhere we wanted to within minutes, easily. If you plan on walking, be advised, San Francisco has some very steep hills, but the weather was beautiful, and the changing contours provided us with beautiful bay views.

The breakfast at the hotel was small, but good, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch. Save yourself the frustration and money of eating on Fisherman's Wharf and instead opt for one of the fantastic restaurants immediately surrounding the Inn.

Whether you're in San Francisco to see the sights like a tourist, experience the city like a local, or do business like a professional, The Washington Square Inn is a great base, with good amenities in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Get a room with an en suite restroom to avoid locking yourself in the hallway, in a robe.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmpark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We recently stayed at the Washington Square Inn and found the experience very rewarding.The staff were very cordial and efficient ,especially Brian the manager who couldn't have been more accommodating. We both enjoyed the breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and look forward to staying at this venue again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We have stayed at the Washington Square Inn each time we've visited San Francisco. The rooms are beautiful, romantic, and comfy. Views out the window of the square, Telegraph Hill, etc. Nice wine, cheese and cookies are placed on the table downstairs in the afternoon. The Inn is within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, Telegraph Hill, City Lights Books Store, and many restaurants. And talk about Breakfast! A wicker tray is delivered to your door with a large assortment of juice, fruit, granola, pastries, tea, coffee..To start your day. I cannot imagine going to S.F. Without staying at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location, if you want to be near China Town and Little Italy. Rooms are very small with no place for luggage. 1st floor rooms can hear street noise and breakfast. Gr8 breakfast, hords and wine. Staff very friendly. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend the money and get a large room up on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 602travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews